We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of the Action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ocean to your Saves list
Hotel Ocean
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Center of the Action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of the south beach strip. I booked through Groupon, please note there is additional charges of $15 per night stay and the valet parking is $35. The room was spacious. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    135
    76
    58
    77
See reviews for
53
206
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would like to say after reading the negative reviews I was really nervous about my stay until I got there. Let me tell you something I loved everything about my stay. So much that I had to write this review. Valet was good upon arrival, Once inside the hotel Front Desk was a lil busy but well expected.Once Mercedes at the front desk caught her breath. She was very attentive and explain everything to us in a professional manner.I booked the wrong room and she was willing to put me in a balcony room the next day if the hotel was no longer booked up. Once checked in and we went to our room and we just loved it. We had the Junior Suite and it was a home away from home. I stayed in room 305 overlooking the courtyard. Now I was concern about the noise but once the bad started playing. I enjoyed the music. They were not that loud and they didn't even played continously all night Friday night. Saturday pretty much was the same pretaing to the music. Now if you don't want to hear to much noise keep your window close but I was able to fall asleep write through it. I read one review where they said the restaraunt downstairs try to persuade you to eat at their restaraunt. Thats a lie. They didn't bother us not one time. The breakfast was not a hot breakfast but they provided breakfast. It didn't bother me because I ate out. Valet parking was $35 plus tax a day but what do you expect to pay in Miami Beach. This is not the place to penny budget. This is a city where you do it big. Pay prices you would never normally pay. Thats exatcly what we did. We payed an additional $17 dollars a day for extra ammenties that they provided which I had no problem with. Sad part I didn't use anything I payed for. (lol) We was charge an additional refundable deposit of #20 dollars a day just in case you smoked inside the room.

CONS: My jets did not work in the tub but the shower made it up for it. Secluded and the water was good and hot just the way I like it
Oan the safe needs to be fix. Nothing major because I din't have any valuables to put in there anyway but on the business side it needs to be fix so that vistors who would like to use won
't have a problem

Other than that I love Miami and I would like to tahnk The Ocean Hotel for a wonderful stay and everlasting memories.

Shout out to Mercedes @ Front Desk you work well with the public.

Now for the BAD REVIEWER READERS. Don't believe everything you read because I almost missed out on a nice hotel. Not to much I got a great deal through Groupons for a lil over $100 a night. A great deal!! Just know I would be honored to stay at this location or any sister hotel they share. Thanks for making my early birthday gift memories I will never forget. STAYED July 11-13 2014 RM.305

Room Tip: before arrival call and ask for a room with less noise or wuteva your requirements are to make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked this through Groupon. I got the queen bed room in error. Was upgraded to junior suite with no questions asked. Yulima at the front desk was WONDERFUL. She was extremely nice and helped in many ways. The room was big, clean and nice. The bed was very comfortable. The music played until 12am but I didn't expect less since it is Ocean Drive on South Beach. It was a great atmosphere. It is DIRECTLY across the street from the beach. It was DIRECTLY in the middle of everything. The parking sucks but thats ALL of Miami Beach. We actually got to see Kevin Hart and Ice Cube up close and personal as they filmed "Ride Along 2". It was awesome. I will be back!

Room Tip: Junior Suite is big enough for more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed this past weekend after purchasing a groupon but then upgraded to the penthouse for my husband's bday. We got to the hotel 30mins before check in & the cleaning lady had not even started our room cause she thought it would be easier to wait for the linens that were late. NOPE!! We finally got into our room around 5pm. The only positive thing is the girl Mercedes who worked the front desk alway had a smile on her face & was a joy to work with. When we finally got into our room the room was not that clean that it should have taken an Hour to clean. But the room was beautiful & so were the views. Made everything worth wild! But would definitely stay again!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was booked in to stay from the 27th June to 4th of July and I am writing this review on the 1st. July from a different hotel!!!

I never write reviews as more often than not I have pleasant stays being a seasoned traveller and quite good at choosing hotels and reading between the lines on websites etc........

However, I could not bear to stay at this hotel one second longer due to the LOUD music coming from the bar/ restaurant directly below my room. EAR PLUGS did little or nothing to block out the music which played from 8.30am until 2 am at weekends and depending on demand midnight or 1 am during the week.

Staff were polite and very apologetic but what could they do. They did give me another room which I had to move all my baggage myself but it made no difference to the impact of the loud music on my stay.

Other issues I had were as follows:
1. Rooms resembled nothing that was promised on the website.....a few have been renovated and so you need to request one of those.....and even then the quality of finish etc is questionable!
2. You have use of a trolley to take your own luggage to your room
3. You have to carry your own beach towel and chair to the beach and you are charged for the privilege - $15(this does include the drinks and snacks at reception)! If you want to rent a sun bed and umbrella at the beach it costs $20 for bed and $15 for umbrella!
4. My room was not cleaned everyday as promised
5. Breakfast was not refreshed as the morning went on, so if you were breakfasting between 10 and 11am you could be certain to have rock hard bacon, congealed sausages and very dubiously dark colored scrambled eggs......eat early!
6. I requested an early check out giving two days notice and I still got charged for early check out which is outrageous given the experience I was expecting resembled nothing of what was promised and had sat and had a good conversation with the manageress about the unmet expectations!
Conclusion - YES to South Beach 100% NO to Hotel Ocean.

Room Tip: Do not waste money on an Ocean Front Room as these are the most noisy. Request one high up (not 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Bad rooms bad service,dont pay for the beach the gave us 2 broken chairs we dont have wifi in the rooms but we pay for that.they have one italian restaurant under the rooms an they play maxican music from 9 in the morning until 12 mednight.we are in the room now 20:36 and we can speak its sooo loud all day.the breakfast is terrible.dont ever come here go sleep in the beach if you visit south beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice and modern, but the blind was broken which I had to spend 15minutes fixing on the first night and the safe didn't work (they did fix it the next day).

Unfortunately there was a significant amount of noise at night. There was very loud music played right outside our room in the courtyard until past midnight on memorial day. Other nights it stopped at midnight but no chance of sleeping until then.

The breakfast was basic but OK. Most days I had scrambled eggs from the buffet, but on 1 day for no reason there was no hot breakfast so toast was all I had which was a bit disappointing.

The price was very good and one of the best beach front prices we could find.

Free bike rental was a major plus to have this included and it gave us great freedom to explore South Beach and go over the Venetian causeway to the American Airlines arena.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

We went to the hotels restaurant for a couple of drinks and a pizza to share. Pizza was very nice. However, we asked what happy hour was and were told by the waiter it meant all the cocktails on display were $15. We both had a cocktail but when the bill came I was charged $35 for mine. When I queried it i was told the waiter had made a mistake and it should have been all cocktails except the one i had were $15. Even though it was the waiters mistake the best they could do was take $5 off the bill and the service charge was already included so I couldn't even amend that. Disappointed to be told one price and charged another and charged service automatically as well. Be careful if you eat or drink here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean

Address: 1230 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with chic modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Miami Beach
Ocean Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.