We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nassau Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nassau Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Nassau Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1414 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A very good hotel right in the heart of the art deco area on 14th and Collins and only a couple of minutes walk from ocean drive and the beach with good links to the Miami Dade Transport system which was accesible from 14th/ Washington and loads of places to eat we found the 11th Street Diner to be good value ..Lilly on reception was very helpfull and friendly as were all the staff we came in contact with .Our first impression when we arrived by cab was O My God which was dispelled when we went up to our suite which was large and clean with a good size kitchenette and loads of space the only downside was the lighting in the room very dim.. The continental breakfast was basic toast bagels croissant fruit juice muffins but replenished frequently and fresh .Overall a good base to stay and if in Miami again would stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    166
    56
    15
    24
See reviews for
101
138
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

for the price we're paying and the location, i wouldn't complain.
but here are a few things i would state for ppl that are thinking of staying at this hotel.
The good-
Service was great, front desk clerks were very helpful. Day or night staff, no issues there at all.
Room size were decent. We had the 1 bedroom with king size with queen sofa bed.
The suite had a kitchen which was a plus since we cooked a few meals indoors ourselves.
Cleaning staff came to clean everyday, made the beds and even washed our dishes one time which was extremely nice of them.

The bad-
The rooms were very dark, there were literally a few potlights in each room and it always felt like it was nighttime in the suite. Whether it was the living room or the bedroom, there were lack of lighting.
Our window was facing next to a very run down Alcatraz prison-looking kind of apartment. So it was very noisy at night. So there were a few nights i was woken up by the street noises.

The ugly-
The king size mattress was by far the WORST hotel mattress i ever slept on. i had back problems from sleeping on that mattress the first night. i don't know if it was from all the couples doing their deed on that mattress or not, but the middle of the mattress literally sunk down if 2 people slept together right in the middle.
We had to flip the mattress over on day 2 to see if it would of been better and what did we find when we flipped it over? a red looking stain on the mattress which we all commented could of been 1 of few things which i won't list here. It was gross.
But after 3 bed sheets and a blanket we slept on the side of the mattress and it lasted us till the end of the trip.

so all in all, alright hotel in terms of location, but i personally didn't have any good sleep at all...
if i'm ever in miami i wouldn't come back that's for sure...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Good to know that you enjoyed the service our staff provided. The hotel was actually built in 1936 and was renovated about 5 years ago always keeping the art deco style. It is a historic building so we had to keep many of the art deco fixtures. Regarding the mattress we will look into this matter and make the necessary changes. Regarding lighting it is something that we would def have in mind for our next renovation. I do hope our staff was accommodating and offered a room change if light, mattress or noise were an issue. Unfortunately sometimes we cannot control noise from the street. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived on Nov 22, 2012.

1. Customer Service: Excellent staff- we had no issues with customer service. Very friendly, no matter what time it was- our needs were always attended too. They work hard to provide great service.

2. Room: The room was dark- Only pot lights in the rooms. I found it dark, no matter what time of day it was. Floor tiles were cracked, and grout was very stained in areas, especially the bathroom area. Glass in the bathroom, had allot of hard water stains. Toilet seat required changing, found it ripped, and stained (not hygienic at all.)

Windows required window frosting. The view we had was not pleasant, and overlooked the back of the next hotel- A very dank looking hotel.

Good air-conditioning, and good hot water. The kitchen is fantastic! You can make your own meals, and that saves so much money to spend on other things. The kitchen is huge; and the granite is clean, and polished. There is a full size fridge, and freezer! And to add to that, a microwave, and a full-size oven. Oven is clean, just like the fridge. Full size, not small useless bar fridge.- A very nice added concept. Kitchen was very clean.

This place provides some basic kitchen utensils- pots, knifes, mugs. I suggest washing with bleach, for obvious reasons- like you would and should.

