We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Summer Vaction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“Mini Summer Vaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I waant to mention one special employee who was amazing.His name is D Haye. He the night manager at the Marlin Hotel. @ first when i first met him he had alot of questions for me. i checked in the hotel @ 7 30 pm and he wasnt there . Me and my friends went out that first night and came back late after midnight and his shift has began. After i told him that we me and my friends staying here then he welcomed us showed us around the hotel . i didint mind all the questions he had because he has never seen me before and was doing his job i totally understood that. through out the whole trip he helped me and my friends out. He is not only professional but really nice guy. He best one to do the job he working right now.i learned some good lessons from him.

Now when we first me and my friends checke in we were welcome by Alex. He took our luggae out the car, open the door for us and checked us in. it was a verry easy and simple process. we had a rental so we asked him about parking . he gave us 3 different options. we decided to go with vallet parking which was about $32.00 per day. Only thing i didint like about that was that it takes them 15 mins to bring the car back to hotel bc they park it far. you have to gives them a heads before you want your car. the room was amazing. I loved the decor, size, specially the ipad which controlled everything in the room from blinds to lights to ac to art to mood.there room cleaning service was amazing, they did good job. every time i came back to my room it was clean and they even folded my laundry that i left on the floor. the negative was that this had no pool, no spa, no views . but i would def go back to Marlin hotel when i go back to miami next time.over all i would give this hotel 9/10.I would like to thank everyone there for welcoming me there and treating me and my friends like a vip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    22
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wonderful staff, specifically Daniella, Jeff, Alex, and Dameon!!! There was only one guy I didn't bother to ask his name because he didn't bother to do ANYTHING on shift right before Dameon. The other people I named at the front desk were AMAZING! Stayed here for three days, ipad controls everything in the room, love the bed love the glass showers and bathroom, love the tv in the mirror, the soundproof rooms!!! You could have a party in your room and no one would even know. No car needed you are 5mins from the beach and anything you need. All of the food in the area is great! Awesome weather! The front door to the hotel does require a code which I LIKED because of the small percentage of people walking around miami either tripping out or drunk they like to walk around in stores and restaurants so it made me feel a lot safer. I would not recommend this place for children or boring people looking for peace and quiet, actually I would not recommend Miami in general. It is called the party town for a reason everything is open for 24hrs awesome for a girls trip, bachelor/bachelorette party or couples looking to relight that flame! Enjoy! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights in late Feb for South Beach Food Wine. Nice simple quiet retro hotel two blocks to ocean. Close to night life restaurants beach shopping and everything needed for a South Beach romantic getaway. If you are bringing the kids this is not the place for you. Try the lowes or ritz. Techno stuff others talk about is cool when it works but that was rare during our stay. Valet was also a little difficult as the hotel has to call them to pickup or deliver the car and there is rarely parking out front while waiting. Overall nice spot.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious but without quality; the mirrorfFlat TV is the only very nice thing inside;
we had a room very noisy for the airco machine(we could'nt sleep), we asked to change room
without success and so we left the hotel the second day;
no bar inside the hotel, small reception on the second floor;no breakfast;
we expected another thing than the one we had; it's apity because the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were a little concerned the moment we arrived at the Marlin (after travelling for over 14 hours) when we couldn't get in through the front door. You need a key code (nobody told us) and with Reception on the first floor, it took almost 5 minutes before somebody came and let us in.
Our room was a small, funky,standard double. The iPad controls almost everything (except our LED mood lighting didn't function at all). The room safe also didn't function. The faults were reported, but nothing was done about them until the morning of our departure, some 3 days later.
We booked 'Room Only' but had been enticed by the dinner menu that appears on the hotel's own website - EXCEPT the restaurant wasn't open (and didn't look as though it had been for some while). We were quite disappointed and felt we had been misled by the information on the website. Also, during our visit, the bar located on the Ground Floor was bare and closed.
The location is great - just a short walk away from the lively Ocean Drive, and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner. That is probably the one thing that the Marlin has going for it.
The room was clean and comfortable - and that's about all you can say about this place. I was left with a feeling that the hotel is being run as somebody's hobby and not their business. The staff are friendly enough, but it needs a good manager to whip them into shape.
We certainly wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at the Marlin hotel for 4 nights in April and loved the design and concept of the hotel. The iPad controlled lights, tv, curtains and air con is a great touch and really adds to the enjoyment of the stay. The design is very funky and the rooms are all suites with king beds and sofa beds allowing lots of room for a Miami Hotel. The hotel is only a block from the beach providing a fantastic location. Beach bags provided is a great touch and complimentry wifi was a good bonus too. There were a couple of minor problems while we were there but overall not enough to take back from a lovely stay. When we arrived the hotel reception is on the 2nd floor and the door from the street is locked. The intercom had broken so we had to wait until someone came out of the door to access the hotel. We then asked about parking and were offered the valet service at $29 a night. I wasn't awate that parking was so expensive but that may just be my naivity and not reading the website clearly. The first night we were there we were woken at 4am by noise from the studio on the ground floor that was really loud. We complained to reception but were told that since the recording studio isn't owned by the hotel there wasn't much they could do. They did move us to another room on a higher floor and offered us a discount but the room wasn't quite as big/good as the first room. After the switch however we did sleep like a dream every night. The bathroom door in the room didn't close properly as it was a sliding door so would roll open each time you used it. This didn't bother me so much but was annoying whenever you tried to use the toilet. We did inform reception but were told that it would be too big a job to fix while we were there so they would have to wait until the room was empty to fix it. I agree with some of the other notes that other reviewers have picked up on like absence of tea/coffee facilities being annoying and also the difficult working the lights in the night if you wanted to get up to use the bathroom or get a drink but overall these were only minor complaints. I did really enjoy the hotel and vibe but I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor as it's further away from the studio (however I did this based o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The Marlin Hotel is really a unique, lovely place in South Beach.
Rooms are amazing, even if smaller ones do not have room to store luggages nor suits or shoes.
All of them, nonetheless, have a super cool system for lights, music, etc that you can control with an iPad.
Service is friendly though professional and they try their best to fulfill guests' requests.
There is no microwave nor kettle in the rooms, but ask for hot water and they'll provide for you.
Sleeping is not always so easy, earplugs help a lot!
No breakfast is available in the hotel, but there are many cafè around and a Jamaican restaurant should be opening soon, as well as a bar, in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Marlin Hotel a place to be heard ,not just seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.