We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Totally exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Marlin Hotel and it totally exceeded our expectations. In terms of value for money I'd give it 10/10. It doesn't have a pool but it's walking distance to the beach and to the main restaurant areas and for the quality of the hotel its very reasonably priced for Miami.

As soon as you check-in, you are given an IPad that controls everything in the room from lighting, to the blinds to the TV You can even set several different "vibes." We booked the standard double room which was small but comfortable. The hotel is very modern and has a very "young and hip" feel to it.

The staff were so helpful. We have traveled around the world and have never experienced such personalized customer service. Alex sat down with us for ages recommending restaurants and places to go to. We were so happy we booked to stay at this hotel, I couldn't recommend it more. It's perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
72
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel us beautiful .We have stayed at nice hotels before but the service here is exceptional. Jeff and Alex catered to our every need and were very helpful in assisting us on places to go and things to do. They were very warm and friendly. The hotel is very artsy and everything is controlled with an ipad. The curtains even open with the ipad. The bathroom are clean and the shower head in the roof which was different.I will highly recommend this hotel. It was not a s expensive as the other we looked at but well worth it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at the Marlin Hotel for 5 days at the end of August 2013.

My friends and I were surprised by the quality of the room. It was well designed and modern. The ro room was huge, with a big comfortable double bed and a nice sofa (used as a bed) next to a big screen. We also liked the clean bathroom with an enjoyable rain shower and the fact everything is remotely managed with an iPad (lights, tv, curtains, ...).

Since it wasn't the high season in Miami, the restaurant/bar of the hotel wasn't open, though, it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to the center of Ocean Drive and all its bars.

We appreciated the good advices of Jeff and the fact we could communicate in french with him.

If I come back to Miami, I will most certainly book this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was straight out of the Art Deco era.......obviously recently renovated. Decor is very modern, room was very nice, extremely high tech, bedding was very comfy. Everything was clean, as you would expect. The lobby area and patio out front have lots of tables and chairs.......like it should have a restaurant and bar, but there is none at this time. When i arrived i realized that collins ave is undergoing some construction, so there is no valet or parking available, nor was there a bellman or luggage cart. So i paid $30 for overnight parking at the attended lot across the street, carried my luggage across the street and up the front steps of the hotel, where i had to wait for the "front desk" person to press the button that remotely unlocked the front door to allow me in. (does that tell you anything??) There was a mini bar in the room, and some small bottles of alcohol ready to get the party started. I think this place has many of the correct elements going for it, but its just not at 100%........personally i assume that a facility in this location and price range would have more staff on hand to help arriving and departing guests deal with parking and luggage. lack of restaurant was not an issue for me on this visit, but if i was there with family, or staying longer it would have been an issue. If this review helps your planning, please leave me a helpful vote.........ENJOY

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing getaway at the boutique hotel. The manager Daniella was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was modern and very high tech. To use an iPad for all controls was a first for us. The location couldn't be better, 1 block off of ocean drive. From going to the beach, Lincoln road, ocean drive for dinner and people watching, we couldn't be happier to the point we extended our stay.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When I booked the hotel it was advertised as having a restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service on both the booking site and the hotel website. Now having stayed I can tell you there is no restaurant or bar. I haven't used the 24 hour room service but without any facilities I didn't see the point. I did call room service at about 8 one evening for a corkscrew which I believe should have been present in the room and was astonished to find they couldn't provide one, I had to go out and find a liquor store to purchase one myself. Don't get me wrong it's not all bad, Alex gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and gave us some very good advice on the area. I just feel the whole 60" TV with limited cable and iPad controls are mere gimmicks and the hotel lacks in fundamental areas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great 3-night stay at the Marlin Hotel. The only thing missing was an on-site restaurant and bar.
The rooms exceeded our expectations. Our party had a king suite and standard queen. The king suite is a splurge, but exceeds the expectations with tons of space, seating and even a walk-in closet. The standard room is also surprisingly roomy for South Beach. All the rooms are outfitted with mood lighting and entertainment systems controlled via i-pad.
And of course, the staff was the icing on the cake. Jeff, who greeted us and orchestrated our check-in, was very warm and professional. And Damien had excellent recommendations and was very responsive to our requests. The front desk was always manned and all the staff seemed to take pride in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel about being heard, not just seen. 15 beautiful rooms located in the heart of South Beach for those who seek a unique experience unlike any other. Located just steps from the beach, The Marlin Hotels represents an enduring architectural landmark from the formative years of Miami Beach. It's impressive interiors and facade truly make it an Art Deco Masterpiece. Built in 1939 by famed architect Laurence Murray Dixon, The Marlin Hotel is truly one of the premier examples of Art Deco grandeur built around that era. Completely restored and re-envisioned, The Marlin Hotel offers 15 unique Rooms, each with with full post-production capability and a complement of custom in-room amenities. Each room is equipped with a personalized iPad that controls all room features such as music, lightning, drapes and TV. - Docking station for all personal devices - Innovative 60 inch screen LED concealed behind a mirror - Apple TV with pre-loaded media library - LED mood lighting - Complimentary and FREE 10 MBPS wireless Internet - Tannoy Surround system and Subwoofer in each room - 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linen - Custom Frette bathrobes - Luxurious King bed and Queen day bed sofa in each room - Large and lofty pillows - Rainfall shower with sumptuous Bigelow products - Spacious Closets in each room The Marlin Hotel is also home to the renowned South Beach Studios, a recording facility that prides itself on catering to the artist at all times, from new talents such as Pharrell Williams, Gwen Stefani and Kanye West, to legends as the same Stevie Wonder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.