We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Conveniently Located, Don't use their parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added National Hotel Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
National Hotel Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Conveniently Located, Don't use their parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice hotel, one block from Lincoln Road, right on the beach. It has a nice little pool area, with lots of shade. Rooms are a bit small, but clean and well maintained. Very convenient to not have to drive to go out for dinner, since you can just walk down Lincoln Road.

Don't use their valet parking. Their is a city garage on 16th and Collins. $16/day vs. $40.

Resort fee gets you wifi, pool and beach chairs (but not beach umbrellas, those are extra)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed at the National hotel in August. The hotel was very nice as were the ocean views. The pool was so relaxing and there were many small areas to relax in. However, the other reviews hold true, there are not many shady areas near the pool and the "good spots" are taken early. Also towels are far and few between. The front staff in not very friendly, which was a turn off and they nickel and dime you at every turn, That being said, Richard the concierge was a gentleman and very delightful to deal with. The location is close to Lincoln road and other fine attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have traveled to Miami three times and I will have to say this was probably the best hotel I stayed at. What made it best is the location. It within walking distance from Lincoln St (where all the shopping) and Ocean Dr (where the bars and restaurant are). The hotel is right off the beach and that's a plus. The hotel pool even though I didn't get in was nice. We ate breakfast at the restaurant inside the hotel and like everything in Miami it was pricey. But it was good. Rooms were a nice size and the decor was nice too. I would have to complain about the housekeeping. We had to call several times to get our room clean. But other then that I would stay here again and recommend it to others

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights pre cruise in late May. This was our 4th visit to Miami and we've finally found a hotel worth returning to. We just loved the chilled out vibe in this hotel, the staff are helpful and attentive and seem genuinely happy to be there! The pools are fab and access to the beach is conveniently via a gate at the rear. The buffet breakfast was great too! I've recommended this hotel to several friends since returning home.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great time at the National Hotel. Beautiful pool, beautiful beach facilities, the rooms are nice and clean. The location is perfect (on the beach, close to Lincoln Road) and I get a very good bargain. The staff is very kind.
I had a great time at the National hotel in June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is well located on Collins & 17 st. It also opens onto the beach where u have a reserved lounge everyday. Top pool area, short walk to Lincoln rd mall and other shops. It is a renovated Art Deco (1939) , is a little cheaper than some of the newer fancy hotels and the service in all areas is excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful & efficient.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Art Deco hotel, beautifully styled but let down by service. Rooms in the main building are small but very nicely decorated. Bathrooms small but fully functioning. It could be fantastic. But, we found a constant lack of beach towels so much so we ended up with some delivered to our room (which were then taken by housekeeping). Shortage the of towels by the pool (just silly there were plenty at the hotel). Food service at the pool erratic, great if you wanted a bog standard item from the menu, terrible if you needed to amend for allergies or a fussy child. Some staff went beyond what was expected other couldn't be bothered to do their job. Too random for me. Lovely pool, good location. Such a shame we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to National Hotel Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Miami Beach

Address: 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Miami Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in South Beach's celebrated Art Deco neighborhood, our oceanfront resort evokes cinematic elegance, boasting 116 newly designed city and direct ocean view guestrooms in our Historic Tower, and 36 luxurious cabanas and suites, skirted alongside native tropical palm trees and the city's longest infinity-edge pool. Fully restored in 2014, the hotel was recognized by "Historic Hotels of America" for maintaining its architectural authenticity while bringing subtle and sophisticated elements of contemporary design for the discerning traveler. The National Hotel's Tamara Bistro, among other unique onsite venues, offers old Gatsby glamor with New World fusion cuisine. We invite you to visit Miami Beach's 30s and 40s classic era of grace, elegance and style at the National Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your National Hotel Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Hotel Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.