We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Central

Save Saved
You added The Park Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Gosport
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location couldn't be better, the rooms are great, the bed was extremely comfortable, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the roof terrace had fab sun loungers and the jazz in the bar at night was wonderful.We were originally booked for two nights and ended up staying four - says it all really!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    546
    208
    75
    57
See reviews for
131
611
37
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay. Taxi from airport was $32 fixed rate and only 25 min ride. We had emailed the day before, requesting early check-in and at 10:30 am, friendly and efficient Keysha gave us the keys to our room, upgraded to king bed. Yes the room is a little small and the bathroom is tiny and poorly lit but keep in mind that you are staying at a historic Art Deco site. Tour buses actually stop for a photo op in front so you know that the architecture is unique. The bed was ultra comfy and the room was clean. The pool was small but nice and warm. We really enjoyed the rooftop patio with double bed loungers although I would prefer quiet for reading/snoozing rather than the music playing.

The location is perfect, across the road from the beach and right on restaurant row. There are at least 20 restaurants with open air seating along Ocean Drive. Dinner at Quinn's (the hotel restaurant) was superb, with excellent service, reasonable prices, large portions and very fresh seafood (bam bam shrimp, scallops,seafood pasta and best Key Lime pie ever). Dinner at Avalon (3 min walk) was equally superb (lobster salad, macadamia encrusted snapper, creme brulee) and although a little pricier, definitely worth it. Be sure to make reservations as these restaurants fill quickly. Many other restaurants have hawkers out front cajoling you to take a look at the menu or luring you with half price drinks. Do not get sucked in. The best places to eat do not need hawkers and others complained that the massive drinks were a massive rip off. For breakfasts either News Cafe (eggs benedict) or Central Park Cafe ($5.95 breakfast special is small but good). It was disappointing that we could only find 2 restaurants with water views and these were by the harbour. Had tasty conch fritters at Monty's and watched boats.

Beach was clean, not too crowded and water was surprisingly warm (sunny and 85 each day, 74 at night) and free loungers for hotel guests. Bike/walking path along the beach with bike rentals. Highly recommend speedboat tour-- lots of fun driving and seeing celebrity homes.
Had drinks at The Clevelander (worst Margarita ever but Miami Vice drink was good).

We will be staying at Park Central again, great value, location, pool/rooftop deck, service.

Room Tip: Further from the street, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is is overall a good quality, I stayed here for 4 days and I did not have any difficulty at staying at this hotel. It is about 10 meters away from the beach. Location is perfect also staff are very friendly. Rooms are good size and clean.

Would I stay there again >>YES

Bad points = No transport links close by
Not many places to shop around close by

Room Tip: At reception ask for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Part of our honeymoon was happily spent here. Great art deco style, with some pictures of the old days on the walls. Comfy rooms and superb location facing the beach for both day and night entertainment. A great choice

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed at The Park Central Hotel from 10/5-10/8, and prior to that from 8/31-9/3/12. Over the past 5 years I've stayed here about 7 times, and each time I'm NEVER disappointed. The accomodations are always comfortable and clean, and I can't say enough great things about the staff. From the Front Desk, to the Gift Shop, to the concierge, to Housekeeping, everyone works together to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I only hate giving such great reviews because it means that more people will flock towards it. I wish The Park Central was a secret that I could keep all to myself! Oh yeah, the pool at night is absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: The 6th floor has fewer rooms which equals less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Right across from the beach, one of the original Art Deco hotels. The interior is looking a bit dated but you do fall for its charms. The rooms are a decent size and are kept very clean. But the air conditioning is far too loud - you have to choose between the heat and the noise.
Like all South Beach hotels, there's a bouncing cafe outside which doesn't give a great first impression but that's part of the South Beach deal. Small 'pool' but when you're next to the beach it doesn't matter. Good spot on 6th Street as you can walk the length of the stylish hotels even if you have to cross the road to avoid being pestered by bar and cafe staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I spent the week of 9/22 - 9/29 at The Park Central, on Ocean Drive right across from Lummus Park and the beach. Given its location, it is a good value for the money. The staff we encountered was good, friendly, and helpful. As do most on Ocean Drive, the hotel has outdoor restaurant seating in front on the sidewalk. The meals we ate were good and comparable (even less expensive in some cases) to other restaurants on the street. The interior and pool area are nicely appointed. The lobby and halls are somewhat dimly lit, but this is in keeping with the art deco style of the period these hotels were built. I stayed in room 514. It was nicely appointed, spacious enough for my wife and me to move around, and in a quiet location (except for noisy neighbors a couple nights). It is right next to the stairs that led only upward to the rooftop deck on the 6th floor, but since an elevator also goes to that floor, we had no problems with guest traffic going up. The bathroom was clean and in good shape, although small for two people to use simultaneously. Our room rate (they all may) included two beach lounge chairs. You can obtain beach umbrellas for $15 from the attendant on the beach directly in front of the hotel (check in with him before picking out your chairs, as it is a city-run concession, just tell him your hotel and room number). You can check out beach towels from the desk “behind” the elevator but must return them by 10pm or be charged for them. Being across from the beach, it's convenient for day or night swims in the ocean (beach closes from midnight to 5am). We stayed during one of the hotel’s Summer Swing evenings on the rooftop exclusively for guests. They served complimentary popcorn and snacks/candy, had a "wheel of fortune" to spin and win items (towels, books, etc.), they played a modern black and white movie with Tom Arnold depicting the change from silent to talking films, had a small band (The Jazz Mafia) playing music from the 30s to 50s, and a dance team of two performing period dances and trying to involve guests in the dancing. It was a nice touch to our stay. I never felt unsafe in the area. Though on the more southern end of South Beach (SOBE), it is only a brisk 15 minute walk to Lincoln Blvd (this is an estimate as we never timed it), and even a little shorter to Espanola Way. If you want to catch the Big Bus Tour of Miami Beach and Miami (the red open top double decker buses), bus stop #4 where you can purchase tickets is only a couple minute walk away. For Starbucks-addicts, there is one located about a 5-minute walk at the northern end of Ocean, or one a little closer on Washington and 12th. For less expensive meals than those in restaurants on Ocean, you can often find good deals in restaurants/eateries on Washington or Collins. There is a Publix and discount stores in a parking mall on 5th and Alton as you enter the island from Miami (about a brisk 7-minute walk from the hotel. Parking is free for 2 hours. As far as parking while at Park Central, there is a garage on 7th Street, between Collins and Washington. Check in at the hotel first, and for $15/day (plus tax of about $1.05), you can get a pass card to self-park with unlimited in/out access; this was the best deal I could find. It takes only a couple minutes to walk there. Regarding parking: the garage attendants said they knew nothing of hotel parking passes; the city website says daily parking is available at $15 (though when I called the contact number on the website I was told it is now $20); the website also says monthly parking is available at $75/month which is more economical if staying 7 days, the attendants I spoke to upon arrival knew nothing of it. Unless you are traveling outside of the SOBE area, you won't really need a car and shouldn't plan to use it, as parking is very limited around town and usually metered. If driving, to unload at the hotel, turn right onto Ocean drive from 7th St. or higher and this will put you on the correct side of the road. If arriving by plane, don’t rent a car while in SOBE unless absolutely necessary as there are more economical ways to get to/from the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors or away from Ocean Drive are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.