We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few bad Eggs Spoil It” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chatham ont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Few bad Eggs Spoil It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After sailing on the Carnival Glory Ship for 7 days, we arrived for 2 days at The Alexander, check in was great, speedy and available earlier than we expected, we had a delux suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bath and kitchen, a great view and balcony. The kitchen could have been more equipped with more appliances such as blender and more pots selection and oven pans needed. also could have used oven mitts.

There is beach access which is wonderful. however after retuning from the beach, i required a new towel and the employee at the pool would not give me a new one, he said"only one per day" this is unreasonable, we stay at a resort to have access to clean towels. It left a sour taste to me, when i reported it to front desk they were applogetic however i feel they should have done more for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    187
    79
    75
    91
See reviews for
334
101
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As I arrived in my suite, very nice and wide, I found some blood on the pillow and the pillows and the sheets of the bed were dirty. I asked for a new suite, clean, and the new one, nice but more little, was not really clean too. The blankets had wide spots. We asked for the replacement of the sheets. During my stay in the hotel, wen we used to come back from the beach or from tours, al 5 pm, the suites were never cleared up, and we had to look for the chambermaid and wait from 30 minutes to 1 hour to have the possibility to have a shower and prepare for the evening. Even if we were complaining about it, nobody was helping us, or apologizeing. Go to other hotels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our third consecutive stay at the Alexander Hotel which is now our hotel of choice in Miami and we would not consider staying anywhere else.

Again we we stayed in a nice 2 bed suite (1104) which served as a comfortable base for our daily forays in Miami and comfortable sleeping and relaxation when we chose to stay indoors.

The suites are fitted with fully equipped kitchens which can save a fortune in eating out if you don't object to cooking while on vacation especially if you a have sizeable family of hearty eaters. A large Publix is located at 69 Block for all grocery requirements.

The hotel is outstanding in the friendliness and politeness of staff in all departments, front desk, concierge, valet parking, et al which can make a huge difference to your stay.

Checking in and out was a breeze as always and we had a complimentary late check out as our flight back to the UK was not until 21:30 this included the printing of our boarding tickets.

Our suite was cleaned every day and provided with fresh towels, we left a $2-3 tip for housekeeping every daiy as the suites are fairly large units.

I overheard a conversation at the Front Desk and it is worth noting that if you book a suite through the owner, you do not get any housekeeping services or towels from the hotel, just a key.

I must mention the valet parking staff who can't do enough for you whether it is parking and retrieving your cars, delivering your groceries or dropping off or picking up your luggage, we always tip them for these services which they greatly appreciate.

For our purposes, the hotel is conveniently situated centrally on Collins Avenue for our trips,North and South. As their are no local amenities [shops] transport is necessary be it your own or taxis. There is also a regular bus service outside the hotel.

Wireless is provided free in communal areas but we paid $50 a week for services in our suite, which though standard, I find irritating that you are charged for this, however, I find that internet connectivity is vital when you are on vacation to keep track on your bank accounts back home as you can never be too careful if you are using your debit/credit cards abroad.

A great place to stay for a comfortable home from home feeling, friendly and polite treatment and service.

Not for you if you are seeking plush decor and/or modern furnishing and decoration.

Room Tip: High Floors give better views of the Ocean or Inter Coastal waterways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Alexander in about 5 years. The Alexander is a collection of condos that are rented out as suites. We happened to be in a more modern room (2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms) this time than in 2007.

I am baffled as to how and why people select or judge a hotel based on the lobby. This one happened to be decorated for Christmas quite nicely and added a great flair to an otherwise mundane entrance.

What I like about the hotel...and this time of year...is the beach and pools are EMPTY. You feel like you have the entire place to yourself.

We stayed in SoBe for a few extra days following a wedding. The good..or bad, depending on your perspective... Is this hotel isn't really within walking distance of anything. While a relatively short cab ride away from downtown ($10-$15), we only wanted to stay on the beach and relax. If you want to go sight seeing, you should consider either renting a car or bringing lots of cash.

The food here is overpriced and average, but you don't have much of a selection this far north unless you go even further up Collins. Shula's is an award winning steakhouse and a must visit when you're here...not quite as pricey as Ruth's Chris but just as appetizing.

We ate in the garden terrace for breakfast buffet one day. The eggs were awful. Not much of a selection...coupled with an automatic 19% gratuity, 2 of us had sloppy eggs for 50$. We ordered room service the next day and had omelettes and waffles...better.. And sat on the balcony.

I don't think there is a bad view at the place. The gift shop prices are not as bad as I expected for a beachfront property (13$ for sun screen). Chair rental in beach is $6, umbrellas are $16. This may be "winter pricing" for off season.

The bartender at the poolside bar said things quiet down first week of December and pick up in February.

One annoyance is wifi isn't included. For over $300/night, give me free Internet. That is my only real complaint. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There were 4 of us in the suite. We all found it to be very clean, roomy, very comfortable beds, and AMAZING views! Loved the pool areas also and the easy access to the beach! We loved the old atmosphere, and found it very well kept! The staff was very friendly and courteous also. Actually we are already going back this weekend!!! The only complaint we had was to buy a cup of coffee was very expensive. We would definately recommend the Alexander to all of friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I should have done more reviews before going there. We were told about this hotel through their sister hotel, The Biltmore in Coral Gables, which we went to first. The Biltmore is outstanding and we expected the same from this one. My initial perception wasn't great - the reservation staff was short with me on the phone. Upon arrival, the entrance and lobby seem fine, but again, the front desk wasn't welcoming. We were looking for a full kitchen suite, which we got. We could see the beach from our side balcony. There were numerous issues with the suite...it was outdated - mirrors on the walls and doors (closets and bedrooms) - felt like a disco. They attempted to update the suite with the furniture which was nice. The carpet was gross. The closet doors were broken. The dishwasher didn't work, nor did an outlet in the kitchen. The pools were dirty. The outside bar was ok and the waitress there was great. The valet staff were unfriendly. We will definitely not go back unless we hear it has been overhauled.

Room Tip: It's more expensive to get a full ocean view and I don't think it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The alexander hotel isn't a fancy new upscale kind of hotel -- it's a feel good, clean, and great place to stay. We went Nov 14-18 and could not have asked for a better experience. They let us check in early, they were courteous and friendly and made great recommendations on where to go out in Miami. The hotel is RIGHT on the beach and has TWO amazing pools. The drinks at the pool bar were amazing-- thanks Willy! Freddy at the pool was great and Cristy at the front desk was a pleasure to deal with. I sincerely couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and a will definitely be back at the Alexander.

Thanks to the Alexander hotel team and management for having such a great facility. See you soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.