We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel feels like home! 5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Proud of our staff
Ranked #18 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel feels like home! 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location within walking distance of Lincoln Road and Oceans Drive.
Reception staff makes you feel like at home; very friendly and helpful always trying to go beyond great customer service: well done Maggy, Maud ad Charlie.
Very spacious and clean room; decorated with a very good taste.
Its a great choice Hotel if you want an easy and friendly environment.
Will 100% recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We try our best to give this homey feeling and we are glad you not only felt it, but also enjoyed it! We take great pride in our customer service and reading that it was noticed and appreciated once again is really heartwarming for us and for Maggy, Maud and Charlie, who always try to give the best of themselves! Reading your comment is the best reward they can get and they thank you from the bottom of their heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    120
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
251
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently stayed at this lovely hotel before going on a cruise. Staff were excellent and friendly especially Romain who was on nights. He pointed out restaurants and made reservations when required. Room was clean and very stylish.......we had a kingsize room. Location of hotel is excellent only one street from the beach. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I am glad you had a great time with us and Romain who is indeed a great part of our team! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I just finished a 7 day stay in room 210, a very large, attractive and quiet suite on the second floor facing Collins Drive. Despite that I, who am very noise-sensitive, heard almost no outside noise in the bedroom although the living room part of the suite was less well sound proofed. I agree with and will not rewrite superlatives written by others here and will just add a few of my own:
Do not under any circumstances, even think of parking a rental car on the street unless you are from South Beach or know locals, otherwise you risk spending much of your vacation looking for parking, especially on weekends. Use the valet service offered by the hotel at $25/day.
The continental breakfast offered for $9.99 (included in my room rate and sampled twice) is not worth it for the food: The croissant and chocolatine were stale, there was no fruit salad nor yogurt offered for one of the two breakfasts. There are plenty of healthy and hearty breakfast restaurants within 2 blocks of the hotel: I especially liked the omelettes at the 11th Street Diner.
There is an excellent gym called Crunch 2 blocks away and the South Beach boardwalk, 2 1/2 blocks away is a superb place to go out for a run along the beach.
The Italian restaurant on the premises did not live up to the great reviews others have written: The home-made ravioli with meat was, a "Chef Boyardee experience" for 20$. On another night the grilled tuna was overdone and tough and tasteless on the outside and close to raw on the inside. The restaurant dining room staff were excellent however, so my comments refer to the quality of the food served.
In the Hotel, all of the front desk staff were helpful and highly professional yet warm, welcoming and friendly.
In sum, a great hotel and I will stay here again next time I am in South Beach. I will not return to Ristorante Spiga.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for this honest and detailed review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy Spiga as much as you thought you would. I will definitely pass the message along to them.
Regarding breakfast, I must say this comes as a surprise because it usually is very much appreciated and I apologize that it was not complete nor to your liking. I will follow up to see why this happened as our Croissants are normally delicious!!
But thank you for an overall great review and I hope to have the opportunity to make a better impression with breakfast the next time you come visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Impala is a peaceful spot on busy Collins Ave. in the thick of South Beach. The international staff was consistently charming and helpful. It seemed very clean. Good value for the cost. A few tradeoffs: small room but fairly spacious bathroom; no tub but sizeable shower; no dresser but shelves in the closet; room view was the alleyway out back, but it was blissfully quiet. Everything was within a short walking distance.

The bathroom had plenty of good lighting, and cool fossils in the nice limestone. The in-room mini-fridge was empty, which I appreciated as I could fill it with my own items. You leave your room key at the front desk. This personal touch made me feel a little safer, and helps ensure you don’t lose your key.

Spiga restaurant in the lobby was so great we ate dinner there twice. Our waiter was from Milan and his recommendations were outstanding.

We stayed during the South Beach Wine & Food Festival. Most hotels had jacked their rates sky high for the event, but the Impala was a comparatively great value.

There is a Starbucks around the corner at Washington and 12th, and a very good Venezuelan bakery with yummy empanadas, Charlotte Bakery, at 1499 Washington, just North of Espanola Way.

FLYING: Those in my group who flew in/out of Ft. Lauderdale were MUCH happier than those who flew through Miami. Although about a 40 minute cab ride, the smaller Ft. Lauderdale airport is newer and more manageable than Miami.

DRIVING: So. Beach weekend traffic was ridiculously bad, and parking was problematic. Don't rent a car, use cabs or walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for this review! You are mentioning a few details that are less noticed or at least mentioned by guests and it is very nice to read about them in your review! I love that you appreciated the fact that you had to leave the key at the desk, and that you could fill the fridges with your own items! Thank you again and please think of us next time you are in South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We do not really have complaints about this hotel: we received an upgrade in room, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the location was great for us. We did not take breakfast there as we had our breakfast at news cafe at the beach ( great!!!).
So yes, in this price category, this is a great hotel. I choose it mainly for the location and it seems it was a good choice for us.

Room Tip: We booked a standard and received an upgrade to the nicest suite. This room is at the street side bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you! I am glad you had a good and pleasant stay! Room 210 is indeed very nice as it has a balcony overlooking famous Collins avenue, it is rare to have a 1st row seat to the South Beach show like this without being overly bothered by the noise and chaos!
Thank you for your comments and the time you took to share them, it is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stayed one night as a layover from our cruise to our flight. We arrived very early but felt welcome anyway. The receptionist held our luggage for us so we could walk around South Beach. She called us when our room was done and then she had already moved all of our luggage to the room before we areived. The only reason i didn't give a 5 circle rating is because our room wasnt great. It was right next to the lobby and very noisy. After 7 days on the ship we wanted a little quiet time. There were also a couple small things wrong with the room. This hotel had supposedly just been remodeled but it wasnt done very well in this room. I would however recomend stayng here and would go back and ask for another room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Arriving prior to the check-in time in our hotel has never been an issue and we are pleased to welcome you anytime!
I do want to thank you for your kind words despite the fact that you were not 100% satisfied with your room and please know that I do feel terribly sorry about this.
Due to the small structure of the hotel, our handicapped accessible room is closer to the lobby and since we were completely sold out that day, we could not move you to another room. The next time you come visit us, please contact me personally and I will ensure that your stay and your room will be everything you expected and more! I sincerely mean it.

Thank you and I hope to get the chance to make a better impression very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leverett
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Even though the Impala is located in a busy part of South Beach, it couldn't be more peaceful and calm in it's tucked-away spot, with great little garden to sit in, have a glass of wine, or take-out some dinner from the delicious restaurant in front (Spiga). My room was very large, extremely comfortable, with a great, beautifully appointed bathroom. The people who worked at the hotel were fabulous-so helpful, accommodating, informative. I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the tine to share your experience! Everything you described is exactly how we want our guest to feel in our hotel! Thank you, you cannot imagine how happy this makes us feel! We hope to welcome you again soon for an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.