We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but expensive (as expected)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #55 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect location but expensive (as expected)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on honeymoon in January 2014. The location is perfect, right on South Beach and the room was really big and lovely and clean. We had a view right out onto the beach which was brilliant.

The pool area was nice although the view from the pool is awful and we were unfortunate enough to be at the pool when the bins were being collected below and the smell was not great.

The valet parking was expensive ($35 per night) although this is to be expected in South Beach so we were not put off by that at all. Also the water provided in the room is also expensive but again to be expected as you are staying in the middle of South Beach.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was great. We both had steaks and they were really nice and worth paying that little bit extra. The decor of the lobby and the bar/restaurant is great.

All in all if we ever go back to Miami we will try and stay here again, finances permitting.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    220
    74
    35
    27
See reviews for
116
517
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My partner and I went to this hotel for a short getaway weekend to celebrate my birthday. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We walked around and saw that they take very good care of the hotel and the grounds. What a gorgeous room. Thank you for my champagne and fruits. Thank you also to David Mills for all your help. You where "on point" about this hotel! You are a true asset to this hotel! Until Next Time Tides!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful room. Well-appointed and clean with a tremendous view. Great staff willing to help any way they can. Beautiful mezzanine pool which is a quiet retreat if you want to get away from pulsing Ocean Drive. If there is any advice I can give that would help…the rooms come with two chairs and an umbrella provided by a professional firm who sets them up at the beach. Get to the beach early if you want to reserve a chair near the water…or if you don’t you’ll get a chairs four-rows back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great corner room with good view. Housekeeping and reception very good, hotel a little dated. Pool nice for relaxing. Beach close by. Bar guy so great , not cheap though. Good location. Gym small but sufficient. Lots of choice in area for food so wasn't busy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights as part of our honeymoon and had a great stay.

Hotel is extremely impressive and the staff were all incredibly friendly and greeted you every time you went through the lobby, we had a good laugh with the bar staff too watching the England v Uruguay World Cup game.

The hotel is well located on Ocean Drive for a host of great restaurants and bars as well as being a stone’s throw from the beach – the hotel has an area where you can get complimentary sun loungers, towels and an umbrella.

The room was huge and featured a walk-in closet as well as a really nice bathroom with some excellent toiletry products provided. The housekeeping service was first rate as well, coming twice a day.

We had a read some negative things about noise on the lower floors so when we arrived and got our room on the second floor we were a little concerned, more so when at around 6pm and severely jetlagged we could hear quite loud music coming from outside. However we went to bed very early that night and were not kept awake or disturbed in any way, nor were we any night for the rest of our stay, though we did not stay over a weekend.

The hotel restaurant is great for breakfast and has some very good offers but we didn’t eat there other than for breakfast.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked The Tides through my American Express Platinum Fine Hotels & Resorts benefits which I use often when I travel as the hotels are always top notch with great added benefits. The service team at The Tides was acceptable but certainly not at the level of the usual Fine Hotels & Resorts experience, front desk staff not very friendly and there is zero service at the pool although they claim on the website to have poolside service. I had a very large beautiful room with ocean view that was very well appointed, however, due to the location no matter where your room is in the hotel you will feel as if the music from the hotel restaurant and the neighbor restaurants is playing within your room. Bring earplugs or plan to be awake until 1 am. The major disappointment for me was the food. I had free breakfast included as well as a voucher for a meal and the 3 meals I did have were terrible. I had fish that was $38 and tasted as if it had been frozen and reheated. Avoid the restaurant at all costs. Overall, if you want to stay right in the heart of the South Beach chaos and hear music blaring in your beautiful room all night this is a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an amazing time, the people working made us feel at home, thank you so much...the only thing I will recommend is to get your own taxi if you need one, because the service of the company that they use is horrible, the drivers dont speak English they have a noisy radio and they over charge, beacuse they say they pay the hotel 10 dollars to do pick ups

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Otel, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
King And Grove Tides
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.