We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ocean to your Saves list
Hotel Ocean
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sceaux, France
1 review
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

A good singer helps you to fall asleep !
Free morning continental breakfast.
Free Towels to go to the beach.
Directly on the sand of South beach... great !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, General Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Bonjour Sophie1207806,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Ocean. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    119
    67
    54
    74
See reviews for
49
186
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed at hotel ocean a year ago was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews online. Just got back yesterday and it was wonderful. The staff could not have been any nicer. The rooms were large, clean and we even could see the wonderful ocean.It was a very happening place. At night the outside restaurant was packed with live music. Geizabet at the desk was so accomidating. If you are looking for quiet why would you stay on ocean drive at 12th street. We will back again next year. Thank you for everything. The Bryan family, Zimmerman family and Daly family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, General Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear nanny127,

Thank you very much for your great Feedback. I will personally pass your comments on to our Front Desk Agent, Geizabet and of course the remaining staff. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ocean. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

First off went here for my 21 st birthday, booked a suite saw the pictures that it had and said hey for this price and area i could stay here.

The day of checking in I new my vacation was over

First they said THEY HAD NO MORE ROOMS WHEN WE HAD A RESERVATION, told me i had to check in at another hotel, wouldnt even credit my card and at that time hotels werent the same prices when i booked it a month in a half prior so likewise i would have to pay extra on top of this reservation.

Secondly the ROOM was horrible, the door was said to be broken at the end of stay which was told to the front desk after we complained THAT THE ROOM WAS COMPLETELY OPPOSITE!!

Thirdly the CUSTOMER SERVICE was horrible, later on when i called for suspicious charges on my cc 2 weeks after the stay the concierge was rude and unhelpful, she simply said "You couldve stayed somewhere else" Appalled of service she begins telling me charges of the fridge which has never been touched, the Tv would come on and off and the balcony view was horrible.

I would not recommend this to friends, I would never stay here, If this hotel was free I would never stay here!!

- Jerome
President of BonapetitNyc catering ©

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear Bonapetitnyc,

I am very sorry for the overbooking situation at our hotel. Unfortunately the flight of a departing international group was canceled and we had to extend the group by one night. We had made reservations for you at partner hotel on Collins Avenue, however I truly apologize that this hotel did not meet your expectation. Your feedback clearly discussed the partner hotel you stayed at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I booked a room overlooking the city, got a noisy room in a corridoor on the 3rd floor, outside a extreamly noisy night club, with singing till after midnight. The staff are unaccomodating with everything, and a total dissapointment. I would not recomend anyone to stay at this hotel - EVER.
Freddy Hecht
South Africa

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear Garygila,

I am very concerned about your comments and terrible sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience with us. We do however not have a nightclub within blocks of our location, the hotel does feature a wonderful Italian restaurant which services dinner until midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with a delicious Italian Restaurant at the bottom. It is located in the heart of Miami Beach, located on the famous Ocean Drive strip. The view of the ocean is right in front of your eyes and walking distance to all the restaurants, bars, shops and nightlife. I would reccomend this hotel especially to anyone. Thank you to all your staff for being so wonderful and helpful to me. See you next time. Joe

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear Triptwin2009,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Ocean and Miami Beach. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Right in the middle of South Beach. Lots of great places to eat and drink nearby and the beach is across the street within walking distance. If you want peace and quiet, this place is probably not the spot for you. But if you like to people watch and explore, Ocean Hotel is perfect. I went with my two kids, a teenager and an 8 year old and we had a blast. The restaurant downstairs has live music out on the patio every night, you can hear it from your room, but it stops about 11:00 pm.

I recommend renting Vespas to get around. We had two for four days and got to explore Collins, Lincoln street, the Venetian islands, and all up and down Ocean Dr. Call Kit at Roam Rentals.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
WhereToNext047,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ocean. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our restaurant, Mia Bella Roma, serves delicious Italian specialties and offers live entertainment on the weekends. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel is right where you want to be in the middle of South Beach. There's a little Italian restaurant in front of the hotel that plays live each night, which was an added bonus. The $12/day resort fee wasn't bad due to the fact you get clean beach towels everyday. GREAT hotel service! The only negatives were the loud dump truck and AC noises that consistantly run, but the hotel can't help that. In addition, the "continental breakfast" was simply coffee, slices of bread, and a couple bagels. Don't believe the picture on the website. There is no fruit or anything of that sort so plan on eating out for breakfast. All in all, this place was great and I would definitely recommend a person of all ages to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelGasser, General Manager at Hotel Ocean, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Dear WhereToNext047,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we truly value your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again here at Hotel Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean

Address: 1230 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with chic modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Miami Beach
Ocean Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.