We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel perfectly located in South Beach Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel perfectly located in South Beach Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This small boutique hotel is really great if you are looking to a good place where to stay in South Beach. Just 1 block away from the beach and the thrill of Ocean Drive but still very quiet.
Beach bag and towels are provided. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable (#210).
Staff is really helpful and can help you if necessary to organize your stay/travel.
I will definately come back !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are pleased that you like many were able to have an Impala Hotel experience. We strive to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay. As I can see you were in our Grande Suite, which is very spacious and is our only room with a balcony that looks out to Collins Avenue. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our complimentary beach bag and towels in addition to the other amenities we have to offer. Our staff is here to gladly assist with all your needs either it be directions, attractions, tours, or dinner reservations. We are glad to ensure that we can do anything within our means. We look forward to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    106
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
220
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Impala hotel for one night this past weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel decor was charming and the rooms were nicely appointed. The Nespresso machine and free bottled water was a very nice touch. This hotel is fabulous all around if you want to be in the heart of South Beach within walking distance to great clubs, restaurants and the beach, but don't want to stay in your average run of the mill chain. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
What a pleasure it was to read your review! We are pleased to know that your stay at the Impala Hotel was fabulous all around. We may not have the big name of the chain hotels but we do offer the service and amenities such as the Nespresso machine and free bottled water. As you mentioned our location is ideal to the clubs, restaurants, and the beaches. On top of having an ideal location we also offer the peace a quiet that anyone would deserve after an eventful day on South Beach. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your South Beach visit (even if for just one night) and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, what a great little hidden gem that is quiet and clean. It's in a great location within walking distance to everything you need but still very quiet. The front desk staff was nice, professional and helpful. Only thing that could have been improved was valet parking took 20+ mins both days we stayed. This is understandable though at busy times of the year such as May. I would stay here again and recommend the Impala hotel to family and friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Impala Hotel. We grateful for such a kind review of our staff and location. Please note that you are correct; during very busy times in the season the wait for your car may exceed the maximum waiting time of 20 minutes. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced with valet. Overall we are glad that despite the wait time, you were able to enjoy our hotel. We thank you again and look forward to your future visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is very reminiscent to hotels in Europe... very small! However, small isn't necessarily a bad thing - we had plenty of closet space, Queen bed was comfy and fitted with modern bedding. Bathroom looked updated with nice tile on floor & in the shower (also a modern showerhead) *Just one minor detail that wasn't listed (or if it was I didn't notice) there is no elevator - so we had to carry our bags upstairs -- the desk clerk offered to help but had stated he had just come back from back surgery - so we weren't about to impose on his health.
For one night, we found the place charming .... but for a longer stay I would definitely scout around for something else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you again for choosing the Impala Hotel and leaving such wonderful compliments about our hotel. We renovated the hotel in 2011 and it is noted on our website that we do not have an elevator but the staff is more than glad to assist with taking luggage up or downstairs. We do apologize that on the day you arrived you were not able to receive assistance. Please note, whenever possible we will use the rooms on the first level especially if you have a lot and/or heavy luggage. Please do not let the elevator be a reason for you not to return. In the future please make a request for a room on the ground floor and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great staff, location and Italian restaurant that our party of 5 ate at the 4 nights that we were there.
The front desk staff went out of there way to make sure that we had a wonderful stay even sharing there own personal photos of family and holidays.
The rooms were of good size, very clean and comfortable and the hotel is ideally located just one street back from Ocean Drive that's very noisy.
The lobby has 2 wonderful mosaic tiled art works supposedly gifted by Versace.
Try to find the imperfection in the floor motif.

Room Tip: Away from Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We absolutely love it when our just use adjectives such as great! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your stay in Miami Beach a great one. With the Impala Hotel being such a small property we have the unique opportunity to share and interact with our guest on a more personable level. We are glad that your room (like all of our rooms) was spacious, comfortable, clean and most of all quiet. Yes we do have two wonderful mosaic tiled art works and the one on the floor at the entrance is a Versace piece. These are two piece that are definitely worth capturing a picture of. We look forward to having you visit with us and Spiga restaurant the next time you are in Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosinone, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I staid at Impala during Winter Music Conference in 2014. Location is perfect! Just 2 minutes from the beach and fun. Room, service (especially front desk - people always so nice) and breakfast were just right. I have enjoyed my stay at Impala very much. Room are clean and they give you all you need, also the bag for the beach. I will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Impala Hotel and taking the time out to leave a review, we greatly appreciate it! With so much going on in South Beach during the Winter Music Conference it is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was just right! Our staff works diligently to ensure all of our guest have a great experience. We want you to have great service, clean rooms, and an enjoyable breakfast and we are honored to know you did. Please do come visit us again, you are always welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Pros: Nice quiet boutique-style hotel. Good location, near Lincoln Road shops and Ocean Drive. Friendly and attentive service, especially Roman at the front desk. Lovely bathroom.

Cons: We found two small cockroaches in our room. There is no elevator, and hot and cold faucets were mislabeled.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Impala Hotel and taking the time out to leave a review. It seems that there were some issues during your stay but we are glad to know that the pros outweighed the cons. We do apologize that there were two small roaches in your bathroom. Please be rest assured that our hotel is fumigated at least once a month and roaches are not something that are common here. We are a small hotel and do not have an elevator but we try our best to compensate for this! Our building is only two floors and our front desk agents are more than willing to take luggage up and down for our guests. The labels in the bathrooms have also been corrected (thank you for pointing this out). On your next visit we will aim for only pros and no cons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.