We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Mt. Pleasant
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Coolest hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I had an incredible stay (although much too short) at the Marlin this past week. Alex welcomed us at check-in and gave us some great dining suggestions and a lucky parking tip! We were given our own room iPad which was the coolest thing we've ever seen at a hotel. It controlled everything from the TV to the lighting to the drapes. It even had different mood settings for the room. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom and shower. Everything was white, sleek and modern and the TV behind the mirror on the wall was awesome! Alex told us we wouldn't want to leave the room once we got in and he was right! The bed was also super comfy! The location was ideal and was within walking distance to the beaches, restaurants and great shopping. This is an awesome boutique hotel and we would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in Studio B and it was a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    22
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
56
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A wonderful place in this wonderful part of Miami. It was a good and peaceful sanctuary, for when you are visiting the rest of Miami. The rooms are perfect and complete,Staff was very hospitality. This year I'm coming bach, when i'm going to party at the Ultra Music Festival again. love this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed one night at the Marlin February 4th. I have top tier status at starwood properties and could have easily gone to the W but dcided to try one of SOBE's boutique gems.
I'm told this was the first such property in SOBE, originally started by the guy who owned Island records. There's still a recording studio on the property so the music connection continues.
The location is hard to beat as the Marlin sits on a quiet corner of Collins but still close enough to any action you would want.
The rooms are high tech wizardry.
Everything is controlled by an ipad they give you at check in, from lights to TV to Ipod docking stations. A little difficult to figure out at first but fun once it clicks.
The room we had was spacious enough , but I wouldnt class it as spectacular.
Quite sleek but comfortable.
The only quible was the shower which wasnt particularily powerful though I'd say I'm more partial to most to being pinned to the wall by the water pressure.
The hotel vibe is very laid back..... If you arrive in the afternoon you may find the door is locked (You get a code when you check in to come and go). We waited for about 10 minutes for someone to let us in.
The problem may be for someone in a hurry.
Checking out proved equally laid back as it took about 15 minutes to find someone..........
In the context of our stay, these are minor quibles.
The key to the place is the staff.
I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my time and they've tended to be of the big corporate variety, so the friendliness of the Marlin really struck me.
The GM ( Alex?) was super nice, and wasnt too busy to chat and drink with us in the bar.
Which brings me to the bar....
The bartender is how should can i put this...?
Awesome.
Yes awesome pretty much sums it up.
Hailing orignially from Sao Paulo his drinks are an exercise in creativity with true Brazilian flair.
Interesting but not silly.
Why the place isnt packed is a mystery.
The only small niggle is you cant sign for your tab but need to settle up separately ( there's some sort of restructuring of the business going on apparently)
Miami can seem oddly grasping at times.
The practice of an 18% service charge in addition to a separate "tip" line on the credit card bill always annoys me. It isnt specific to the Marlin but is widespread all over South Beach.
In all my travels this is the only city that expects a 40% tip.......
Minor annoyances when you consider the value for money at a small, cool hotel with a friendly staff who genuinely seem to care about your stay.The Marlin is uber cool.
The beauty lies in its ability to be confdent enough not to have an "up its own [--]
South Beach attitude"
Well worth the price of admission and perfect for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the coolest hotel in Florida! I had an amazing time. Great location, great service and over all great atmosphere, it's very modern. I'll be back! The bed was so comfortable and the kept it very clean, no bad smells or stains. The staff is amazing too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a fantastic place. An unbelievably well renovated art deco gem. The rooms are uber-hi tech with an iPad, all kinds of colored lighting, great appointments and just plain old fun. It is a very unique building. The best part was Alex who is a true hosptiality professional that goes over and above. I didn't want to leave and I can tell you there is really nowhere better to stay in South Beach. I can't explain how great this place is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms - we were in Studio D - are enormous, we loved the art above the bed, and Alex kindly let us check out late. The location is excellent for Miami Beach. A few minor things were not working in the room - room colors and knob to toggle between ceiling shower head and handheld, and the "vibes" were a bit odd - plus the doorbell doesn't work very well, which were small annoyances but hopefully ones that can be fixed going forward. We would be happy to stay there again!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed four nights here, with wife and grown kids. Would recommend highly. Located in the heart of the SoBe Art Deco district, this is a block from Lummis Park and the beach. Rooms and bathrooms are quite large, and wide, wide couch could accommodate a third party easily. Very sleek and modern, with cool universal remote iPad. Similarly stylish second floor common room is handy for families, with games and some nice books. Front desk is not exactly ubiquitous, but friendly and helpful. Noise is not a factor at night.

Drawbacks? No pool, or "private" beach, as with the 15th to 19th Ave. larger hotels. No breakfast included. Still, you get just about all of the "style" of a place like the Delano, with bigger rooms, at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Marlin Hotel a place to be heard ,not just seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.