We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Each Day
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fleet, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Three night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel via British Airways and paid a little extra for the better TA feedback, as expected the hotel delivered well.

2 twin queen rooms were booked which upon arrival turned out to be one twin and another super king, the staff quickly moved two of our party into another room.

If you are travelling from Europe all I can say is the suites are huge! We could have slept another three adults in one room (another single and bunk) or two in the other room, we missed a trick and should booked only one room and then the other two people flights only (you would have had to contact the hotel first). The kitchen was large and well spec'd you could fit someone in the fridge! Lounge was large with two big sofas.

Hotel breakfast was good, we didn't pay for it but got vouchers included apparently. Although one pool was being renovated the noise was quite loud and there was no prior warning.

Bell boys got taxis whenever needed.

If you go to the hotel bar in the evening get a hide cocktail from James!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your 3 night’s getaway with us. Our staff is fully committed to exceeding your expectations and I am glad to see we were able to quickly resolve the mistake at check in. We are a unique discovery to many travelers who have not experienced us before. We offer large accommodations with the smallest unit being 900sq and accommodating up to 4 people. Breakfast is always a treat and you should try the legendary Shula steakhouse next time
We look forward to welcoming you back, on your next venture across the pond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    197
    84
    79
    95
See reviews for
355
105
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived at the Alexander after an early morning start and long flight. Check in was typically efficient and all was already set with welcome letter an complimentary coupons for dining and drinks.

We had asked for a high floor suite and closer to the ocean rather than the inter coastal waters so the allocated suite 1109 was "in spec".

The configuration of the suite wasn't what we had asked for but fortunately, our Jamaican friends husband had pulled out of the holiday or there would have been a problem.

Secondly, we were so tired from the long day, we just couldn't be bothered to go back to the front desk (with luggage) to view another suite. Normally we would leave the luggage at the front desk and view the suite but having been allocated suite 1109 we were certain that the other requests would be met. I would suggest that the front desk should have some sort of information on all the configuration and contents of each suite.

Anyway, having decided to stay in the suite, we set about the more important things and pulled out the laptop, ipad and iphone and hooked up to the FREE WI-FI with the username and password supplied at the front desk. Yes, let me repeat, FREE WI-FI, a definite improvement since our last visit.

It was a nice suite overall but I was rather disappointed with the kitchen having no dishwasher (which we now expect as standard) no oven ware and limited utensils. Although no two suites are the same and most likely owned by different people, the Alexander, should, I feel insist on minimum equipment for the various suites.

The large pool is been re-designed and the fitness centre currently out of commission and though irritating was not a huge disappointment to me. There was daily noise from all the ongoing building activity which wasn't a problem as we were out most of the days anyway.

However, the Alexander could have made prospective guests aware of the on-going works and non available facilities which seems to have been the basis of some negative reviews that I recently read. As an IT guy, I know it doesn't take much to put that up on the website.

All in all, it is still a great place to stay, great staff in all departments particularly the front desk, concierge and valet guys who are so polite and attentive.

We are here again next year and I should imagine in I future years and I recommend it to all reasonable people.

Room Tip: High Floors give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review!
I am so happy reading your comments and knowing that we were able to create another memorable experience. We definitely have some amazing people working with us and I will make sure to let them all know of the positive impression they made on you. Thank you for letting us know your suite did not have a dishwasher, indeed, our suites are all privately owned and we will enforce the needed feature.
We greatly appreciate your loyalty over the years and look forward to welcome you back home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had an excellent five days get away in this place where we enjoyed everything. The staff was very kind, breakfast excellent and our suite very comfortable. We appreciated the swimming pool and the direct access to the beach. We sure will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at the Alexander and so happy to see that you enjoyed your suite accommodations, restaurant service and helpfulness of the staff so you will look no further for accommodation on your next visit to Miami
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel was great. The staff was friendly, and the location was relaxing and utterly beautiful. It was an extremely romantic little getaway of sorts for my boyfriend and I. Also the food is very tasty at Shula's - best steak.

Room Tip: Oceanfront. Oceanfront. Ocean. Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
It was such a pleasure to read your wonderful review on our beautiful property. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful getaway and hope you return as a repeated guest of ours. I am very proud of my front office team, as they constantly go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests
I am very happy you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the beauty of our property to the delicious “still undefeated” Shula’s steak (the best beef money can buy).
We look forward to your future stays with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen county nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is lovely with its old world history and beautiful antiques scattered around. Our apartment was wonderful. Clean, good price, excellent value. We did not eat there so cannot comment on restaurant. Beach and pool are beautiful. Management was always available when needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Alexander and you found our historic building stepped in charm. The Alexander was built during the late 1960's by Mr. Alexander Muss and much of the decor that remains in the main areas of the building and Shula's Steak House can be attributed to his personal collection of European Antiques.
Thank you so much for such a kind review and hope you will come back as a repeated guest of ours for another spectacular experience. Don’t miss the opportunity to try the famous Shula’s steakhouse on your return.
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The room we stayed in was big and appropriate for larger families but offered little in comfort.

The living area had 2 couches which were dirty and you sat on the springs. The other half of the room had a round table for dining but the table was not attached to the legs. So, we were always on the edge of having the entire top fall off. Absolutely no effort was put into making this room welcoming or comfortable. white walls, white blinds, a TV, 2 couches and a table.

I too was disappointed that the "bigger" pool was closed. I didn't know it before I checked in and I would expect a discount on the room - none received) The hotel is pretty dated.

The one redeeming quality was that the staff (check in desk, bar tender, and valet parkers) were very nice.

I wouldn't stay here again unless I wanted the space and was willing to start cooking for myself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to express your honest review of our property. I am very pleased to hear that the Alexander team, from the front desk to the valet, made your stay pleasant, however it pains us to see you have left with such a poor impression of the maintenance of the suite you were given. Claims like yours are not handled lightly and everything you described will be taken care of immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention…
Our hotel is a historical property and our guests admire its’ antique beauty. We are also taking the time to renovate some areas of the property such as the lower pool as you mentioned. We still have the upper pool available and have a private access to the beach.
We hope you will return to see all the exciting changes we are making once our renovations are complete so we may show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you have come to expect from the Alexander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Mmmmmm lots of varying feedback about this hotel.. I'm here right now .. I can tell you first hand .. The reception although quite dated is "ok" .. The rooms however are disgustingly dirty.. The kitchen area absolute filth.. The bed was broken in our room .. The toilet keeps getting blocked.. A new swimming pool is being built.. The workmen start 8am with their drilling..
The receptionists are helpful & polite.. The valet service is great but very expensive $20 to park during day and $29 dollars to park overnight.. The hotel has a restaurant.. Overpriced & the menu just doesn't fit in with the style.. There was a wedding going on yesterday.. Why anyone would want to stay in this filthy hotel during there wedding is beyond me..
I wouldn't recommend this hotel.. There are plenty of others to choose from

Room Tip: We looked at 6 diff rooms .. All of same quality.. Filth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
This was a hard one to read. I am so sorry this was your experience but thank you for your honesty and candor in describing your suite and stay. It sounds like we really missed the mark in just about every aspect of your stay and for this we apologize. Slight remark: valet parking is $15 for visitors and $26 for overnight.
If you wish to discuss your visit further with a member of our executive team, please reach out to the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.