We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linens smell terrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nassau Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nassau Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Nassau Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1414 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Linens smell terrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The suites are nice. However, all the bed linens (sheets, comforter, pillow cases) and towels have a very strong and terrible odor. It is combination of perfume and bleach, and it really made me sick. They smell like nobody even bothered to rinse the laundry after it was washed. When I complained about the sheets to the front desk, they handed me two more sets of sheets, but they all had the same awful smell. I could not even sleep in the bed, the smell was so awful. I finally moved into the living room and slept on the futon (without any sheets). It was tolerable, but the whole room just reeked of perfume and bleach. I didn't want to spend any more time in the room than necessary. Thankfully, the windows opened to air it out a bit!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Our sincere apologies if you had any inconvenience during your stay. I will be checking with our housekeeper to make sure this does not happen again. Thanks for your comments it helps us improve our service. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    155
    55
    15
    24
See reviews for
94
133
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Just recently spent 4 days here. I'll highlight the good points...
* Computers in the business center (no charge... beats going to one of the internet stations down 16th or Washington, and spending $3 for 15 minutes)
* Proximity to beaches (though, it was too windy most of the days we were there)
* Rooms are modern looking, with up to date furniture.
* Old hotel, modernized. Old looking on outside, mostly new inside.


Now the issues I/We had:
* Kitchen seemed incomplete. No stove vent.. As another person put it, could smell what you cooked last night. It was quite awkward to get plates, bowls and glasses. An elevated cabinet would be a big improvement.... just one would suffice. No cutting knives, just butter knives. [A trip down to the front desk, got me nowhere... I really don't think the guy understood me... just said, that's all we got... if I knew who the manager was, I would've talked with him/her ]

With few exceptions, we were disappointed with the staff in general.

* Linens stank of perfume. Room stank of perfume. It was hard to sleep that first night. As a result, we opened the windows (and kept them open throughout), which made the smell dissipate, somewhat.
(asking for replacements just would be more of the same, so we didn't bother). As a result, we had to keep the maid service out of the room for the duration of our stay.

The breakfast options were not good... It's a step below a continental breakfast. For what we paid a night, ($200+) we expected a more than what we saw. But since there is a kitchen available in our room, we made our breakfast up there. For those that would like to know what they serve, almost daily, here it is:

* Blueberry muffins that looked like they came from Publix.
* Tiny white bread bagels from Publix.
* Milk/Coffee
* Apples
* less than ripened bananas (only were there once during our stay)
* Croissants (Publix)
* Chocolate chip cookies (Publix)
* Orange juice (see below)
* Water
`

Room Tip: if you want quiet, get rooms further back, so you don't hear as much street noise from Collins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Hi, thanks for your comments. I will be looking into these matters and taking action to improve our services. Housekeeping and management have been informed of your feedback Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. Short walk to Ocean Drive and Miami Beach itself. Bars and shops close by on Ocean, Collins and Washington. Walking distance to everything you need for a trip in South Beach. You do not need a car!
Hotel itself was clean, our room was big and spacious, although the space and style of furniture did not give it a very 'homely' feel. We just used it as a base really. Would say that parts of the room looked a little tatty e.g walls and floor but it was not too big a deal as we were only there for two nights.
Breakfast was fine, just continental - juice, tea/coffee, toast, muffins, fruit and yogurt. But this was a good start to the day rather than having to go out and pay for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port au prince haiti
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My family and I had some unpleasant surprises at Nassau Suite: 1 - Parking on site doesn't mean it is free. 2 - Beach towels and chairs provided doesn't mean they are provided on the beach 3 - Complimentary breakfast was the same basic items every day: under-ripened bananas, apples, peach yogurt, coffee, Tang and assorted breads with lots of Styrofoam and plastic utensils. There are several cafes around that we opted for instead. 4 - The kitchens are kind of for show I think. Since there is no ventilation from the stove, everything in the room will smell like what you had for dinner for the next few days.

None of these characteristics or experiences were especially tragic, just unpleasant to learn the hard way. I will look for something more in line with my expectations next time....there are hundreds of options!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Sorry to know we didnt meet your expectations. It is not our intention to deceive our guests. We state in our website and supplier websites that we offer parking at an additional cost . We never menton being on the beach or providing services on the beach. We are however conveniently located one block away from the ocean. We do serve a fairly assorted continental breakfast: coffee, tea, orange juice, toast, bagels. muffins, cookies, croissants, yoghurt, apples and bananas. All this at no extra cost. Thank you for your input and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

A perfect place to start our Florida experience. Hotel breakfast poor but there are plenty of other places To eat nearby.helpful staff. Everything we needed including fridge, cooker, beach towels, even beach chairs to take with you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Location was Great and the accommodations exceeded my expectations... If you're looking for a room with a view, you're not going to find it here but if you get out and about there is plenty to view. As well as an abundance of Restaurants/Shops within walking distance...
Housekeeping isn't as speedy as in other (chain/commercial) hotels, but they do a damn good job.
**Note** if you arrive before the 3pm check-in be prepared to wait until 3pm... the lady behind the desk is a stickler on that detail.
****Lastly**** If taking the Metro Bus from the Airport to 16th & Washington, you CANNOT catch it at the same place on your return to the Airport... You'll need to check MTA for the pickups. I found this out the hard way...

Room Tip: I had the Deluxe 1 Bdrm Ste, the Sofa Sleeper is nice to sit on but I doubt sleeping is all that com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We love this Hotel! We wanted to spend a few nights in Miami Beach on our return from St. Martin. Since we live int he Bahamas, I thought it would be cool to stay @ the Nassau hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Very clean hotel. I just loved the decor, expecially the hardwood floors. Very, very laid back atmosphere. Lillie is an awesome front desk clerk and was very helpful. The hotel is walking distance from everything and without all the loud noise. They have updated amenities as well as free wireless and continental breakfast is included. I loved having the full kitchen, it was home away from home. Going to El Slavador in 6 weeks and we will be staying there again on our way back home. Needless to say, we will be going back in 7 weeks on our way back to El Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nassau Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Suite Hotel

Address: 1414 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nassau Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Deco Boutique Hotel features 22 over sized suites. All studios and one bedroom suites offer spacious living area, walk in closets, fully equipped kitchens. Some one bedroom suites also feature a dinning room area. All rooms include, hair dryers, safety boxes, iron & ironing boards, voice mail, minibar, flat screen tvs. Wireless internet available through out hotel. Continental breakfast, access to internet, business center, gym and private movie theater free of charge. Beach chairs and towels. beach toys free of charge too. Parking o site at daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Nassau Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Nassau Suite
Nassau Suite Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nassau Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.