We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Found this great little boutique hotel on-line and so glad we did! We had a layover in Miami travelling home to Toronto from Peru and thought we should explore Miami for a couple of days. The flight arrived early in the morning and the room we booked wasn't ready so we were offered a suite (Room 208) for $60 a day more. This was still reasonable. After roughing it in Peru for two weeks, this was heaven. We had a modernized bathroom, bedroom and sitting room with lots of closet space and free Wifi and safe. We got to know all the front desk clerks as we dropped off the rather bulky key each time we exited - they are all friendly, talkative and helpful. Only problem here was that there was no elevator and we had some pretty heavy luggage to cart up and down. Bed was really comfortable (better than our beds at home) and clean. The hotel is within an easy walk to everything in South Miami beach. One block to the beach, one block to shopping, one block to restaurants. If you are looking for the hotel, you will miss it - it is tucked away from the street behind and above a restaurant. This is a good thing - we didn't have noise from the streets or the glare of lights in the room. And the AC worked beautifully. And it was the little things that made a difference - supply of big umbrellas for rainy day use, arranging for cabs to airport, small library of books if you feel like reading. Not for the party crowd - no pool, gym, disco,etc. We were glad as it kept things peaceful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to a suite - lots of room and very private. Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you! It is so rewarding to read such positive feedback, I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience! Our Suites are indeed located in a very quiet area on the 2nd and last floor and even though we don't have an elevator, we hope the comfort and intimacy of the Suite made it worth the stairs! And again, we take great pride in being a very quiet and intimate hotel in the middle of the crowd, and I thank you again for sharing this with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    106
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
48
227
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in the One Bedroom Suite for 5 days for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. Booking the Hotel online was easy and check in was seamless (Our room was ready and we arrived early). Room was clean, comfortable bed, spacious for the price and airy due to high ceilings.Big Bathroom.

Front Desk was always efficiently manned so service was always available but non-intrusive.

Spiga Restaurant that is part of the hotel is also a great plus.

Would easily recommend this hotel...stay in the 1 bedroom suite.

Room Tip: Choose 1 Bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Being helpful yet non-intrusive is not an easy task and we try our very best to make our guests feel so comfortable that they forget they are in a hotel, while being always aware that when they need it, our entire team is here ready to help! Thanks for pointing it out this is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Impala Hotel was excellent. The most amazing thing of this hotel was the quiet and silent room, despite the noise of Collins Avenue. I used
to wake up with birds singing...
The hotel was also very clean and the staff, ready to help you.




  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Waking up to the sound of birds singing is something amazing especially on Collins avenue and I am delighted that you were able to experience this great feeling in our hotel!
Thank you for the kind words, they are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while I attended to business in Miami. The location was a bit challenging for the cab driver to find because the street footprint of the hotel is not very wide, but the address proved to be correct and we arrived early on a Saturday afternoon. Check in was seemless and the room spacious and well appointed. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was comfortable. Love the shower, although it took some experimentation to figure out how to work all of the options. I could have read the instructions, but didn't find them until after the shower. That would have spoiled all the fun of discovery anyway.

The internet worked fine once it began to work, but it took two days to get it to work. A second floor router needed resetting, but for one reason or another it took two days to get it reset.

There is no pool and there is no health club. Other reviewers have indicated that passes are available to the health club on the corner, but that was not my experience. I asked for a pass but the desk clerk insisted that no such arrangement existed or was available. Later during the day he indicated that the hotel used to have an arrangement with the health club, but that passes were no longer available. He did offer to get me a pass, which I didn't really understand, but I had already exercised by running on the beach and boardwalk that was a block away and miles long, which beats running on a treadmill any day. As for the lack of a pool...there is an incredible, beautiful beach a block away. Beach towels are at the desk.

On the second night I heard a sound drifting in through the door that I thought might have been music from the restaurant below, or perhaps was from the nightclub on the other side of the block. The sound didn't bother me so much as it intrigued me. Something about the randomness and volume of the sound caused me to wander outside to the balcony overlooking the courtyard to try to discover its source. It wasn't the restaurant or the nightclub because I could hear them and they were neither sufficiently loud nor sufficiently intermittant to be the source. Then I heard it again. A bird in the courtyard was apparently...courting! That was our encounter with wildlife in Miami Beach.

We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The issues with internet and health club were isolated events that just happened to happen while we were there, but aren't likely to be chronic issues. There owner/manager has obviously put a lot of work and energy into this facility and it shines through. I would stay again in an instant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. I am glad to read that despite some inconvenience, you will stay with us again!
I am terribly sorry about the Internet and that it took so long to get fixed! we will definitely not let this happen again!
Regarding the guest passes to the gym, indeed we are temporarily out but until we get the new ones, I am more than happy to go get an individual access for our guests who want to enjoy the gym. Hopefully this will be resolved shortly!
Well after this experience I’m very pleased to see that you had a good time in our hotel and that you appreciated our service as well as our property. We do put a lot of effort into improving the standing of our hotel and our guests' comments and feedback help us get closer to our goal!
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and don’t hesitate to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. My family had a total of three rooms and one was a suite. All the rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Our bed was very comfy and even though our queen room was not large, we had enough space. The bathroom was beautiful with plenty of counter space and a luxurious shower. The suite was spacious and perfect for my daughter and son-in-law and their toddler. We were fortunate that this hotel provided cribs, as it seems not many small hotels in South Beach offer them. We arrived at the hotel well before noon and Maud (I believe that was her name--from France) did all she could to get one of our rooms ready ahead of schedule. We really appreciated that. The hotel has a pretty courtyard, and is quiet, even though it is close to the beach and many restaurants and shops. We did not expect an elevator, but we did have a lot of luggage to carry upstairs! All the staff were friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay at the Impala again.

Room Tip: The suite overlooked the courtyard and was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for this detailed and very positive review of your experience at the Impala!. Maud was moved by this mention of her in your review and joins me to thank you. She is from France, as is the owner and myself! Indeed we are a small hotel with no elevator, but we do our best to make you feel pampered and spoiled in a way larger hotel could never do!
Again thank you, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Impala Hotel is excellent in all categories! My wife and I moved from a hotel located on Ocean Drive to get away from the loud music and beach front traffic noise. Walking into the lobby, we were greeted with the super nice staff and offered two rooms at a discount! This was a kind gesture considering we just 'walked' in without reservations. Hotel is one block from Ocean Drive; walking distance from the beach and few blocks from Lincoln shopping area. Another convenience is the adjacent Italian restaurant, Spiga, that sits right in front of the hotel. The rooms are very 'Italian' like, clean, comfortable, spacious, and most importantly, quiet. We'd definitively repeat a stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Even though we were sorry to know that you had a bad experience at another hotel, we were delighted not only to have you in our home, but to be able to make up for a bad start of your vacations!
We appreciate your comments, thank you so much for sharing your experience and please come back to see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of April. South Beach is a great destination and the Impala is well situated in the centre of things. This small hotel is one block from the boardwalk and the restaurants on Ocean Drive. The staff are uniformly friendly and attentive and go above and beyond for guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words!
We are indeed centrally located but hope we manage to stay a quiet place in the middle of the chaos where you can rest when the city becomes too overwhelming!
As for the staff, the team at the Impala is my greatest pride and I am very happy every time I read a comment about the staff! They do go above and beyond and I am extremely grateful to be surrounded by such a motivated team! And by so many great guests as well! We could not have one without the other! Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.