We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience at The Marlin Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
District Heights, Maryland
1 review
“An amazing experience at The Marlin Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner and I travel to South Beach every year and we usually stay in a hotel on Ocean and 14th. This year, we decided we were going to try something different and get away from Ocean Dr. Well I have to say, we were thoroughly impressed with the Marlin. When we arrived, we were greeted by Daniela who is AH-MAZING. Once I gave her my name, she immediately remembered me calling in to make my reservation, a month earlier. She was extremely helpful, courteous, and accommodating during our ENTIRE stay. The lobby was very nice, the furniture almost made it feel as though we were walking into a beautiful mini mansion. Once we were shown to our room, Daniela explained AND demonstrated all of the amenities of room. The blackout shades, lights (including 6 color lighting adjustment), TV, room temperature, and iPod dock is all controlled by the room's iPad. The bed was king size and PLUSH; we had no issues falling asleep. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was gorgeous. There is a rain shower head and a handheld shower head to chose from, plus the colored lighting is also in the bathroom (you haven't showered until you've showered in blue lights! LOL). We had a Studio B on the 3rd floor; it was perfect for two people (friends or a couple) but could easily accommodate 3 people total because of the spacious couch. The TV is inside a mirror, which was amazing to look at. The room is beautiful, the hotel is beautiful, and the staff is VERY good, they cleaned the room thoroughly and quickly. Our sheets, towels, and beach towels were changed every single day (which isn’t always the case in other Miami hotels). The only thing we would have changed about the hotel is, we had to request the iron and ironing board to be delivered to our room anytime we needed it. HOWEVER, they were always delivered within minutes and we were informed that the iron/iron boards would be standard in all rooms very soon. We will WITHOUT A DOUBT be back for our 2014 South Beach vacation.

Room Tip: Studio B 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
63
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days while in Miami on business. The staff were super friendly and responsive to my questions about the area. The rooms are awesome! Nice amount of space, the bathroom shower is to die for! I loved the iPad controls and the huge TV. Bed was very comfortable. The staff ...Alex, Damien and Daniella all made great recommendations for local eating. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor, no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent five fabulous nights at the Marlin and were very happy with our decision. Perfect location, just a block from what I consider to be the coolest part of South Beach. Lots of good bars nearby and the staff made some great recommendations for dinner. The rooms were great, I love the iPad controls and the funky lights. everything worked perfectly and it was remarkably spaciuous (we chose the largest room option). My only grumbles are that it is obvious this hotel is not being properly managed. At check in we were told there was no record of our reservation. Thankfully I could produce copies of confirmation emails (I had booked directly with the hotel, yet they lost my reservation)! We were luckly there just happened to be availability. Then we were double charged as I had already paid for the room when i made the initial reservation. This was not a great start to our holiday.

Also I found it disappointing that tehy advertise a restaurant and even put a menu on their website when it's obvious that restaurant has never been open and is unlikely to be in the near future. Same thing with regards to the bar. It's such as shame as it would have been good to chill downstairs by the bar before going out but the bar has never been open either.

Very cool hotel, lots of potential but definitely not there yet. Oh, make sure you go to Spiga next door if you like good Italian food - it was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I waant to mention one special employee who was amazing.His name is D Haye. He the night manager at the Marlin Hotel. @ first when i first met him he had alot of questions for me. i checked in the hotel @ 7 30 pm and he wasnt there . Me and my friends went out that first night and came back late after midnight and his shift has began. After i told him that we me and my friends staying here then he welcomed us showed us around the hotel . i didint mind all the questions he had because he has never seen me before and was doing his job i totally understood that. through out the whole trip he helped me and my friends out. He is not only professional but really nice guy. He best one to do the job he working right now.i learned some good lessons from him.

Now when we first me and my friends checke in we were welcome by Alex. He took our luggae out the car, open the door for us and checked us in. it was a verry easy and simple process. we had a rental so we asked him about parking . he gave us 3 different options. we decided to go with vallet parking which was about $32.00 per day. Only thing i didint like about that was that it takes them 15 mins to bring the car back to hotel bc they park it far. you have to gives them a heads before you want your car. the room was amazing. I loved the decor, size, specially the ipad which controlled everything in the room from blinds to lights to ac to art to mood.there room cleaning service was amazing, they did good job. every time i came back to my room it was clean and they even folded my laundry that i left on the floor. the negative was that this had no pool, no spa, no views . but i would def go back to Marlin hotel when i go back to miami next time.over all i would give this hotel 9/10.I would like to thank everyone there for welcoming me there and treating me and my friends like a vip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wonderful staff, specifically Daniella, Jeff, Alex, and Dameon!!! There was only one guy I didn't bother to ask his name because he didn't bother to do ANYTHING on shift right before Dameon. The other people I named at the front desk were AMAZING! Stayed here for three days, ipad controls everything in the room, love the bed love the glass showers and bathroom, love the tv in the mirror, the soundproof rooms!!! You could have a party in your room and no one would even know. No car needed you are 5mins from the beach and anything you need. All of the food in the area is great! Awesome weather! The front door to the hotel does require a code which I LIKED because of the small percentage of people walking around miami either tripping out or drunk they like to walk around in stores and restaurants so it made me feel a lot safer. I would not recommend this place for children or boring people looking for peace and quiet, actually I would not recommend Miami in general. It is called the party town for a reason everything is open for 24hrs awesome for a girls trip, bachelor/bachelorette party or couples looking to relight that flame! Enjoy! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights in late Feb for South Beach Food Wine. Nice simple quiet retro hotel two blocks to ocean. Close to night life restaurants beach shopping and everything needed for a South Beach romantic getaway. If you are bringing the kids this is not the place for you. Try the lowes or ritz. Techno stuff others talk about is cool when it works but that was rare during our stay. Valet was also a little difficult as the hotel has to call them to pickup or deliver the car and there is rarely parking out front while waiting. Overall nice spot.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious but without quality; the mirrorfFlat TV is the only very nice thing inside;
we had a room very noisy for the airco machine(we could'nt sleep), we asked to change room
without success and so we left the hotel the second day;
no bar inside the hotel, small reception on the second floor;no breakfast;
we expected another thing than the one we had; it's apity because the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel about being heard, not just seen. 15 beautiful rooms located in the heart of South Beach for those who seek a unique experience unlike any other. Located just steps from the beach, The Marlin Hotels represents an enduring architectural landmark from the formative years of Miami Beach. It's impressive interiors and facade truly make it an Art Deco Masterpiece. Built in 1939 by famed architect Laurence Murray Dixon, The Marlin Hotel is truly one of the premier examples of Art Deco grandeur built around that era. Completely restored and re-envisioned, The Marlin Hotel offers 15 unique Rooms, each with with full post-production capability and a complement of custom in-room amenities. Each room is equipped with a personalized iPad that controls all room features such as music, lightning, drapes and TV. - Docking station for all personal devices - Innovative 60 inch screen LED concealed behind a mirror - Apple TV with pre-loaded media library - LED mood lighting - Complimentary and FREE 10 MBPS wireless Internet - Tannoy Surround system and Subwoofer in each room - 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linen - Custom Frette bathrobes - Luxurious King bed and Queen day bed sofa in each room - Large and lofty pillows - Rainfall shower with sumptuous Bigelow products - Spacious Closets in each room The Marlin Hotel is also home to the renowned South Beach Studios, a recording facility that prides itself on catering to the artist at all times, from new talents such as Pharrell Williams, Gwen Stefani and Kanye West, to legends as the same Stevie Wonder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.