We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nassau Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nassau Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nassau Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1414 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location on South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. Short walk to Ocean Drive and Miami Beach itself. Bars and shops close by on Ocean, Collins and Washington. Walking distance to everything you need for a trip in South Beach. You do not need a car!
Hotel itself was clean, our room was big and spacious, although the space and style of furniture did not give it a very 'homely' feel. We just used it as a base really. Would say that parts of the room looked a little tatty e.g walls and floor but it was not too big a deal as we were only there for two nights.
Breakfast was fine, just continental - juice, tea/coffee, toast, muffins, fruit and yogurt. But this was a good start to the day rather than having to go out and pay for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    164
    60
    16
    23
See reviews for
82
125
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
port au prince haiti
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My family and I had some unpleasant surprises at Nassau Suite: 1 - Parking on site doesn't mean it is free. 2 - Beach towels and chairs provided doesn't mean they are provided on the beach 3 - Complimentary breakfast was the same basic items every day: under-ripened bananas, apples, peach yogurt, coffee, Tang and assorted breads with lots of Styrofoam and plastic utensils. There are several cafes around that we opted for instead. 4 - The kitchens are kind of for show I think. Since there is no ventilation from the stove, everything in the room will smell like what you had for dinner for the next few days.

None of these characteristics or experiences were especially tragic, just unpleasant to learn the hard way. I will look for something more in line with my expectations next time....there are hundreds of options!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Sorry to know we didnt meet your expectations. It is not our intention to deceive our guests. We state in our website and supplier websites that we offer parking at an additional cost . We never menton being on the beach or providing services on the beach. We are however conveniently located one block away from the ocean. We do serve a fairly assorted continental breakfast: coffee, tea, orange juice, toast, bagels. muffins, cookies, croissants, yoghurt, apples and bananas. All this at no extra cost. Thank you for your input and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

A perfect place to start our Florida experience. Hotel breakfast poor but there are plenty of other places To eat nearby.helpful staff. Everything we needed including fridge, cooker, beach towels, even beach chairs to take with you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Location was Great and the accommodations exceeded my expectations... If you're looking for a room with a view, you're not going to find it here but if you get out and about there is plenty to view. As well as an abundance of Restaurants/Shops within walking distance...
Housekeeping isn't as speedy as in other (chain/commercial) hotels, but they do a damn good job.
**Note** if you arrive before the 3pm check-in be prepared to wait until 3pm... the lady behind the desk is a stickler on that detail.
****Lastly**** If taking the Metro Bus from the Airport to 16th & Washington, you CANNOT catch it at the same place on your return to the Airport... You'll need to check MTA for the pickups. I found this out the hard way...

Room Tip: I had the Deluxe 1 Bdrm Ste, the Sofa Sleeper is nice to sit on but I doubt sleeping is all that com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We love this Hotel! We wanted to spend a few nights in Miami Beach on our return from St. Martin. Since we live int he Bahamas, I thought it would be cool to stay @ the Nassau hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Very clean hotel. I just loved the decor, expecially the hardwood floors. Very, very laid back atmosphere. Lillie is an awesome front desk clerk and was very helpful. The hotel is walking distance from everything and without all the loud noise. They have updated amenities as well as free wireless and continental breakfast is included. I loved having the full kitchen, it was home away from home. Going to El Slavador in 6 weeks and we will be staying there again on our way back home. Needless to say, we will be going back in 7 weeks on our way back to El Salvador.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The room has a lot of comfortable amenities. The kitchen is a plus and with quick cab ride to Publix (grocery store) you will be good for the rest of your trip. Compared to many hotels, this place has many updates. If you are looking for the Ritz at these prices, save your money and head down a few blocks to 1 Lincoln Rd...But if you are looking for a good time, with a nice place to stay....You got it here!

Cons - It's not a beachfront hotel and they do not have a pool.
Pros- Perfectly situated between the spots on Ocean and Lincoln. The rooms are clean, and the staff is great.

Tidbits - Request a room on the top floor!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The place is old and does not resemble what you see in brochure. Customer service at reception is rude and does not let you talk to management if there is a problem. The place smells of urine its dark and looks haunted. They push that you put your credit card and once you do its a trap... Stay away from this place. Its not only dirty, expensive and its also ancient. The beds are as good as mattresses on the floor. The pic you see at the entrance is as good as it gets. Please look at the place before purchase. or better still stay away unless you wanna settle for less.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at Nassau Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
We are sorry to read you feel this way about our property. We are proud to provide great care to our guests. Photos and descriptions of our suites try to depict them as they are. We are fully aware that there is nothing positive in showing something we wil not be able to deliver. It is hotel policy to ask for a credit card upon check in where we can place money on hold as a security deposit until you check out, Apologies if this was not correctly explained to you by our front desk. We wish you a good week and hope to be of service next time you visit us in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nassau Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nassau Suite Hotel

Address: 1414 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nassau Suite Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Deco Boutique Hotel features 22 over sized suites. All studios and one bedroom suites offer spacious living area, walk in closets, fully equipped kitchens. Some one bedroom suites also feature a dinning room area. All rooms include, hair dryers, safety boxes, iron & ironing boards, voice mail, minibar, flat screen tvs. Wireless internet available through out hotel. Continental breakfast, access to internet, business center, gym and private movie theater free of charge. Beach chairs and towels. beach toys free of charge too. Parking o site at daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nassau Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassau Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Nassau Suite
Nassau Suite Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nassau Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.