We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great redo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marlin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great redo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed four nights here, with wife and grown kids. Would recommend highly. Located in the heart of the SoBe Art Deco district, this is a block from Lummis Park and the beach. Rooms and bathrooms are quite large, and wide, wide couch could accommodate a third party easily. Very sleek and modern, with cool universal remote iPad. Similarly stylish second floor common room is handy for families, with games and some nice books. Front desk is not exactly ubiquitous, but friendly and helpful. Noise is not a factor at night.

Drawbacks? No pool, or "private" beach, as with the 15th to 19th Ave. larger hotels. No breakfast included. Still, you get just about all of the "style" of a place like the Delano, with bigger rooms, at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    22
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
57
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Marlin this past week after conducting some online research and reading the positive recommendations on Trip Advisor. Our experience could not have been more positive! I travel extensively on business and have stayed at hundreds of different hotels of all monikers. This is the most unique and interesting hotel you could ever imagine. Everything in the room is operated from an IPAD which is more than a gimmick. The lights, the illuminated art, the motorized curtains and the Television that doubles as a mirror when not operating all give the room a "cool" feel. Upon check in we were greeted by Erica who was inviting and helpful. The owner Walid was very personable and told interesting stories about the history of the hotel, the rennovation and the hotel's dual function as a recording studio that has recorded famous artists such as Sting and U2. All in all, if you want a terrific romantic stay right on South Beach go no further than the Marlin!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Our room was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second stop during our first anniversary trip to florida. The staff were really lovely and welcoming. Alex (hopefully that's his name) was incredible as we came in a little early that afternoon. He was so nice and easy to talk to. He took a little map of the south beach and pointed all the areas that we should see and where we should eat. He was a great resource. The hotel rooms themselves are equipped with iPad controlled TV, lights and curtains. It was really nice to cuddle up on the couch and watch Game of Thrones on the TV as the curtains closed themselves. It was definitely a one-of-a-kind experience. This is a really unique place that sets itself apart from the typical spa+hotels that are crowding the Miami tourist areas. They are a small place, so don't expect the pool/spa experience. The beach is only a few blocks away, why would you want the pool? They do have a restaurant/bar which never opened. This was not an issue as there were plenty of bars on the Lincoln road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I came here with my mother for a last minute weekend getaway. It's definitely geared toward a younger crowd.

The rooms were very beautiful but a little too modern for my taste. We had a little trouble figuring out the curtain situation as all is ipad controlled. However, the big screen TV came in handy when it was pouring outside :)

This place was super cute and the staff was friendly but after 10p, it was hard to find anyone around and there wasn't really room service.

There was also a restaurant there that was supposed to be open by the week we arrived but that never happened.

To be fair, I am 90% sure they has JUST reopened and it had rained all weekend.

I would definitely like to pop in and visit once its full up and running. It really was super cute and the rooms were cozy.

Room Tip: Studio B was the room we stayed in - i would definitely recommend it, it had a little couch/lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As a frequent visitor to South Beach who has stayed at all of the "top-tier" hotels (SLS, Delano, Mondrian, Gansevoort/Perry, W, Betsy) this is my favorite hotel when it comes straight up comfort. The rooms were large, comfortable, and technologically advanced with iPad control of just about everything in the room. The rooms were also exquisitely designed with LED lighting, simple feng-shui and functionally in-tact (no pointlessly trendy Philippe Starck-like features). The mini-bar was also great with healthy and functional options (breath mints, sweet and salty options etc.). The rooms have 62-inch flat screens hidden by a large mirror. The TV is controlled by the iPad and there is apple TV and HBO on demand etc - brilliant! The hotel is also small (14 rooms I think) with many guests staying as part of the recording studio for some occasional celeb sightings. To keep with the exclusivity and privacy the lobby bar and restaurant (The Mix) is not necessarily open to walk-ins and entrance to the hotel requires a passcode at the front door. I like this feature because when you walk in there's not a busy lobby full of concierge staff etc. you walk into the lobby like it's the lobby of your house and if you do run into the hotel staff they surely remember you on a first name basis (they offered a last name basis, but I corrected them. The staff are great and they make you feel quite comfortable walking your bags to your room and explaining how to use the iPad etc.). The lobby bar also has a DJ booth with a local DJ who plays good ambient sounds that suit the environment for dinner and gradually built up towards the end of the night at the bar.

Overall, an amazing stay and I was there for 4 nights. Will definitely stay here again especially as this place continues to grow and build its reputation and presence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Truly amazing hotel. Very art deco, completely modernized without losing its own identity. There are only a few rooms (I believe 14) and even though the hotel was packed, we didn't see or hear anyone in the hall way.
The room is operated by iPad that you get when you check in. No check in downstairs, one of the managers takes you up to a very nice office upstairs so you can sit and relax. Even though this is more for couples,we were treated amazing with our 3 year old and he was treated like a rock star. The room was fantastic. Beautiful art, amazing tv in the mirror and great couch. We didn't want to leave the room. The iPad and controls were even better.
The only down points are that there isn't parking or breakfast here, but you should know this before you book. There is free wifi and an amazing restaurant that I truly recommend.
Service was suburb. Go there you won't regret it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was so much impressed by this hotel so I decided to cancel all other hotels in Miami. Great atmosphere with fresh and modern touch! Really good restaurant and fabulous bar with mixologist Hudson! It is a place where you can stay and enjoy and chill out!
Thanx to All and especially to Alex!!!

See you next time!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Hotel

Address: 1200 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Marlin Hotel a place to be heard ,not just seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.