We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have been meaning to write a review for some time now and share with the fellow travelers my experience. First of all I was reluctant to stay here as it’s not a famous “hip” hotel but let me tell you the stay exceeded my expectations. It’s run like a family hotel and everyone from the General Manager to the housekeeping staff makes you feel right at home. I was recovering from an appendectomy and I really felt taken care of. Asked for a microwave for the room but as they didn't have one to provide for my room the housekeeper let me in the “staff room” to warm up my oatmeal there. Now that’s friendliness! Location is perfect, just blocks away from the action (Ocean dr., Lincoln, Espanola way) but still quiet enough for when you want to disconnect. Be sure to try out the Italian restaurant downstairs. Please keep up the good work! Notice this hotel has been climbing up the Tripadvisor ladder and rightfully so. Look forward to staying here again when I’m back in Miami.

Room Tip: Junior suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    96
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
38
209
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you step into the lobby of the Impala, you'll likely meet Roman manning the desk. He is the epitome of helpfulness, kindness and efficiency. He'll carry your bags, answer your every question and find you a taxi to take you to a recommended restaurant. Take advantage of his knowledge.

This lovingly renovated hotel is a testament to good taste. A small fortune has been spent on the beautiful tiling throughout the establishment. The rooms are cleanliness itself, the beds are divine and the bathrooms spacious with modern fittings. The breakfast and lounging area alongside the hotel is a shaded oasis of cool breezes and calming greenery.

Some TA reviewers have correctly commented on the sound spill over from close by week-end night clubs. As someone whose career has been in acoustics I have to say that it is almost impossible to insulate a building against nearby pounding bass music, which has a propensity to travel. We were in room 202 and it was not loud enough to keep us awake. We stayed on consecutive Saturday nights.

In the interest of truthfulness I should say that room 202 looks out onto a rather dingy alley, so we walked a block and looked at the beautiful people on the beach instead. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
This review and especially its title put a big smile on everybody's face here at the Impala! Thank you! I am indeed very blessed to have someone such as Romain on my team and reading your feedback about him just confirmed how valuable he is, not only to the hotel but also to the guests! It is also very interesting to receive a feedback about the noise from someone who works in the acoustic industry. Even though you are right, it is very hard to soundproof completely the building, we have been taking these complaints very seriously and they should have been resolved. If for any reason there is still noise coming from the club (which there shouldn't), I strongly encourage our guests to inform us immediately and we will take action right away! But thank you for sharing your honest and realistic opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I are regulers at South Beach and have tried many hotels in the area. The Impala sits between 12th and 13th on Collins a block from the beach. You are close to everything including Lincoln Ave. You are in the quiet section which is great at night if you want to wind down without all the noise from the beach.

The Impala Hotel was clean and sleek. Staff was excellent. Room was a nice size and even had a small fridge. Bathrooms were huge compared to South Beach norm with an excellent shower.

We parked 1/2 block away at garage on corner of 13th for $20.00 a day. The valet at the hotel was $25.00.

We will be back to this hotel. Thank you for the great price also ($145.00 with taxes included)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you Michael! We indeed take great pride in being so close to the action without all the chaos and noise! And thank you for your nice words about our team. Whether it is our housekeeping team who does an amazing job, or the Front Desk team who is always ready to help, I am very proud to be surrounded by these great people who contribute daily to the success of the Impala! And of course our wonderful guests who help us improve every day:-) Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went to Miami last minute, no reservations. The Impala Hotel had one room left; fortunately for me. One block from beach, clubs & shopping. Restaurant on premises should not be missed. I will return...with reservations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Spiga should indeed not be missed! The pastas are handmade daily, and we are very lucky to have this fabulous restaurant in our hotel! Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future trips to South Beach. It is of course always safer to reserve ahead of time, but I am glad we were able to accommodate you regardless this time! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, there's no better gift than knowing we were able to meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Super clean rooms that look to be newly renovated. Staff was awesome. So close to the beach. The staff is very knowledgeable for dinner ideas when you don't want to eat at the restaurant attached. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am glad to know that you were well advised during your stay with us. Concierge services are very very important to us and we are working hard to grow our knowledge and network in order to provide our guests with a full time, dedicated Concierge who can recommend the finest places according to your specific needs. We want to make your trip as easy as possible so that all you have to worry about; is enjoying yourself! The rest is taken care of! So thank you, and the next time you are in town, I hope you will enjoy our improved and extended Concierge services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We stayed there twice during the past few weeks, before & after heading to Barbados. The staff were friendly and always helpful. The hotel itself is charming and great location on Collins Ave. A minute's walk to the busy ocean esplanade. We had room 201 on the upstairs level. Whilst the wardrobe space is small there's heaps of room to spread your gear around! Bathroom terrific and clean. We're in our 50's and early sleepers - had no trouble with noise. We were able to leave extra luggage there while we went to Barbados which was so convenient. Would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind comments! We indeed try to offer a home away from home where you feel special and at the Impala, you can be sure that you will never be just another face in the crowd! Our location and size allow us to provide every guest with a unique personalized service and we hope this is how you felt with us. Thank you again and please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Impala last week for one night. We were very happy every aspect of the hotel. If you are looking for a small hotel in a great location, the Hotel Impala is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am glad to know that you were very happy with your stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with others! I share every comments with our team members and these kinds of comments simply put smiles on faces and give energy and motivation to do better each day, so thank you and please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.