We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet, boutique hotel centrally located in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice quiet, boutique hotel centrally located in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We chose this hotel as we wanted somewhere small and quiet off the main drag as I don't like big noisy hotels. This really suited us. There was a municipal car park on 12th so we planned to use that rather than the hotel valet. We arrived in the middle of a massive thunderstorm so we drove directly to the hotel hoping to use their valet but unfortunately, as with a lot of South Beach, the seemingly neglect footpath/road works prevented pulling in front of the hotel. We had to turn back then and use the car park. This turned out fine as we didn't move the car for the 3 days we were there at $20 a day. When the rain eased off we made a dash for the hotel and the very pleasant female receptionist must have felt sorry for us arriving in a bit wet as she upgraded us to their grand suite and it was fabulous, like our own mini condo. The room had a beautiful, spacious bathroom, a good sized living room and a bedroom with dressing room and a small balcony with loungers. It suited us perfectly for our short stay and I would highly recommend the Impala for anyone looking for a lovely, quiet, small hotel in busy South Beach.

Room Tip: Obviously the grand suite was a bonus but I think all the other rooms were great too, very European...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your room! Regarding the parking, because of temporary constructions on Collins avenue (not affecting the tranquility of the hotel of course), valet parking has been moved half a block away but you can still use it of course!
Thank you again, everything you describe is what we strive for and we are delighted to know we've succeeded! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    142
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
58
288
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our trip throughout South Florida. We typically stay at the W in South Beach; however, a colleague recommended the Impala for a great boutique hotel experience. Initially, I was very impressed with the decor and cleanliness. The hotel appeared small, quaint, and cozy. We enjoyed our stay until we encountered the extremely crude and unmannerly hotel receptionist in the morning of checkout. We approached the front desk to inquire about the breakfast options. We observed the receptionist playing video games on his cell phone with a completely lack of attention. After he discovered we wanted to ask a question, it appeared as if he was highly disturbed at the interruption of the latest "Angry Birds" game. We asked about the breakfast and he aggressively rebutted in a thick French accent, "Look, you go to the restaurant and sit down like any other place!" He then asked sarcastically, "What do you do in a restaurant?" We only inquired about the details of the breakfast because the hotel and restaurant are two separate businesses; one wouldn't naturally deduce that you enter a different business to eat breakfast. Perhaps if this had been explained to us, we wouldn't have needed to interrupt his video games. I told him I didn't appreciate his sarcasm and he evolved into belligerence. He told us he possessed two Masters degrees in hospitality and tourism. He also told us that he was best friends with him and would disregard a negative critique, Lastly, the receptionist stated we "didn't pay his salary because we booked our reservation through Expedia indicating that we were "inferior guests." It is odd that the prices on Expedia and the Impala's direct website are the exact same. I recommend that the receptionist take some classes in social skill training and customer service etiquette. I will never stay at the Impala again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I cannot begin to apologize as this is clearly unacceptable. First of all, please be aware that the employee in question is no longer working with us, and I am terribly sorry for his attitude. We strive on excellent customer service, this is what differentiates us from everyone else and we are doing everything we can to have the best team in place at all times. Obviously we failed to live up to our usual standards and this is a mistake that will never take place again. Necessary actions to prevent this from happening again have already been taken, as this is something we take very seriously. Whether you book on Expedia or directly through us makes no difference, all of our guests are treated equally please be reassured of that!
I truly hope that one day you will give us a chance to make a better impression as we know we can do so much better as this was unfortunately an exception, not a habit.
Thank you for sharing this and helping us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very comfortable, clean and beautiful rooms. The best is how welcoming the staff is. They clearly care about the happiness of their guests. We arrived unprepared, knowing nothing about Miami, and they directed us to many great places, enough to make an awesome vacation week. Thanks for this great time !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good service is what we work hard on providing at the Impala. Our staff is very knowledgeable about all the Miami area and beyond! We always have plenty of tips and recommendations ready for you if you need them. It is our greatest pleasure to have been able to help you make this holiday unforgettable and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very nice hotel in excellent location. I find nothing wrong with this place. The rooms are clean and excellent. Bathrooms are really nice and the staff is very nice. There is a public parking garage one block away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
If nothing was wrong then everything must be just right! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skane County, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Me and my sister got the opportunity to check in a bit earlier than we were supposed to, which really helped us out. We also happened to get a free upgrade due to some late cancellation from another guest. The rooms are so nice and fresh, and the bed is soo lovely. It has a "home feeling" and the bathroom is beautiful. The location is great with the beach just five-ten minutes away by foot, still i liked the fact that it isn't located directly on Oceans drive. We had a late flight the day we were checking out but it was no problem to leave our bags or even using their shower after being at the beach. Gave some extra tip for that! Kind and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
In a boutique hotel like the Impala, we love to go the extra mile for you if we have the possibility to do so. We are so happy that you got to enjoy our hotel rooms and amenities to the fullest. Check ins at hotels are always too early but at the Impala, we know that you want to enjoy the beach as much as you possibly can and because of that we always do our best to help you enjoy it fully one last time. We look forward seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Impala Hotel. The room was very beautiful, the bed was comfortable and I loved that they had bath robes available to use during the stay. I ordered room service from the Italian restaurant next door and my food was delicious! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Spiga is indeed a wonderful restaurant where the Italian owners have everything freshly hand-made every day. We are lucky to have one of the best must-have restaurant working with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave this kind review and we cannot wait to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Danny and I would like to say we had a very enjoyable stay here, very comfy room, felt right at home, would love to stay again.Beach just around corner. Restaurant out the from is to die for.
Lyn & Danny

Room Tip: Good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We would love for you to stay again as well! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so happy you enjoyed all the great amenities of our hotel and its central location and we look forward seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.