We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at this awesome boutique hotel. The hotel was super clean and staff were the highlight of our stay. Always there for recommendations, answering questions, and saying hello.

We didnt do the breakfast here, except walked the block to Ocean for other options. The beach is super close, easy walk. This hotel is hidden away from the noise of SOBE. That was a great feature for use. We love to party, but also love some quiet time, and this hotel provided that.

Only con was no elevator. The room and service made up for it.

Glad we found this thanks to TA

Room Tip: Could be easy to miss, right next to Spiga restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for this kind review! I am glad to read that you chose our hotel thanks to the reviews of our previous guests and that you were happy with your choice! Once again, reading these kinds of reviews really puts smiles on our faces and it means a lot to know we were able to live up to your standards! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    99
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
213
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Valle del Cauca, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pros:

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great price and a nice room with a very comfortable bathroom.

Cons:

Poor internet access in our room in particular (not necessarily a bad thing when on vacations) and the Suit's sofa bed it's a little uncomfortable (for a big guy).

Room Tip: If you need a solid WiFi connection while you are staying at this hotel you should mention it to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad you brought up the sofa bed issue because I am very excited to announce that we have purchased amazing feather beds, turning the former thin and uncomfortable sofa-bed mattresses into a much thicker, extra soft bed!
I appreciate your comments about the Internet. Only 2 rooms are subject to a somewhat less powerful signal due to their location further away from the routers. But we always find solutions if the Internet signal is not strong enough for the use you make of it, like setting up a wired connection for you in the room, or if possible, give you another room! Always communicate with us rather than keeping a disappointment to yourself, as we are always able to find solutions to make our valued guests happy!
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Impala is positioned in a great position in South Beach. It is a small hotel but very neat and tidy. The staff was very helpful, particularly Romain the receptionist. He suggested we go up to Sunny Isle to avoid larger crowds at the beach nearby. He was able to provide us with great advice on where to go and his favourite restaurants in the area. I would recommend a stay at this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this great review! Romain is a great Concierge, and a very valued member of the Impala team! Which is why I am always proud when I read reviews such as yours, confirming my thoughts about my co-workers and their willingness to genuinely help our guests!
Thank you again, I hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Even suite rooms are tooooo small . Dont get mislead that they are good for families, they are just about about okay for even couples.
Getting tea bags and hot water is a challenge & if you are not a coffee drinker go prepared.
If you are travelling heavy , be prepared for lifting weights if you are on the first floor as there are no elevators.
Helpful staff at the reception but no value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sincerely sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as you expected.
The building is a 2 story building and indeed there are no elevators. As you mentioned, our staff is always ready to help and happily carry luggage for our guests!
I am surprised to read that you had a hard time getting tea and hot water, and following your review I am happy to inform you that we decided to include, in addition to the Nespresso Machine, a selection of tea along with an electric kettle in all of our Suites. I would therefore like to thank you for sharing this constructive feedback allowing us to improve our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I honestly believe this is one of the best price/quality relations in the zone. While not a luxurious hotel, it will certainly satisfy picky customers. Rooms are fairly sized and sparkling clean. The property itself is well maintained, though some small improvements could easily boost the appearance of the place (carpet in hallways looked a bit worn at places, and some decor items look a bit cheap). The fact that it lacks a pool is also a bit of a deterrent, but having the beach so close to the hotel makes up for it.

While this is indeed a prime location, (as I said the beach is one block away and pretty much all the action in Miami Beach occurs within a very close range), be advised that Collins avenue is currently (as of September 2013) under public works, so traffic can get unbearable. This is not a place where you want to bring your car into. Valet parking is offered at a rate of $25 a day, but again, give a second thought to the car thing.

I got room 203, which overlooked a small alley besides the hotel. Two out of three nights were very peaceful and quiet, but on Saturday I woke up to a somewhat annoying thumping, coming from a nearby club. Nothing that I could not solve with earplugs (and I don't blame the hotel for that) but be aware that, while in a quiet place overall, you're still in THE zone.

As for the surroundings, Espanola Way is a wonderful and lively alley that is just a couple of blocks away. It hosts some of the most colorful and amicable bars and restaurants around. A few tourist traps notwithstanding, the majority of the venues are a good choice to have dinner and some drinks. I enjoyed particularly Havana 1957, where you can get some terrific mojitos and get a taste of Cuban cuisine. But this is Miami beach, so fun and good food are always around the corner!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for this great and useful review. You mentioned a lot of important points and I am sure this will be very helpful to our future guests!
First of all, I really appreciate your comments about the cleanliness, our housekeeping team works really hard to make sure the hotel is spotless and I am very happy to see their efforts paying by having our guests notice it and write about it!
Collins avenue is under construction. They started off 5th street and are working their way up. We still offer valet parking but during the constructions, they will be located on 13th street between Washington and Collins avenue. Hopefully it will soon go back to normal!
Finally, regarding the noise from the nearby club, I appreciate your trying to find us an excuse but even though we are in a busy area, we have worked very hard to ensure this does not happen, it is something we take very seriously and do not tolerate. I strongly encourage our guests who feel even slightly disturbed by any kind of noise coming from the club to call the Front Desk right away and we will take the necessary actions.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this boutique hotel and we were very pleased with the service and room. The front desk was always polite and willing to assist us with any request. They upgraded us to the master suite which was fantastic with the huge living room, bedroom, bathroom, & balcony over looking Collins Ave. We were also pleased that even with all the noise and busyness outside, we couldn't hear a thing from the inside. We slept very well on their comfortable bedding. This hotel is about a block and a half from the beach & the famous Ocean Drive and walking distance to Lincoln Road. Also, the Italian restaurant downstairs was very good.

The only critique I could give would be that the hotel could use a fresh coat of paint on the outside. When we first arrived, we became a little concerned cause the building looked like it needed to be repainted. It is understandable that buildings near the ocean need constant upkeep. But our worries went away when we walked inside the very pretty lobby. The rooms was very clean too.

Room Tip: Make the request with the front desk. It helps to be nice when asking. A smile can do wonders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I really enjoyed reading your review and your tip put a big smile on my face! Indeed a smile can do wonders, especially here at the Impala where our guests' happiness and excitement truly make us equally happy, if not more! So yes, I encourage every guest to inform us of any special occasion or simply any special requests they have...if we can, we will be thrilled to accommodate them! Thank you for pointing out the outside aspect of the building. It is something we have already considered, and I think your review might just be the feedback we needed to go ahead and make the decision! So thank you, hopefully the next time you come visit us, the Impala will look like brand new from the outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Located in the south beach area.
Clean room with a classic Italian style decor.
Noisy a/c.
Great staff.
The door of the bathroom was impossible to close the bathroom had a great shower.
No parking.$25 valet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for this very honest review! Indeed a few of our rooms may have a louder AC, mostly because of the air return grilles, but please know that we are in the process of installing new AC in all the rooms! We have fixed the bathroom lock, thank you for pointing it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.