We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel on Ocean Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Central

Save Saved
You added The Park Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Specials
Ranked #71 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Special hotel on Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm just back from 3 nights at this absolutely charming spot on Ocean Drive. You can feel the history of the Art Deco period, and enjoy modern amenities ( comfortable beds, thick towels, great shower, super clean). Great location (not too much street noise, good spot on the beach) personable staff. Lovely roof top with great views.

Room Tip: We had a side room on the south side-- could see the pool, and the ocean, relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    536
    201
    64
    56
See reviews for
123
594
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Park Central, the room was reminiscent of the old movies but quite contemporary. My cousin recommended this hotel because she stayed a week in 2010 and really enjoyed herself. Like her, I was traveling alone. Approaching the hotel, live jazz music and diners filled the sidewalk cafe. The decor of the lobby was beautiful. The bar and indoor dining area was inviting. ( I ate breakfast at the Park Central Cafe on the last day of my stay and the food and price was great - actually, enough for 2.) My room was very nice and the king-size bed was very comfortable. I also loved the very wide screen TV. My view overlooked the pool and I could also see the ocean. The bathroom was small and quaint but doable. But most importantly the staff was absolutely fabulous, Keysa, Allison, Sharon, Line at the registration desk. Ricardo(doorman) gave me great recommendations for places to eat and was a wonderful photographer too. The bartender was superb, and housekeepers too. Oh, I must not forget the "cabana boy" on the beach, another photographer! I came in Thursday night, January 24th and left Saturday, the 26th. Although my visit was short, it seem several days! Great place to stay, even if you are traveling alone! Will stay again!! Ava B.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor. I did hear the live music from the outside dining area but I really enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great location and they provide chairs on the beach. People are really friendly and the mojitos are some of the best in Sth Beach. The room is small and but good. We were in room 303 and it had the WORST shower head in the United States. I reported it when I left and not before as I was having to much fun.

Don't over look the restaurant as it had some of the best Stone Crabs in town. I look forward to returning. The staff really made this a fun place to stay for us. We are in our late 40s and they seemed to be having a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Very good mojitos and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed at the Park Central on our last four visits to Miami Beach, and I'm sure we'll stay here again. We've had a room at the back ("basic," I think they call it), partial ocean view (a room at the side, twice), and a suite. We haven't made it to the "big time" of the ocean-front room, but we've been happy with all of the rooms we've stayed in.

The beds are comfortable, possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. The rooms are always clean. The pool and the area around it are kept clean, too.

Yes, as some reviewers have said, the rooms and bathrooms aren't huge. But this hotel was built in 1937, and most hotels of that era had small rooms. (Hey, you're in Miami Beach, don't spend your time in a hotel room!!!!) They're serious about maintaining the hotel's historic atmosphere, and they're a member of the Historic Hotels of America (part of the National Trust for Historic Preservation). We love the 1930's photographs that are part of the decor. The ceiling fans are in the art deco style, too. The furniture style maybe old-fashioned to go with the historic period, but you have to give them credit for plenty of drawer space. And our room had a big closet, too.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Walking in, we always felt like we were being welcomed home.

The location is perfect, on Ocean Drive, just walk across the street to the beach. But not too close to the party hotels where the music blares all night.

Nice touches include robes in the room, a beautiful rooftop sundeck (where they sometimes show movies), free lounge chair on the beach, and Bogart sitting in an antique car parked out front. Free wifi with a good, strong signal. And all at a good price compared to other Ocean Drive hotels!

The only minus is the lack of a coffee maker in the room. It would be nice to be able to have coffee first thing in the morning. There is room service, but I don't usually bother with room service when I travel. One other really small thing is that they have changed their toiletries since our last visit. I used to like their soaps, but the new brand has an odd scent that I didn't like. But I'm picky about soaps, so I always have my own with me, just in case.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I were so fortunate to come across this gem of a hotel. The price, location, service, and art deco character were all exceptional. The pool is lovely and the gym is excellent for a small hotel. I was most impressed with the bellboy and concierge staff considering the affordable price point. Will look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent location on Ocean Drive across from the ocean andl close to restaurant and bar activity. Hotel staff very friendly and polite. Rooms clean and mine had a walk in closet area to store clothes and suitcase. Beds comfortable. Pool area small, but very nice to access to a pool. Roof deck nice to go on at night. Loved the free beach chairs and towels. Could hear some noise at night from street and outside restaurant activity, but not bad.

Try the great cuban restaurant on 7th and Collins. Tasty food at great prices! Hotel also close to Walgreens.

This was my 2nd visit at this hotel and I would defintely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times over the past 9 years. I love the location, love the staff..., but I do think its time to update the rooms.
The food is great.., kinda expensive. Lobby is beautiful and comfortable. The staff is very friendly an accommodating.

Well worth it for the location.!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.