We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Tranquil little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all of the positive reviews on TA, my husband and i chose the Impala and were so happy we did! Romain was excellent at check- in and helped us secure dinner reservations as well as point us in the right direction for lunch on Ocean Drive. Our room was on the main flloor and very quiet. It was tastefully appointed and spotlessly clean. Comfy bed, mini fridge and roomy bathroom made for a relaxing stay. Any staff we encountered were very friendly and eager to assist. After walking the entire South Beach area, we felt The Impala was perfectly situated...close to everything but far enough to maintain its tranquil setting. Do not hesitate to stay here....you will not be disappointed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Tripadvisor is indeed our best source of recommendation and our guests often tell us that they are glad they trusted the reviews they saw on Tripadvisor when deciding which hotel to book in Miami Beach. Which is why we cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience as well for other travelers to see.
You can imagine how happy that makes us every time we hear that our staff and services met our guests' expectations and more. Romain and the rest of the team join me to thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Impala for an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    99
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
213
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved the Hotel Impala, the calming Mediterranean feel of the hotel is a great respite from the 'busy-ness' of Miami. We were in deluxe room with 2 queen beds. I have to say that the beds were one of the most comfortable beds I've had the pleasure of sleeping on - and I travel quite a lot! Sheets and comforter were all top quality and high threadcount, pillows like clouds supporting you after a long day of walking around.

Great value and highly recommend.

For our car, we did not use the valet service but you can find a lot just half a block away where you can securely park overnight for $15 USD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
How nice and pleasant it is to know that you experienced calm and quiet while being in the middle of the South Beach action! This is exactly what we aim to be and it is just great to know that we have met our goal! Our bedding is very special as well, we love it and are glad that you loved it too, especially if you travel a lot and have had the opportunity of trying many different beds! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we booked the day before our arrival a deluxe room, but we had the surprise to stay in the grand suite: a wonderful, elegant 611 sq.meter suite with a nice balcony. thanks to roman, the desk manager and to all the staff. a plus for the breakfast, in a perfect european style. recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Well, for a special occasion we wanted to make sure you had a very special room :-) The Master Suite is indeed beautiful and I am glad you enjoyed it. I did pass the message to Romain and the entire staff who join me to thank you for your nice comments. We hope to welcome you again soon for another special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souillac, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Impala Hotel in Miami Beach (South Beach, which is largely a shopping and partying scene for the younger crowd but graced by stunning art deco architecture, a variety of restaurants and some interesting museums). The lobby, located several yards off busy Collins Ave. in the heart of South Beach, is charming, and our room on the ground floor (with two queen-size beds) was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a handsomely appointed marble bathroom, flat-screen TV, mini-fridge and Nespresso coffee maker. The staff were friendly and had lots of good restaurant suggestions (including Larios on the Beach, with authentic and varied Cuban cuisine and music). Our room, while it lacked a view, was for the most part quiet. There was one unfortunate incident involving another guest making noise in the middle of the night -- through no fault of the hotel's. Nevertheless, the manager graciously compensated us for one night's stay and offered us a complimentary stay for the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your extremely nice review. I cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience the way that you did! As mentioned in our previous correspondence, I am happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel and that I was able to follow up in a way that met your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you again soon for a perfect experience this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have been meaning to write a review for some time now and share with the fellow travelers my experience. First of all I was reluctant to stay here as it’s not a famous “hip” hotel but let me tell you the stay exceeded my expectations. It’s run like a family hotel and everyone from the General Manager to the housekeeping staff makes you feel right at home. I was recovering from an appendectomy and I really felt taken care of. Asked for a microwave for the room but as they didn't have one to provide for my room the housekeeper let me in the “staff room” to warm up my oatmeal there. Now that’s friendliness! Location is perfect, just blocks away from the action (Ocean dr., Lincoln, Espanola way) but still quiet enough for when you want to disconnect. Be sure to try out the Italian restaurant downstairs. Please keep up the good work! Notice this hotel has been climbing up the Tripadvisor ladder and rightfully so. Look forward to staying here again when I’m back in Miami.

Room Tip: Junior suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you step into the lobby of the Impala, you'll likely meet Roman manning the desk. He is the epitome of helpfulness, kindness and efficiency. He'll carry your bags, answer your every question and find you a taxi to take you to a recommended restaurant. Take advantage of his knowledge.

This lovingly renovated hotel is a testament to good taste. A small fortune has been spent on the beautiful tiling throughout the establishment. The rooms are cleanliness itself, the beds are divine and the bathrooms spacious with modern fittings. The breakfast and lounging area alongside the hotel is a shaded oasis of cool breezes and calming greenery.

Some TA reviewers have correctly commented on the sound spill over from close by week-end night clubs. As someone whose career has been in acoustics I have to say that it is almost impossible to insulate a building against nearby pounding bass music, which has a propensity to travel. We were in room 202 and it was not loud enough to keep us awake. We stayed on consecutive Saturday nights.

In the interest of truthfulness I should say that room 202 looks out onto a rather dingy alley, so we walked a block and looked at the beautiful people on the beach instead. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
This review and especially its title put a big smile on everybody's face here at the Impala! Thank you! I am indeed very blessed to have someone such as Romain on my team and reading your feedback about him just confirmed how valuable he is, not only to the hotel but also to the guests! It is also very interesting to receive a feedback about the noise from someone who works in the acoustic industry. Even though you are right, it is very hard to soundproof completely the building, we have been taking these complaints very seriously and they should have been resolved. If for any reason there is still noise coming from the club (which there shouldn't), I strongly encourage our guests to inform us immediately and we will take action right away! But thank you for sharing your honest and realistic opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I are regulers at South Beach and have tried many hotels in the area. The Impala sits between 12th and 13th on Collins a block from the beach. You are close to everything including Lincoln Ave. You are in the quiet section which is great at night if you want to wind down without all the noise from the beach.

The Impala Hotel was clean and sleek. Staff was excellent. Room was a nice size and even had a small fridge. Bathrooms were huge compared to South Beach norm with an excellent shower.

We parked 1/2 block away at garage on corner of 13th for $20.00 a day. The valet at the hotel was $25.00.

We will be back to this hotel. Thank you for the great price also ($145.00 with taxes included)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you Michael! We indeed take great pride in being so close to the action without all the chaos and noise! And thank you for your nice words about our team. Whether it is our housekeeping team who does an amazing job, or the Front Desk team who is always ready to help, I am very proud to be surrounded by these great people who contribute daily to the success of the Impala! And of course our wonderful guests who help us improve every day:-) Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.