We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Historically Classy Dive Off The Strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Central to your Saves list
The Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“The Historically Classy Dive Off The Strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. If you're big on four/five star accommodations, you may feel differently, but I would definitely stay there again. I went with my wife, and Miami was the last stop on our trip following a cruise to the Bahamas. Here's the skinny:

The pros:
You're right in the mix of what makes the strip awesome. Wet Willies in a stones throw away, while sexy people play volleyball on the beach right across the street. The hotel provided us cabanas during our stay, which was a plus. The rooftop deck was also pretty cool, it provided a nice view of the beach and the city. Customer service was solid too. Derek in particular was awesome. He was super helpful; knows all the best places check out, where to eat, and the buzz around town. Next time I'm there, I'm passing by just to say hi... Assuming he's still there. :)

The cons:
Housekeeping seemed a little slack the first couple of days, but improved over our stay. I think it may come down to who's working. Also, their restaurant food was pretty mediocre considering the prices. I highly suggest Polo Norte/Habanos Cuban Cafe (pn changed to hcc, but they're both used interchangeably) which isn't too far away, and their food is AWESOME.

Overall; good service and location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Eric B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel, its location and all of the amenities it offers. Derek will absolutely be commended for his service! We hope to welcome you back for your next trip to Miami.
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    580
    247
    85
    70
See reviews for
146
658
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

location location location.and a great little hotel too...I dicover this hotel many years ago and when ever i am in south beach we alway stay here.. As i said the location is very hard to beat, you walk out the front door and the ocean is a cross the road , for food breakfast , lunch or dinner some of the best meals on ocean drive is right there at the hotel and great cocktails too.. The hotel is a through back from the 1960's , carpet hallway , fans everywhere , black and white photos and paintings every where , spanish and carribean music can be heard in the air...the rooms are comfortable and as all you will need for a few day stay plus air-condition..a small pool at the front for a dip on a hot south florida summers day..the best part of the hotel to me is late evening on the roof, there is a lounge area over looking the ocean and back to miami dowtown , for catching the late evening sun as it goes down with a few cocktails...very hard to beat...

Room Tip: Ocean view a most..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Fletch305,
It is always a pleasure to read positive reviews from our guests and the ones from Trip Advisor's Senior Contributor's have a significant importance. Thank you for the 5 star rating of your recent stay with us and your loyalty over the years. We will see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I took a 5 day trip to South Beach and stayed at the Park Central Hotel. Overall, we had a very nice time. Great location with easy access to the beach. Beach chairs are provided by the hotel at no cost but umbrellas are at an additional charge. We enjoyed the many restaurants nearby and spent a great deal of time walking around the area to eat and shop. The hotel has the feel of the 50's and seemed to be clean. The concierge, Sergio, was very helpful with questions about restaurants and the area. We had read about complaints of noise at night but we did not experience that. We stayed on the second floor and had the air conditioner on so maybe that was helpful. The room had decent but 50's era furniture. We did have a problem with not receiving all the local stations on the TV. They sent a cable person there to check it and we were told we received the same stations as everyone else although the information book in the room had all the local stations listed. We also found a TV in the fitness center that showed all the stations. The fitness center had free weights, treadmill and ellipical machines and a Cybex type of machine. They have a small pool with warm water. They did put a $50 charge on to our credit card daily for incidental charges but was removed as promised after a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mrakoczy,
Thank you for choosing The Park Central for your anniversary trip! Indeed we recently changed our television provider and will look into the programming of the guest rooms once more to be sure all is in sync. Thank you for your kind words about Sergio, this will be shared with all. We hope to welcome you back for your next trip to Miami.
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This has been my eleventh or twelfth time staying at the Park Central, and it shall be my last.My reservation process was soured by an unprofessional employee on the phone, my room was "upgraded" to a suite, but it was on the first floor, ridiculously loud, and there appeared to be semen stains on the furniture. The carpets were gross and I felt entirely uncomfortable even being there. For nearly $200 a night, IN THE SUMMER TIME (OFFSEASON), there are an inordinate amount of places to choose from and I will definitely be choosing elsewhere moving forward. A real shame considering how many different people I have exposed your establishment to...

Room Tip: Stay away from the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Troy P,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry your stay was unsatisfactory and that neither the service nor the property met your expectations. Your feedback is being shared and will be used for service improvements. This year the hotel will fully remodel and we hope you might consider us once this remodel is complete.
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I travelled to this hotel with a group and it was the perfect location to enjoy dining and having cocktails at our hotel people watching and right across the street from the beach. The food was very good at the Park Central Café and Quinn's! Our only complaint would be that being on the strip and an older hotel it is not quiet at night, bring earplugs and plan on good night sleep when you go home. The bed was very comfortable though, just have an extra glass of wine before bed and you'll sleep like a baby! We will stay here again. The food at both restaurants were very tasty and they have live music at night and some very fun people watching! Al the staff were very helpful and nice. Thanks Sergio the Bellman for making us feel important to your hotel.

Room Tip: It's a trade off because the ocean view rooms are on the strip, so noisy and by the elevator, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear SusanKnight,
Thank you for choosing The Park Central and taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and the location. We will be sure to recognize Sergio!
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Location: perfect
Carlos at the front desk, very polite and attentive , also another Hispanic man overnight who was helpful in helping us in the right direction for things , 2 of the ladies there were rude , one looked to be a supervisor of
Some sort and the other treated us as if we were bothering her at check-in.
Restaurant for breakfast on site was also perfect . The lobby area was beautiful, room was small, but fine. The baby cockroaches in the bathroom the first day were surprising, no sense in switching rooms if the hotel is infested. At 3am our last night there I had a roach crawl down my blanket onto my skin which woke me up and I panicked !
What really put the icing on the cake is contacting general manager and never getting a response back , I never do reviews but since they can possibly see this . I guess it's the best I can do.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Aldridge1887,
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your comments. I am so sorry that your interaction with our team members was not consistent and welcoming; this is certainly not exemplary of our service. All reviews are passed along to the team members for training and improvement purposes. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly about the cleanliness of your room. If you would like, please direct message me or call me at the hotel at anytime.
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

It needs renovation. Its too old. Carpets and rooms smells bad. It has very good location. Its next to the beach...................................
....................................................

....













.



......

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHotelManager, General Manager at The Park Central, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Asavva1,
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your comments. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay was less than expected. In the near future we will renovate the hotel and all rooms and amenities will be updated for our guests to enjoy. Hopefully when these improvements are made you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Janine Ackerman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#60 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#34 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#144 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.