We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long date night ;-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long date night ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

As locals, we avoid drinking and driving. Decided to stay here over night to hit a concert and party sobe style. Wish we stayed longer!! Staff is awesome. Rooms are cozy and wicked high tech. Love rap and met Pharrell Williams and Pusha T on way to the club. Epic night- we'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    29
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
81
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great boutique hotel.The staff are extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to help in particular the hotel manager. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and everything is worked with an I pad. The location is great walking distance from shops, beach, lincoln road etc. The only thing I could say was due to the restaurant being closed you were not able to have breakfast which would have been good as it is such a nice place to be. This was not a problem as there is so many places to go close by. I will definetly be back and recommend to family nd friends .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having stayed 3 times at the Marlin, the only complaint I have is that they just closed the restaurant and the bar, so you have to exit to get breakfast outside... The rooms are large and comfy, bathrooms so roomy and welcoming, your IPad will open the curtains, turn the room into a feast of soft colored lights, or just find that show you do not want to miss on a very large TV screen... The receptionist is a charming woman who always remembers your name. When you get all that, do you really need a pool? Go to the beach! Or go to work, like me, and enjoy staying there, in a king size bed with fine linen... I like the Marlin Hotel, I am a fan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a modern, trendy boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach. It is conveniently located with access to all that SoBe has to offer: beach, restaurants, shopping, and night life. Upon arrival, I was warmly greeted by the staff. (They also kept my driver's license safe after I had forgotten to retrieve it after check-in.) Once registered I was given an iPad and that's when my challenge began! Although I eventually learned the commands needed, it was a bit daunting for a tech-novice like myself. However, once mastered, the iPad controls are fun - you can change the lighting in the room and not just brightness; colors too! The shower is large and provides jets to every part of the body - you will be clean! The bed and pillows are very comfortable and the towels are soft. One thing - when I stayed at the hotel, there was construction on the streets right in front of the hotel. It doesn't impede walking and entering, but it was a bit noisy (although not in the room). Overall, I would definitely stay in this hotel, now that I have mastered the iPad controls!

Room Tip: While I cannot verify this, the rooms toward the back and away from street may be quieter. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We've been to Miami Beach for just two nights on our Florida round trip. The Marlin Hotel was a real highlight. It's a wonderful small, modern design hotel just one block from the beach. The rooms are so awesome. There is a wonderful bath with an extremely large rainforest shower. The main room puts its focus on the 60" TV with external sound system. In front of the TV is a huge sofa where two people find enough space to chill. In front of the sofa there is a big desk to work on. With a bit space in between you find the big wonderful king bed. Everything is controlled by an ipad (curtons, light color schemes, entertainment system). If you are not searching a traditional large hotel complex but a cosy, trendy, young hotel with a gorgeous lady at the front desk also assisting with printouts you are right at the wonderful Marlin Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was very impressed by the room (super modern, all controlled by an ipad, the mirror hides a tv, nice stuff in the fridge,...) and the housekeeping was perfect. But at our second night (friday) I was really annoyed.... Room neighbors were playing loud music all night long... A kind of a party... Also, no beach stuff... Except for some towels in a bag... Many hotels around offer chairs and umbrellas on the sand...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

It is worth noting that the Marlin hotel accommodates a recording studio and last night I had a chance to have a front row bed to the ongoing recording. It went on until 5 am despite my complaining to the front desk during the middle of the night. The staff were very rude to me and asked what I wanted them to do about it despite the blaring sound coming from the first floor. The whole building vibrated to the sound of the bases. Paying over $300 for being prevented to sleep is not what I had in mind when I booked my room. A sound (ha ha ha) recommendation: Avoid this hotel like the plague!

Room Tip: Do not stay there, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Hotel
#21 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Impala Hotel
#18 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Dream South Beach
#55 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel about being heard, not just seen. 15 beautiful rooms located in the heart of South Beach for those who seek a unique experience unlike any other. Located just steps from the beach, The Marlin Hotels represents an enduring architectural landmark from the formative years of Miami Beach. It's impressive interiors and facade truly make it an Art Deco Masterpiece. Built in 1939 by famed architect Laurence Murray Dixon, The Marlin Hotel is truly one of the premier examples of Art Deco grandeur built around that era. Completely restored and re-envisioned, The Marlin Hotel offers 15 unique Rooms, each with with full post-production capability and a complement of custom in-room amenities. Each room is equipped with a personalized iPad that controls all room features such as music, lightning, drapes and TV. - Docking station for all personal devices - Innovative 60 inch screen LED concealed behind a mirror - Apple TV with pre-loaded media library - LED mood lighting - Complimentary and FREE 10 MBPS wireless Internet - Tannoy Surround system and Subwoofer in each room - 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linen - Custom Frette bathrobes - Luxurious King bed and Queen day bed sofa in each room - Large and lofty pillows - Rainfall shower with sumptuous Bigelow products - Spacious Closets in each room The Marlin Hotel is also home to the renowned South Beach Studios, a recording facility that prides itself on catering to the artist at all times, from new talents such as Pharrell Williams, Gwen Stefani and Kanye West, to legends as the same Stevie Wonder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.