We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The marlin is a very cool hotel in an awesome location. Loved the staff, loved the technology in the rooms (the tv in the mirror was great!) only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom sliding door wouldn't shut all the way (no privacy in the bathroom) and the lobby always smelled musty, and our travel buddies room key kept not working. As an added bonus having Tiesto in the room next to us was pretty fun. Would totally go back in hopes that the bathroom door would close this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
74
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful "Gem" of a Hotel in Miami, and wish we could have stayed longer! it is perfectly situated for shopping, eating, the beach, or simply sitting back with a cocktail and watching it all happen. The Kids loved the modern, spacious rooms. My husband enjoyed the well stocked bar skillfully manned by friendly staff. I loved the beautiful chandelier and attention to music and lighting. It was however the efforts entire staff.... most noticeably, Jeff , that will ensure our return to this home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

we spent 2 nights including new years eve at this lovely place. Jeff, the hotel concierge was most helpful.
Hip, cool modern environment, room controls by ipad very cool and the service was great!!! Our children loved the technology. Jeff took us on the tour of a recording studio because so many musicians came here to record!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koror, Palau
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the Marlin with my Girlfriend for a weekend getaway. We had a great time, and the hotel has gotten a lot of things right. For starters the building itself has a great Art Deco look, and is small enough to have a relaxed almost guest lodge like vibe. I loved the decor and the lighting of the hotel, and enjoyed the in room art work. The location is great. Most impressibely they have also done a great job with the in room technology, having all the lights, tvs, music, shades, and A/C in the rooms hooked up to an ipad that they give you when you check in. The staff is friendly and helpful, and gave me some genuinely good hole in the wall restaurant and bar recomendations (having lived in Miami before I was half expecting them to tell me to try and get food somewhere on Lincoln road).

The Marlin does a lot of things right, which made it incredibly frustrating at the silly little things they get wrong. Things like leaving one bar of soap in the room (for the shower or the sink?) having a sliding bathroom door that doesn't fully close, shower knob that pops off, no tissues in the room, etc. Yet all these things are pretty minor and easily fixed.

All in all if you're looking for a nice getaway the Marlin is a solid choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very recommendable hotel. Perfectly located next to great restaurants and the Webster. Friendly and professional staff, Alex and Daniela are very helpful. Big, comfortable and pleasant rooms. Children friendly. Won't be disappointed by this boutique gem!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Sometimes you wonder what to expect with a 5 start hotel. You expect angels falling from the sky and service you can't imagine. But even at 5 start hotels I stayed at across the country I never had that experience till now ! I was amazed how an authentic art deco building in Miami could give you such an experience. Everything you imagine in a city like Miami. The moment you walk in, you meet Alex behind his desk. Alex is not just your host but a friend within 15 min. Amazing how he can make you feel so welcome. He lived in Miami his whole life and learns you more about all the trendy spots then you can google in your vacation. The hotel location is in walking distance from all the hot spots and at the same time quit located so you don't get overwhelmed. With easy parking across the street. On purpose I am not going to tell anything about the rooms since that has to stay a surprise till you walk in. But I can tell you its like walking into your own Steve Jobs bedroom ! The hotel is also a recording studio... So maybe just like us you encounter some famous people in the morning when they were just there all night working ;) Enjoy Miami how it supposed to be ! Thanks again to the Marlin Hotel team. Roel Vanmusyen ps: I stayed there October 26 2013

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After much research online, we booked the Marlin for a fun weekend getaway with another couple. Although we were really looking forward to our stay, the manager at the Marlin could not have treated us worse.

We were told upon arrival only 1 of the 2 rooms were available. The other one had been trashed by a guest the previous night. The front desk clerk offered to relocate one couple to another hotel, at the same cost. We appreciated the offer however quickly realized the hotel we were being relocated to was a 1-star property, nowhere near the standard or price we paid for the Marlin.

The manager proceeded to argue with us for an hour on the phone (not even having the decency to come to see us) and said it was the 'best he could do'. He claimed the Marlin's going rate was $399 so we offered him to relocate both couples to another hotel for $249. We even told him he could still sell the room we were walking away from AND relocate us without losing anything!
He refused persistently arguing that the hotel he was offering was fair. He said he couldn't help us further and he was kicking us out of his hotel. RUDE. UNREASONABLE. UNACCOMMODATING.

After finally calling hotels.com to let them know of our situation, they had to call the manager and push him to relocate us. Despite wasting our time and not even giving us notice of the room issue, he refused to apologize. I'm not sure how he would expect guests to react but it was clear he was hustling for a deal and was not in the least worried about our experience.

Despite the manager being a total jerk, the front desk agent was a gem! He was kind enough to help us relocate and apologized profusely. Marlin is lucky to have him.

We ended up staying at the Kimpton Surfcomber. A GREAT hotel with a POOL and a reach beach and a decent manager....

I would highly discourage anyone from staying here. Even if you get your room, who knows what this manager may throw at you just to make a buck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at The Marlin Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

As the general manager of The Marlin Hotel, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you and your friends experienced upon arriving to our hotel. After speaking to our hotel employees about your situation, your expectation of a hotel should have been met. Jeff (our front desk agent) explained and understood you and your friends wanting to be together. We tried our best to meet your needs related to the amount to be paid rather than a hotel rating. Given these situations, a hotel is responsible for finding a solution and a proper accommodation for the confirmed hotel guest. Unfortunately, in your case Expedia did not inform us of you booking a party of 2 rooms which led to a bigger problem for both you and our hotel. Alex, whom was not on property when you arrived to The Marlin, assisted in every way he could to make it possible for you and your friends to move to the Surfcomber as you requested. Even though we did have your second room confirmed and guaranteed as expected, we still were able to accommodate and pay in full for both rooms at the Surfcomber. In other cases, Expedia would refund for your room and then you would book on your own. At the same time, Alex was able to meet your expectation and more by being able to offer a hotel with multiple amenities which the Marlin would not have been able to provide for the price you were paying and instead, have the Surfcomber help the best way possible after comparing our property with theirs. I sincerely hope you decide to come back and experience the Marlin the way many other others have, with exemplary service and all the overall unique experience of our hotel.

Best regards,

Walid Sfeir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel about being heard, not just seen. 15 beautiful rooms located in the heart of South Beach for those who seek a unique experience unlike any other. Located just steps from the beach, The Marlin Hotels represents an enduring architectural landmark from the formative years of Miami Beach. It's impressive interiors and facade truly make it an Art Deco Masterpiece. Built in 1939 by famed architect Laurence Murray Dixon, The Marlin Hotel is truly one of the premier examples of Art Deco grandeur built around that era. Completely restored and re-envisioned, The Marlin Hotel offers 15 unique Rooms, each with with full post-production capability and a complement of custom in-room amenities. Each room is equipped with a personalized iPad that controls all room features such as music, lightning, drapes and TV. - Docking station for all personal devices - Innovative 60 inch screen LED concealed behind a mirror - Apple TV with pre-loaded media library - LED mood lighting - Complimentary and FREE 10 MBPS wireless Internet - Tannoy Surround system and Subwoofer in each room - 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linen - Custom Frette bathrobes - Luxurious King bed and Queen day bed sofa in each room - Large and lofty pillows - Rainfall shower with sumptuous Bigelow products - Spacious Closets in each room The Marlin Hotel is also home to the renowned South Beach Studios, a recording facility that prides itself on catering to the artist at all times, from new talents such as Pharrell Williams, Gwen Stefani and Kanye West, to legends as the same Stevie Wonder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.