We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome super tiny dog friendly hotel in wonderful location with super friendly staff! ;)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Awesome super tiny dog friendly hotel in wonderful location with super friendly staff! ;)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling with my 53lb female dog. Impala was sort of the only one decent price hotel for 1week stay! It's in great location. Beach is only one block away. Everything is right there for you-restaurants,clubs,shops are in within feets or mile away! Great place with wonderful staff! Room is a bit small(if you are staying with dog and second person), but bathroom is great. I even extended my stay. Super satisfied with service! Seems a bit overpriced on weekends, but Mon,Tue is very decent! It's perfect hotel if you are on the bugdet! Would definitelly come back! ;-) Still enjoying my stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience!
How could we not be pet friendly when we see this little jewel of yours! I hope she is well by the way! And I am sorry you felt that your room was a bit small for all 3 of you. We do our best to assign the rooms according to our guests' needs and we encourage you to let us know at the time of booking if you will be traveling with a pet, so that we can give you a more suitable room!
Thank you again for your kind words. They are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    99
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
213
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Impala is one block off Ocean Drive, smack in the middle of the most travelled bits of South Beach. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms very, very nicely done. The attached restaurant, Spigo, is outstanding. Much more preferable than staying right on the strip, unless you intend to get no sleep at all. Very helpful and friendly staff. Some of the rooms appear to have balconies that overlook the narrow courtyard. I suspect they're nicer than our non-balconied room. As for the photos and the description of being in the heart of the Italian (?) district, just don't believe everything you see/read. The hotel is pretty enough, but the online photos are glamour shots if ever I've seen one, and the neighborhood is no great shakes. I thought the taxi driver erred when he pulled up in front. Still, if I were to go back, I'd have to have a good reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for this great review and the compliments about our staff! Just for your information, only one of our rooms has a balcony and that is our Master Suite. It overlooks Collins avenue and is simply beautiful! What I think you are referring to is our outside corridor leading to the Suites. Even though they do not have their own balcony (except for the Master Suite), this very cute and charming little outside corridor overlooks the courtyard and gives an intimate feel!
Please ask for one of these rooms when you come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ten of us recently visited South Beach and stayed at The Impala. It's a quaint hotel, very reasonably priced with very helpful staff especially Christelle, located on Collins Avenue between 12 & 13th Street

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you again! I feel honored to be mentioned by all of you and I am glad you enjoyed your trip and the restaurants and activities we planned for you and your friends! It really was a pleasure assisting you and finally meeting all of you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Massapequa, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the relaxing cozy Impala Hotel April 24-28. Thanks to Maggie and Christelle all our questions were answered and vacation needs met. From cabs called to stamps for postcards, they took care of everything. This was a long awaited vacation, postponed by Super Storm Sandy on Long Island, and we were not disappointed. My husband and I and 4 other couples in our group look forward to another stay at the Impala in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! After what you have been through with Sandy, it had to be PERFECT!!! And I am glad you felt we lived up to your expectations! It was a true pleasure having you with us and please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, Ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent four nights at the Impala with four other couples, and we were all pleased with the clean, comfortable accommodations, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Also enjoyed our breakfasts and group dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am glad you had a perfect stay! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our group of five couples spent four wonderful days at this delightful hotel. The accommodations were perfect, the staff was most attentive and welcoming.
Breakfast was a great start to our days, delicious and well presented. Dinner at SPIGA, the on sight Italian restaurant was first rate ! The courtyard was an oasis of visual green space for quiet time and relaxation.
Christelle, the Manager, cheerfully oversaw all details and made our stay most enjoyable. We were very pleased with the Impala Hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you to all of you! Your group was truly a delight and I am so happy to see that you all had a good time! I am happy everything went just as planned and that it all worked out for you and your friends! Thank you taking the time to share this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay. All around great stuff.
Bathrooms were very nice, loved the shower.
I would go back!
Next time I need to get some tips on restaurants nearby - a little dissapointed with some of the places to eat locally. All so clubby/chainy/cliche/overpriced. I guess you have to go a bit further to get the mom and pop places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for these great words about the Impala! I am sorry you were not properly advised regarding places to eat but we are developing our Concierge services to something much more complete and targeted to our guests' different needs. Please come again and you will see that there are many great places around us where you can eat at very reasonable prices. There are a lot of great little local spots and I will be happy to share them with you next time you are around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.