Bedroom: The bed was beyond horrible. - I truly mean this. My partner is normally not bothered with soft beds, but this takes it to the extreme. The bed mattress needed to be tossed out. Its way past its use, and that was an total understatement. The bedroom was spacious, and clean.

Overall: A great place, excellent service. I feel this place needs some serious renovations, and updates, but it was a great stay with the noted above comments.

Room Tip: - Find a room that faces the street, NOT the next door trashy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review. Apologies if you felt mattress was uncomfortable. We are looking into this matter. Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Booked 3 nights here in July this year, arrived 9.30pm only for our room to be given to a walk-in...... Staff were absolutely rude and completely incompetent at their job.....the man at the front desk was as useful as a bull with noogs, they moved us to a so called sister hotel and this was bad, for the so called best room in the hotel it was below 2 star, rude staff again and a lack of service was just what we needed to make a move, sorry but do not stay here or at the beach comber they are appalling

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your time and comments. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay. We had an unfortunate situation with our room allocation. We are working so that this will not happen again. We wish you a pleasant week and hope you will give us in the future another opportunity to be of service. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed on this hotel for one night on my way back to LA. The rooms-suites are spacious, clean, modern and updated. Rooms look awesome. Bathroom is small. Full kitchen available with small dining area for two, small living room area as well. I believe you will love the room. The bed though is so hard. Decent to sleep maybe for a night or two. If I were the owner of the hotel, I would change the beds. Shabby building that shows wear and tear. Elevator was out of order and probably happens a lot since elevator is old. Had to carry luggage to the second floor through narrow stairs.
Free parking at this hotel. Most hotels in South Beach charge you around $35 valet, public parking around $25 per day
Service is good, staff is friendly and courteous, but scarce. This is a small hotel 20 plus beds, and it is understandable. I am bad with names, but the Peruvian lady at the front desk, really went the extra mile, to take care of us at check in. The other front desk person, Cuban lady, was also a delight at check out.
If you want a hotel were the staff continuos caters to your need (Concierge, Bellboy, Room service, etc) this hotel may not be for you, but if you are for a short stay, want a spacious fancy suite don’t mind walk one block to the beach and a few blocks to all hot spots like Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins Ave stores, this would be a good pick. Suite allows to even cook in your room full kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Check in on 9/21/12 late (1200 midnight ).. Rooms were spacious costumer service sucks.!!! Couldn't get much info from front desk male employees...very rude and disconcert....need better service at front desk..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We checked in August 31, 2012, we arrived early and asked if possible to check in early but was told no due to cleaning in which was understood. Lilly I believe is her name WAS AWESOME.. She is a asset and hotels need more employees like her in order to want customer wanting to return. Our suite was really nice and updated BUT I wouldn't stay there again only because it is South Beach and I go to have fun and enjoy my time including the time in my room and they complained about our music at 6pm BUT the people down the hall had their music blasted the following day. If that is the rules that is fine and well respected also housekeeping knocked twice didn't give us a chance to answer the door and my husband and I were in bed she just opened the door NOT GOOD!!!!! The two other front desk gentlemen after Lilly were rude.. if I needed anything I just waited for her to arrive AGAIN SHE WAS AWESOME

If you are looking for a quite hotel this is the right one ON CERTAIN DAYS

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your comments. They help us improve our services . We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay in Miami. We do our best to support and encourage our guests's tranquility and peaceful enjoyment of our property. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nassau Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Suite Hotel

Address: 1414 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nassau Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Deco Boutique Hotel features 22 over sized suites. All studios and one bedroom suites offer spacious living area, walk in closets, fully equipped kitchens. Some one bedroom suites also feature a dinning room area. All rooms include, hair dryers, safety boxes, iron & ironing boards, voice mail, minibar, flat screen tvs. Wireless internet available through out hotel. Continental breakfast, access to internet, business center, gym and private movie theater free of charge. Beach chairs and towels. beach toys free of charge too. Parking o site at daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nassau Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Nassau Suite
Nassau Suite Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nassau Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.