We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Three nights at The Tides South Beach was a great getaway vacation. The hotel staff is EXCELLENT! Everyone was helpful, friendly and genuinely interested in ensuring we had a great stay. The location of this hotel is excellent...right across from the beach, with easy access to lounging chairs and umbrellas. I was concerned about the noise that others had mentioned in their reviews as I am NOT 21 and very noise sensitive. I have to say, it didn't bother me at all (I was there during the weekdays). While the bar next door does have a microphone to the street and we could hear the entertainment, it all died down at 11:00 p.m., so there really is nothing to complain about. It didn't impact on our stay in a negative way at all. The beds are comfortable, the room spacious and clean, the bathroom nice too. The only recommendation I have is...clean the windows! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your authentic feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and your stay. We will share your feedback with our entire team. Hope to see you back at The Tides soon !!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    193
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
97
478
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

One of the biggest rooms I have ever encounted, with a view of the beach to die for.
A walk-in closet, bigger than most hotel rooms with a bathroom to indulge yourself in.
The entire staff team are the friendliest and most helpful a GM could wish for, everyone remembers your name, your favourite table and drink.
Theres no other place I would every consider to stay, you are in the centre of universe with Tides.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are glad that you loved your accommodations and the Team at The Tides. We will share your feedback with the entire team. We look forward to your return soon !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I must preface my review by saying that it was the restaurant, not the hotel, that put a bad taste in our mouths (literally and figuratively) and affected our experience in a negative way. We were prepared for the loud but oh so fun! drag queen show next door which goes on into the wee hours of the morning, you are in South Beach after all. The rooms were large and spacious, comfortable bed, nice walk-in closet and had a pretty view of the ocean, though the windows were dirty, perhaps with unavoidable salt deposits, but we did not see anyone clean them during our 3 day stay.
We booked our travel through Amex Platinum and breakfast plus 1 dinner were included. We are foodies and were excited to enjoy a few nice meals at this famous hotel. Not sure how you can mess up eggs and potatoes, but they managed to do it nonetheless. The breakfast was so unappealing and lacking taste, we just settled on a fruit plate for our last breakfast (also with subpar berries). Fresh OJ was wonderful at $8/glass. There was a piece of metal (real metal, thin and bent, could have caused some damage if I bit into it) in my potatoes and they brought a new dish which I did not want. I asked for the restaurant manager, but he never came. They took that dish off the bill after I complained to the waiter but still no manager. I spoke with the hotel manager who said the restaurant is ran by a separate entity and they are sorry for our experience. The hotel did send a bottle of champagne to our room, but it was at 10:15 at night, we were asleep, as it was the night before we were due to depart at 8 am. Needless to say, we did not drink it and left it in the room.
Also, the in room breakfast menu says they open at 7, but the actual time is 7:30, so if you are planning a coffee or juice before departing, you may not get it!
We also never used our dinner credit, since the restaurant food, as well as the manager who could care less, was so appalling. All in all, if you don't care about the food or the noise, it's a great location and you will love the rooms. Otherwise, there are plenty other hotels in SOBO that will tantalize your tastebuds along with a great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors supposedly get less noise, all rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest, so sorry to hear about your experience at the Restaurant. Frankly, we are embarrassed. please be assured that we are taking your feedback seriously and steps are being taken to avoid such incidents from occurring in the future. I can only hope that you will afford us another opportunity and return to stay with us and see the improvements that we are working on. Please feel free to contact me directly for you future reservations needs and i will personally oversee your reservation and stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

It has the location and the views ( if you're lucky). And the staff is still very nice and friendly, but not particularly efficient, perhaps because of cut backs?

It used to be a wonderful hotel, one of our favorites.

This visit, the sink didn't drain well. The bathroom didn't even have glasses. One of the shades was stained and worn. There was no turn down service for at least two of the days we were there. One sheet was actually dirty. There was no doorman most of the times we wanted our car or returned to the hotel. The hot water in the shower was difficult to turn hotter.

But the worst part of this visit was that we got a room on the second floor instead of the usual one we always reserve. They couldn't even give us another, smaller room on a higher floor (to have more quiet and to see the ocean) because the maids had already gone (early evening) and the vacant room hadn't been cleaned!

It was a comedy or errors.

I should add that the hotel thoughtfully did give us a bottle of champagne and a discount, but we would rather have been able to sleep, to see the sunrise, to have hot water, etc.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest, the entire team at The Tides would like to apologize for the experience you had this visit. During your visit, we have failed to achieve our goal which is creating a wonderful experience for our guests. Normally we go above and beyond to accommodate our guests, however due to limited availability, we were not able to do that for you. We do however recognize your preference regarding the room, and whenever possible, will accommodate your request during your future visits. The Tides may not have seen as good as before however rest assured, that past changes have not changed our goals and the standard of service that we aim to provide to our patrons. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to create a wonderful experience for you and we sincerely thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

South Beach Miami is never known as a place with great service , The Tides is the exception . Breakfast was wonderful and women at the front desk are both check in and Concierge and to both jobs brilliantly . The rooms are spotless and the bellhops get taxis for you . The view of the water is great .

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, found your accommodation comfortable and our team to be "brilliant". We will share your feedback with the team. We hope to see you soon again!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Is still my favorite hotel in SoBe. People are very friendly and i always feel home there. But c´mon, there is no need to have fake Nespresso capsules on your room´s machine on a $800 a day hotel room ( among other minor details)

Room Tip: the ones that ends in 01.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your authentic feedback. We are so glad that we make you feel at home and we are your favorite hotel in South Beach. Apologies for the minor defects. Please rest assured that we are making improvements to the quality of accommodations and the level of service that we provide to our guests and we very much appreciate your feedback since it helps us consider things that may need to be changed. Hope to see you again soon at your Miami home !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I just returned from two nights at the Tides. What we didn't realize was that it was the first weekend of Spring Break - South Beach was crazy! However, once you step off Ocean Drive, you'll find the hotel to be very calm, maybe even sleepy.

The rooms are great, with fabulous views down to the beach. The bathrooms are well appointed but lack a towel rail - I can never understand why hotels think a single hook is sufficient.

The one thing we did notice was that no staff member swings by the pool. If you want to order a drink you have to go down to the bar or call for someone to come and take an order. Staff aren't in short supply, so it would be easy to pop up there every 30 minutes or so.

Room Tip: Paying for the top floor rooms is definitely worth it, but even then the street noise is pretty bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and also for the feedback to us. It helps us work with improving ourselves and our guests' experience. I am glad that you found The Tides to be calming with all the craziness or Ocean Drive. Hope you see you again soon !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.