We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly & courteous staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Park Central to your Saves list
The Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lake Park, IA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly & courteous staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a suite at the Park Central over Easter weekend. The location on Ocean Dr is spectacular, the staff was very helpful and courteous and our room was very clean & comfortable. They have a nice pool, although we opted to hang out on the beach. It appears the motel has a lot of it's original sinks, tubs, faucets and fixtures but everything worked great and our furniture was very comfortable. Jorge told us their restaurant was the best on Ocean Dr, of course, so we did eat there one evening and had a spectacular meal and great service. We would highly recommend staying at The Park Central and will likely return some day soon. Oh ya, be sure to check out the rooftop of the main building with it's quaint lounge chairs, patio chairs and tables. There's even a shower and restroom!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    563
    223
    78
    62
See reviews for
136
622
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights at The Park Central Hotel in South Beach with a friend. We did not have a reservation, but we were treated extremely well by the entire staff. I wish to commend Keysha, at the front desk, for her kindness & expertise. She is delightful! Also, I wish to commend both John & Ricahado for their assistance with our luggage & valet service. You couldn't ask for friendlier service Than they offered. The adjoining restaurant also had delicious food & nice waiters.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Park Central, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear SharonB37,

Thank you for the review and the nice comments about our staff members on your most recent stay in Miami! Keisha, John, and Ricardo are all an essential part of our family and we are so grateful to have them with us. I am glad to hear that they could make such a positive impact on your travel experience.
We hope that you will choose us again in the future as your hotel of choice in the South Beach area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This beautifully restored art deco hotel was perfect for my spring break trip to South Beach with my granddaughters. Accomodating staff, excellent restaurants right in the hotel, across the street from the beach plus a pool. The hotel provides towels and 2 beach chairs per room. This is a great perk because the beach is very crowded. The pool is right off of the lobby and has some lounge chairs but they are hard to come by and by early afternoon, most of the chair area is in the shade. The sixth floor has a sun deck with very comfy chairs and a good breeze so it is a great option if you just want sun and don't want to get in the pool. We stayed in the main hotel on the back so we had no noise issues at all. The hotel is located toward the south end of South Beach so walking to Starbucks or down to South Point Park is very easy. The Deco bike rental is right across the street from the hotel in the park. Great stay and the staff were all wonderful. The bathrooms are small but every effort has been made to add lots of mirrors and shelving. The lighting was poor for teenage makeup application!

Room Tip: The rooms on the rear keep you away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I love visiting Miami since it is an easy weekend trip from NY. We normally stay at the Fontainebleau or Loews but we were more than willing to give this place a try because the price was right. Our experience with Rudy at the front desk was horrible. He is lucky that I never saw him again. READ THE FINE PRINT. Rudy never told us that our whole balance would be taken out upon check in. Thank God our bank called and notified us the next day but that is not a surprise you want to wake up to. We went straight down to the front desk to ask why we were paying for 5 nights on day 1 which probably wouldn’t have been an issue if we were TOLD THAT. We asked for the manager and be aware that there is not a manager on 24/7. We had to wait till about 1pm to speak with a manager. Also, there is a white (snotty) middle aged woman with straight black hair that sits at the little gift shop in the original building... not once would she smile or utter a word to us all weekend... just gave us a passing glance. Same deal with Sharon (I believe her name is)... this place needs a total refurbishment and employees need to be educated on customer relations.
The rooms in both buildings (we were originally in a “suite” and then in a basic room) are old and are comparable with Ramada Inn. I have no problem with hotels of that star level and we even thought about checking out and going to the Days Inn or RIU where I would probably get a smile and same room for half the price. As soon as we got in the original elevator, my boyfriend looked at me and said "Tower of Terror." I think the hotel uses the excuse of “historic hotel” as a reason to not renovate. In the “suite” my heel got stuck in a gap from where the carpet ends and the bathroom tile begins. Also, there were little grey bugs all over the bathroom. Normally we take back our leftovers from Prime 112 and BLT but we couldn’t this trip bc the fridge is packed with liquor and there is no microwave. Side note: I am a veterinary technician and my boyfriend is in sanitation....we literally deal with poop/garbage on a daily basis and we do our jobs with a SMILE because we know a) how lucky we are to be gainfully employed and b) enjoy what we do. We will not be returning to The Park Central to encounter the miserable staff again. Pay the extra money if you can and try the RIU or the nicer hotels that I previously mentioned. In my opinion, this hotel should be in the mid 100's on TA.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere thats rated higher on TA
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect. The rooms need to be updated and the bathrooms are small. Stayed on the 5th floor no noise complaints. For the price it was amazing. I highly recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner it's divine. The hotel is located right across the street from the beach doesn't get closer then this. The hotel offers beach towels and beach chairs for no cost which is perfect. We booked a hotel and airfare package through Expedia which included free breakfast, another bonus!! I would without a doubt stay at this hotel again. We went down for ultra music festival and this hotel was only a 10 min cab ride to the festival. Highly recommend staying on south beach during ultra. It's super easy to get to the festival and you can enjoy the beach and beautiful ocean drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

situated well on south beach ,surrounded by restaurants to numerous to count. The hotel is dated as to be expected had a room at the back so no noise but equally no view. all staff friendly ,bed comfy. Turn left out of hotel and walk 2 blocks up to the News Cafe for a lovely breakfast .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in miami beach during spring break of 2013 (mid-march) and the night we arrived, everything was extremely busy and the streets were in gridlock. The hotel charges a $28 per day valet parking charge, and parking valet was our only option since there was virtually no public parking available.
Our room was very small, but everything was comfortable and the room was fairly quiet despite the busy Ocean Drive location.
The rooftop sun deck is nice and you get a reserved beach chair and towel, which is convenient. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially when recommending restaurants and things to do in the area. Stay away from sidewalk restaurants on Ocean drive!!!
We had a very pleasant stay here and hope to return to Miami beach one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophiaGomez, CRM Specialist at The Park Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Welltraveledd,

Thank you for choosing the Park Central Hotel on your recent visit to Miami. We appreciate you taking the time out to give us feedback on your travel experience.
We are glad that we were able to offer you a pleasant stay as well as comfortable amenities during such a busy weekend in Miami. Hopefully the parking situation was not too much of a hassle. Spring Break is one of the busiest times of the year for Miamians!
I will make sure to share your kind comments with the Park Central team and we look forward to having you return and stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sophia Gomez , CRM Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.