We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Park Central to your Saves list
The Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Welling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I were thoroughly impressed with the level of service which we received at the park central hotel. We arrived a day earlier than initially planned on the off chance that we could start our stay early. We could not fault Rudy on reception. He was more than happy to accommodate us and even helped us secure a better room for our stay. Check in was quick, efficient and stress-free.

We stayed in an ocean front room on the fourth floor. The room was a little tired and in need of a refurb, however the size of the room and the view certainly made up for this.

The hotel location was perfect. We were in walking distance of all local amenities and it was a great base for our stay in south beach.

It was a great bonus that each room is allocated 2 sun loungers for free on the beach and the pool even though on the small side served its purpose and we were always able to find a sun lounger when we wanted one.

The staff at the quinns bar were also great particularly with their service whilst at the pool during the day.

Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    559
    219
    76
    61
See reviews for
134
620
41
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First let me start by saying the Park Central is a nice hotel but they could use some improvement in the service area. We arrived to a very dry front desk clerk; perhaps it was the fact that we arrived very late but a welcome and a smile should be mandatory. Our view was pretty awesome; we had a partial ocean view and had a nice view of the ocean but also a not to nice view of the roof from another hotel. The bed was awesome one of the best I've had but we had to call 3 times to have our room cleaned and when we ordered room service they brought us the wrong item. Having 2 free beach chairs was nice a nice perk. We noticed a sign outside that advertised Happy Hour when my husband asked the young man how much were the drinks he disappeared and took down the sign. Overall a nice hotel and great location but the customer service needs some improvement

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Park Central Hotel for 6 nights in June and were overall very happy with our stay! The hotel was in a fantastic location, right on Ocean Drive and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The only complaint I have about the location is that if you walk along the hotel side of the street outside you have restaurant hosts jumping out at you with menus every two minutes so it's hard to enjoy the buzz. But we avoided this by walking on the opposite side of the road so it's not a huge complaint.

When we were checking in we were offered an upgrade to a 6th floor ocean view room for $40 more per night but because we were on a budget we didn't take it. Our room was a classic double room on the second floor and was clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel itself is an original Art Deco building which was really cool! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here June 13-17 2013. The Hotel is older as the other hotels on Ocean Dr. so we were happy. Everything is very close- walking distance. There was 2 bell boys that were very helpful and informative, Rafael and an older man not sure of his name. I give this service and Hotel a 4 Star. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stopped to grab lunch with a group of friends and we just had a blast. Food wss great very eye appealing and the chicken wings tasted really good as well as being reasonably priced. The Sex on the Beach drinks are ok. But the view and location outdoors is just a great place to dine and relax while people watching.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D. C.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location can't be better, right across the street from the beautiful South Beach, and the Art Deco building is pretty. Everything inside is vintage Art Deco--elevator, rooms, bathroom, furniture, ceiling fans, all the fixtures--and it's amazing that they are all well maintained in working order. It's not like a modern, brand-new, spacious hotel, but everything works and our stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Truly a step back in time. A quaint and wonderful experience. The staff was very attentive. I cant say enough nice things about them and miss them already. The location was awesome, right across from Lummus Park and beautiful Miami beach. They supply towels and beach chairs making a day at the beach so easy and fun. Also, the food at Quinn's was phenomenal!

Room Tip: Do not book anything other than a partial ocean view or full ocean view, preferably a corner suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.