We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Impala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Impala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Priceline.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Impala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Christmas getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel through the good reviews on Trip Advisor. My husband and I wanted to stay two days Christmas eve and Christmas Day and made reservations a couple of days before. On our first night, my husband became ill, experiencing a lot of pain in his shoulder that needs rotator cuff repair. When we decided to leave one day early, the staff was so nice and understanding. I fully expected to have to pay for the 2 days but the wonderful lady at the front desk on Christmas Day only charged us for the one! What a wonderful Christmas present! We will definitely go back to this hotel! It was most pleasant and felt quite luxurious. I loved the little courtyard you walk through to the lobby.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do our best to be flexible when it comes to unexpected events such as this one! I hope your husband is now feeling better and that you will be able to fully enjoy your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    89
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
179
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

rooms: quite small but very stylish design, very comfy beds, thick walls (couldn't hear any other guests), room didn't let much light in due to blacked out bathroom windows and main window facing an ally. very clean rooms.

location: excellent, safe location. 1 min to ocean drive and 3 min to beach. close enough to all attractions but out of the way so its not noisey at night.

staff: very helpful and polite. although when booking the hotel we were told on the internet that parking was € 20 a night when we arrived at the hotel we were told it was €25 and they wouldn't change it. also the valet staff drove our car very fast and crazy. breakfast is €10 a person for continental.

overall a lovely hotel. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Being a part of our guests' memory is the greatest Christmas gift we could get! Our staff members always try their best to provide a unique personalized service and the entire team joins me to thank you for your kind words.
Concerning the noise from the club, I would like to inform you that we have been working with them very closely after hearing some of our guests' feedback and they have been very cooperative and understanding. They helped us resolve this matter and we are no longer hearing any noise coming from the club nor having any guest complaints. Thank you for your feedback and allowing us to take action quickly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Hessen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Thanks for the nice days. The hotel is very friendly and perfect. The location on Ocean Drive leaves no wish unfulfilled. And South Beach has its own charm. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I will draw on this wonderful memory for long.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room the 104th Night could possibly from the nearby disco penetrate some noise in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Impala Hotel was not our original choice.

We had booked La Flora, two doors up the street but they had "bumped" us and sent us to this hotel. We are so glad they did.

This hotel is small with a lovely Italian restaurant at the front that serves good Italian food and have nice and helpful staff who made a cup of tea for my bed-bound wife without any problem. Nice.

The rooms are a delight. Art Deco style, large and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Thoughtfully chosen paintings adorn the walls and the bathrooms are big and practical. The housekeeping ladies were sweet and very nice people.

The Impala is only five minutes from the beach and in the heart of South Beach.

The only drawback is the nightclub at the rear of the hotel that, on weekends, pumps out thumping music. Keep the windows shut but its not that loud unless you are a very light sleeper like me.

Don't disregard this hotel because of the nightclub. They hate them too. And all the other good points far way out this small issue.

We highly recommend The Impala Hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room that doesn't pick up the distance nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are so happy to know that we were able to turn an inconvenient situation into a great experience and cannot thank you enough for your kind words!
I do apologize about the noise and any inconvenience caused by it. I am happy to inform you that we have taken this issue into our own hands and with the cooperation of the management of the club in question, this issue has now been resolved.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you again very soon with no noise of any kind this time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a wonderful find! Unbelievable rate, so close to everything. We spent only one night on our way to the Keys, but truly enjoyed it. Maggie was so friendly and helpful. Every time we saw her, she had a beautiful smile and a friendly attitude. She offered umbrellas in the rain, offered directions and recommendations, watched our luggage and even walked us to our room.

The room itself was super-charming. Two of us stayed in a king room and had plenty of space, although the closet was tiny. Everything was extraordinarily clean. The whole place had a very European feel, with the half-shower and the way you left your keys at the front desk each time you left the hotel.

The one thing to keep in mind is that the Impala shares an alley with Mansion. It wasn’t noisy and didn’t keep us awake, but we were aware of the “thump” of the music throughout the night. I was happy that I had a white noise app, otherwise it may have been distracting.

Overall, we couldn’t have been happier and would highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments. Maggy joins me to thank you for your kind words and the entire team at the Impala is delighted to read that you had a good experience! We are taking notes of your feedback regarding Mansion and be assured that we are already taking action to resolve this issue. Our guests' well being and quietness are our top priority! Thank you again, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wow, what a chance we had to spend it in the heart of south beach in a small chic hotel. We had the chance to stay in the master suite and it was one of the best rooms i ever stayed in. No elevators but no worries! a private balcony, a big bathroom which is a luxury in SOBE, living room, master bedroom the works. The hotel manager Christelle is on hands and really takes care of her guests and remembers everyone by name! Her staff is like that as well which is great, especially in the sometime "snobby" SOBE district :)
Try out Spiga, the restaurant which is not part of the hotel but has deals with them. Homemade pasta !

Room Tip: Try Spiga the restaurant, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you Adrien for these wonderful comments! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful Master Suite, it is a little jewel indeed and is getting even more enjoyable as we installed a new rain shower spa in the bathroom! Hopefully next time you come you will be able to fully experience our new showers! I shared your comments with the team and we are very touched as we try very hard to provide a unique personalized service to every guest that walks through our door. We want to make sure that with us, you feel at home...Thank you again and please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After scouring different websites for a reasonably priced yet highly rated hotel, we settled on the Impala. It was everything it promised to be, and more. The room was bright, clean, and recently renovated with a beautiful shower and high-end finishes. The courtyard leading into the hotel is quiet and a place to reflect and relax after a hot day in South Beach. The staff was courteous, and went above and beyond, especially Maggie who, after we had asked about Little Havana, called a friend to ask about good dining in the area, as well as locating a record store for us to get the music we were looking for. To Maggie and the rest of the staff, thank you! You managed to create a relaxed atmosphere for us, while paying individual attention to the things that we wanted most to experience while in Miami. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Hotel Impala, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Your wonderful review put a smile on Maggy's face, and on mine as well since everything you described in your review and enjoyed about the Impala is exactly the what we strive for. Peacefulness, cleanliness, one on one service tailored to meet your specific needs, and intimacy. We don't want you to be just another face in the crowd, and nothing makes us happier than knowing we made you feel special! Thank you again, on behalf of Maggy and the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Impala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impala

Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Impala 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Impala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Impala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.