We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Incredible Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Alexander exceeded my expectations. The suites were incredibly spacious and well furnished, the room felt like a home away from home. The staff was all incredibly helpful and friendly (which is unfortunately becoming less common in the hospitality industry these days).
The location is perfect - close enough to the main strip that it's a short and cheap cab ride, but far enough removed that it's not noisy and congested at all hours...
The pool area is great as well - a nice small bar and two pools (one heated, one not).
Overall a great property, but the only thing lacking was dining options - not much of a room service menu (and very expensive) and the only dinner option was Shula's Steakhouse.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write such great comments about the Alexander.
I am sorry you found our room service menu lacking varieties of options. Guest’s feedback is our best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We have used your feedback in a positive manner and have put steps in place to update the menu.
I am happy that all of your experiences with the staff were exceptional and created a memorable experience for you and your family.
We do hope you'll return.....soon and often.

Warm Regards

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    179
    74
    71
    87
See reviews for
319
95
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at The Alexander hotel at the end of February.
The staff ,specially Robert the concierge was amazing to us.
We had left a bag in the taxi that brought us from the airport . He help us so much to find it, he was wonderful.
The parking attendant was very helpful also
We had a two bedroom suite which was perfect for 8 peoples.
The location is also great...just on the beach
We will definitly go back
We had a good experience
Thank you again Robert for your help

Room Tip: Ask for a suite that was newly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy that you made the trip in the colder weather and enjoyed the beautiful oceanfront views the Alexander offers.
Thank you for the great comments about Robert! I’ll be sure to pass them along to him. Robert has been a longtime concierge at our hotel with a great reputation for going above and beyond for whatever our guests would need, and I’m glad he was able to help you locate your luggage.
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great review and we look forward to your future stay with us.

Best Regards

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed the suite we had and loved having a kitchen. The suite was quiet, very clean and the staff attentive. The valet staff was outstanding. It was nice to have the beach right outside the hotel. We also liked how it was so easy to get to other areas of Miami from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms\balcony's are sunnier on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second stay at the Alexander Hotel. The staff was amazing and the location cant be beat. I will definately stay at the Alexander Hotel each time that I am in Miami.The Shula's food and service was wonderful the pool was well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The morning sun rising out of the ocean as seen from our ocean view suite is something I won't quickly forget. The size of the suite provided an excellent and comfortable base for our families vacation in Miami Beach. The twin pools (1 salt water and 1 fresh water) and the ocean provided us with wonderful choices for water fun. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We recommend an Ocean view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in the Alexander Hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The grounds are conducive for relaxing. The hotel is on the ocean so one walks only a short distance to the beach. The Hotel is a short taxi ride or bicycle ride to South Beach. A short distance north are restaurants and shops also. The rooms are suites and therefore very spacious. We plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela I, Front Office Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed our amenities and I'm happy to hear our staff was able to take care of you. One the best features of our hotel is its ideal location, right in the middle of Miami Beach, short drive from South Beach with its excellent dining and attractions.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and sharing your comments with others.
We look forward to your future stay with us.

Sincerely

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been coming to this place for the last 8 years and finally I decided to write a review after spending 2 weeks there this Christmas/New Year. The reason we keep returning is because we have family that live in the area, we love the location and the entire Miami scene in general.

This hotel/condo is located directly on the beach, about a 10 minutes drive to South Beach and a 15 minutes walk to a fantastic boardwalk. The condo we always rent is beautiful, modern and spacious, has a full kitchen, dining area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and accomodates up to 6 people. Although we've had friends who also rented condos at the Alexander and in comparison there accomodations have been standard.

There are 2 pools. One that no one uses during Christmas because it is icy cold and one heated pool on the upper deck which is usually over crowded. Our family enjoys spending the day on the beach. What we like about this resort is that their beach area is not as busy and over crowded as the neighbouring higher end Eden Roc & Fontaine Bleau hotels which are comparitively much more expensive to stay at.

The front desk/pool bar service is average, although even the higher end hotels in the area that we stayed at don't offer better service. Their valet parking is excellent and offers a very speedy service which is ideal for a family on the go. The building and loby is dated and in need of renovations. We went to Shulas restaurant in the hotel for the first and last time. It is completely over priced for the service & food and there are better restaurant options in the area.

Bottom line if you compare the Alexander Miami Beach to others hotels in the area you get much better value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.