We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel near beach, restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming hotel near beach, restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

At the risk of repeating what has already been said repeatedly, my wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Impala this week.

Charming Italian villa-style location tucked behind restaurants just 2 blocks from the beach. We found our room to be spacious (standard queen) and more than luxurious enough for our needs. Bed and linens were very comfortable, the room was quiet at night despite location, and thermostat-controlled in-room AC kept us out-of-towners cool from the humidity. The staff was tremendously friendly and helpful, providing directions and tips for dining/shopping and remembering us on our return when they held our key at the front desk.

Other perks included complementary bottled water in the minifridge upon check-in and the beach bag (complete with large beach towels) for our use was perfect. Take advantage of the valet parking - rates are as good as anything else in the area and worth the $5-10 you'd save by juggling garage/lot time limits.

Room Tip: No apparent elevator to 2nd floor - stairs only. Request first floor if that will be an issue for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We never get tired of reading repeat compliments. Please always feel free to share your experience with our readers so they too can experience our charming hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful stay at the Impala Hotel! Everyone desires something different and so therefore our main standard is pleasing our guests. We are pleased to know we were able to accomplish this with you and your wife. From comfortable beds, to our specially selected linen, to controlling your own thermostat; we want our guest to have it all! We are glad that you took advantage of the complimentary water and beach bag/towels that are in every room for our guest convenience. Once again thank you for choosing the Impala Hotel and all that we have to offer. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    111
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
234
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I found this hotel last minute when my boyfriend and I decided to spend a night in Miami for our anniversary. I thought that the price was very fair for a last minute find on South Beach for memorial day weekend. The hotel was easy to find and the valet parking was very convenient. Once we arrived we were greeted by Romain, one of the front desk staff. He was extremely friendly and welcomed us to the Hotel Impala. The lobby was clean and nicely decorated with a beautiful mural. We went up the stairs to our room (205) and were surprised to find it was so spacious. Other reviews had complained about the room size but we found it plenty big enough! The room and bathroom were both extremely clean and had stone floors throughout. We were very impressed by the size of the shower. We enjoyed extra touches such as the robes and complimentary Nespresso machine.The room remained quiet even though we were right in the midst of the busy South Beach lifestyle. Romain was such a great help when it came to finding places to eat! He pulled out a whole binder full of places with all their menus too. For dinner he suggested a place called Cafe Nuvo, only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the area the restaurant was in! A cute, european area with a very romantic setting. We were so glad Romain suggested this! Overall, we had a great stay at the Hotel Impala and will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room 205 was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are so pleased that you had so many great things to say about the Impala Hotel and about our star Romain. He says he remembers you and the pleasure was all his. We want every guest to enjoy not only our wonderful amenities but also the wonderful locations and attractions that South Beach has to offer. With such a busy weekend as Memorial weekend we try to remain reasonable with our prices and of course offer exceptional service. We are glad you room was spacious and that you were able to make use of the robes and all the other in room goodies we have to offer. We love forward to your future stay and we aim to make it an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2014 whilst on a flying visit to town to see Miami Heat in the playoffs and were gutted we couldn't stay any longer. The hotel is very cute, hidden away just off the main streets and is 2 mins walk to the amazing beachfront.

Would highly recommend and would definitely return if we get the chance to head back to Miami :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Any fans of the Miami Heat are friends of ours here at the Impala Hotel! We are glad you were able to see our NBA Champs in action (well former champions...until we take our revenge next year!) and then were able to get a nice quiet night of rest at our hotel. Our location is ideal to local attractions on South Beach and even a short car ride to the arena. Hopefully you do get a chance to return to Miami (maybe for next year's playoffs!) and you are always welcomed here at the Impala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and i have been wandering through Florida for the first time in our 39 years of marriage. We have not made any prior reservations, relying on finding a nice place when we decide to stop for the night. We arrived in Miami mid afternoon. Had a fun but too quick afternoon walking around the Fairchild gardens before heading for South Beach. Using tripadvisor we found a wonderful italian restaurant, Spiga. 5 stars all the way around. As we were finishing dinner we we began thinking about where we would spend the night. I watched several couples entering and exiting a somewhat hidden entry to the impala. We stopped a couple who walked by our table and asked about the hotel. They loved it. We looked on tripadvisor and found great reviews and found a vacancy.

Wonderful little hotel. Room a bit small but everything else wonderful. Staff friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay great. If you stay here, have dinner at the wonderful restaurant in front Spiga. Home run on both accounts!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Congrats on 39 years of marriage, that must truly be exciting! Thanks for choosing the Impala Hotel by trusting the reviews on tripadvisor and then taking the time to leave a review. As I can see you were in a standard room and to some the size is just right and to others too small. The next time you visit us you may want to consider a deluxe room or even a suite if you desire a more spacious room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and dinner at Spiga and we look forward to your future visit with us whenever you come to Florida.
Just don’t wait another 39 years :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and the location is good, but the room needed updating, although there were some nice decorative touches. We saw a small roach in the room, and that made me uncomfortable and glad we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We are genuinely sorry you had some disappointments while here at the Impala Hotel. Please rest assured that roaches are not something we deal with on a regular basis. Our hotel is fumigated once a month and after your review, it was fumigated twice in that month. We are glad that you enjoyed our decorative touches and that you found our staff very nice and helpful. We have taken note of what needs updating and will work on them. Hopefully you will give us a chance to make a better impression on you in the future. Let us know if we can be assistance to you the next time you are in South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here just one night before a cruise out of Miami and we wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed at the Ritz during previous trip and enjoyed our stay much more at the Impala. Quite, clean and great service. We will definitely be back to Miami and will absolutely stay at the Impala. Great service by our friend Romain as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We appreciate every review from every guest and yours truly warmed our hearts! This review has us on cloud nine. Did you just say you enjoyed us more than the Ritz Carlton? Yes you did! We always strive to be an individual in the services we offer but every now and then it sure doesn’t hurt to hear we’ve exceeded the service of a 5 diamond hotel. You are definitely welcomed to return to the Impala Hotel anytime! Romain says the pleasure was all his. Until next time we’ll remain on cloud nine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Oh my god, if I could give this place 10 stars I would. It's so relaxing, clean, quiet, and the staff is amazing. I would recommend to anyone wanting to forget about their stressful life for a week end. Our room was cute and so comfortable, it's super close to EVERYTHING in south beach, and the front desk lovely lady gave us great recommendations for places to go eat, attractions and even called around for us to get the best deals possible. In a time where chains and corporate companies are around every corner, it was quite refreshing to find a place with individuality and charm. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We gladly accept and appreciate your 10 Stars! We are overjoyed that you left such a great review. Whenever we can assist on taking away the stress of the world, we definitely will. Our staff is here to assist within their means and every now and then, over and beyond. All of our staff are locals and are very familiar with the area, so we know all the secrets and we only share with Impala Hotel guest  Thank you for choosing us rather than a corporate chain and we are pleased to know we were able to stand up to the competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.