We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what they show on website” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not what they show on website”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Outdated, pricy and far from anywhere. Breakfast is pricy and uneatable. We could use only heated pool, in a few occasions towels were dirty. Bright side is that rooms are large, kitchen is fully equipped. There are many hotels in the area that conveniently located with walking distance from shops and restaurants, however If you stay in this hotel, you must have a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    181
    77
    72
    88
See reviews for
324
99
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I was part of a group traveling to Miami the weekend of may 20th, 2012. After studying the resort online we decided it would be a cheaper alternative to staying in the heart of south beach and we thought we would not be compromising much. We were wrong. We reserved 2 rooms for 3 nights starting Thursday and checking out Sunday for our group of 8 guys. The first three of us to arrive checked into the room that was ready and we were surprised that it did not look anything like any of the photos from the website. Having worked in different hotels and resorts myself I realized we had not picked an actual hotel but more of a resort company that manages privately owned condos and each one would be furnished according to how the owner sees fit. This did not seem like a problem at first since the room they let us check into was very modern and newly remodeled, however when the rest of the group was able to check into the second room we were not happy to find old furniture and countertops and just overall a lesser quality room. Seeing as how we didn't come to Miami to sit in the hotel rooms we did not let it bother us and we proceeded to go on with our vacation. The concierge and front desk agents were very helpful in getting us a cab when we needed and recommending different things to do around the resort and places to go. The pool area and bar were nice to sit at after hanging out on the beach and the breakfast buffet was adequate although a bit pricey and should have been included with the room rate. Saturday night May 19th 2012, my group was preparing to leave for a night on the town before we all went back home the following Sunday morning. We left the hotel by cab around 11 pm at night and did not return until roughly 4 in the morning. We noticed what looked like a high school prom party checking into the hotel as we left and didn't think anything of it. Upon our return after a long night in south beach our goal was to get to the rooms and try to sleep a few hours before catching our flights. We noticed the same high school prom party was now sitting outside the lobby with their luggage ready to leave looking very distraught. We walked back up to our rooms and none of our magnetic keys would work so we sent someone back to reactivate them. While the rest of our group awaited the return of a key the hotel security officer came up and said they needed our group to come down to the desk and that there is a problem but he can't tell us what it is. The front desk explained the high school prom party was involved in an underage drinking fiasco and one of the kids said our group was supplying the alcohol or something to that effect. We told them we have no connections to anyone in Miami and we are all from outta state and the desk made it seem like it was all a big misunderstanding and everything was ok and they gave us new keys and sent us on our way. Upon getting back to the room we discovered someone had entered our room and stolen well over 1000 dollars of electronics and whatever they could take in their pockets. We immediately called the front desk to determine if they had let anyone in our room since they locked us out for the underage drinking problem, over the phone we were told that yes they had opened our room but no one really walked inside(?!?!?). One of the guys in our group recorded his conversation with the security supervisor from the hotel and we were told the high schoolers had been staying in the room above us and said they were staying in our room. Apparently after they were asked to leave the hotel they made some claim about being locked out of the room my group was staying in and needed the hotel to let them in for whatever reason. The hotel proceeded to open our door for them even though these children could not even give the name we made our reservation under. Ultimately we were robbed because the hotel security/staff failed to follow pretty standard procedure in the lodging industry by opening a room for someone who could show absolutely no proof that they belonged there. Didi Lopez was the MOD when this event transpired and since my group was leaving before 8 am on Sunday there would be no upper management around until Monday. We filed a police report at the front desk and were told she would inform the higher ups and that we should try to call when they are in the office on Monday. Personally I would think a respectable general manager would drop everything and get to the hotel if guests were robbed and had their privacy violated. Needless to say it was a less than optimal ending to our vacation. Adding insult to injury though we have waited to post this review in the hopes that the Alexander would do the right thing or at least attempt to, sadly we have had no such luck. Didi Lopez has not returned our calls and the only way we have been able to even get her on the phone is by tricking her receptionist and even then all we get from her is that she has told her boss, Stanley Friedman, and that he would be returning our calls. Of course we have never heard back from them and upon a quick google search of Mr. Friedman it's not hard to see why, you can't expect a guy who has done 4 years behind bars for corruption to care much when it happens in his hotel. Would not recommend you stay here unless you travel with no valuables and have no opinion on the condition of the room you stay in.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We docked at the Miami port completing a cruise vacation and chose to extend our trip by staying an evening at the Alexander Oceanfront Resort. What a perfect choice! The views from our ocean-view room were breathtaking. It was absolutely the most beautiful and relaxing way to culminate our family vacation. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My stay at the Alexander was great
The amenities were top notch(Pool,Beach Access, Gift Shop).The restaurant "Shulas" was fantastic. The staff that tended the room everyday was nice as well as the front desk people in particular a young lady named Roxanne.She directed me toward
Restaurants and Nightlife specified for my taste.Saving me time and money.I am a traveling DJ and based out of Atlanta and I would without hesitation stay in suites of The Alexander every trip i have back to Miami now whether business or personal .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have chosen the Alexander two times and have decided that it is our "go to" lodging when in Miami Beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff is generally courteous and helpful, and the views from the balcony are fantastic. The hotel offers a quiet elegant break from the crowds and excitement of south beach when you need it and a quick path to the action, by cab or bus, when you want it. Remember that most of the suites are privately owned so the decor and appointments will vary but overall the Alexander is a GREAT value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom suite at the Alexander and were looking forward to our stay. The Alexander Hotel website boasts of being "Miami Beach's most elegant all-suite hotel". We were initially given a sparsely decorated, old fashioned suite. We complained and were moved to another suite which was much better however was still not the "luxury" suite promised on the website. We pointed out to the reception staff that the photos on the website do not reflect the suites on offer. The receptionist explained that each suite is privately owned and therefore standards and furnishings vary greatly. The pool area is OK with access to the beach. The cocktail bar was dark and service was poor - a cocktail bar with no cocktail menu. My gin cocktail was undrinkable. We decided to cancel our booking and take our custom elsewhere as we felt we had been mis-sold our accommodation. On the plus side, the reception staff and concierge were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband, daughter and I just spend a long weekend at The Alexander. My son is studying at the University of Miami and we decided to stay on Miami Beach so he could stay with us and enjoy the pool and beach. The rooms were huge - more like an apartment than a hotel - and we had a substantial kitchen as well. The room we had could have used a little updating but it was in good shape and clean. My only complaint was that we paid to check out late on our departure day since we had a 9:30 pm flight. This message was clearly not conveyed to the housekeeping staff since they knocked on our door 3 times to ask if we were leaving so they could clean. The front desk staff was very helpful and recommended several excellent restaurants. The parking attendants were prompt and also helpful with directions. The pool area was very nice and the beach, of course, is beautiful. The bar at the beach served excellent, if slightly costly, drinks and snacks. It was a wonderful break for my entire family. We will definitely stay at The Alexander again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.