We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at The Tides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Daily Breakfast Credit
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience at The Tides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The Concierge was so helpful with booking dinner reservations, giving advice on where to go for shopping, giving us a round of drinks at the tides restaurant, and having chairs w umbrellas at the beach. The staff is very friendly, the room was beautiful, and I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest, so nice to hear that you had a great vacation at The Tides. I will share your positive feedback with our concierge team as well. Come back soon for the sun and the fun !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    186
    63
    29
    26
See reviews for
94
469
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Second time staying here and not sure I would come back. I knew about the noise - and it does stop at 11 pm for the most part. The maid knocking on the door to clean at 9 a.m. though was a problem. This is Miami Beach after all, and we were up late, and wanted to sleep in. Make sure you put the privacy hanger on your door before you go to bed, as this happened more than once. The room cleaning was a bit uneven - some days fantastic, other days not so great (no tissues replaced, no bath mat etc). The room is really large and the view lovely. The beach set up is fantastic and easy - 2 chairs and an umbrella. The service is all very professional and pleasant. Ate in room and if you keep it simple it is very good- sandwiches and burgers were fine. Did not use the pool, but it looks pleasant but has no view at all. Breakfast at The News Cafe, or walk down to Starbucks or over to the little market between 12th and 11th on Washington Ave for authentic cuban Guava tarts and coffee along with lots of other treats (it is a mini grocery with a little window for ordering). All in all it is pleasant but next time I think I would like to be in a quieter section (south of 8th I think) to avoid the hoopla of Ocean Drive between 8th and 16th Street. It was a really busy time when we were there, however, Spring Break and LGBT week, so that was part of the noise and crowd issues. They had their own entertainment out front at night which is nice, but not when it is fighting the guys dressed up as women next door singing Cher and Gaga . Made everything a bit frenetic! Not a bad choice to stay, for a larger room on the strip in the middle of everything within walking distance of shopping and restaurants - but know what you are going to get along with all that.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may be slightly less noisy. Also tubs have a very high step over into the shower so cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your authentic feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you were bothered by the room attendant in the morning at 9am. We take your feedback as a tool for us to improve upon guest experience and we will share with our teams as well. I am glad that you enjoyed your suite and the views of the ocean. Generally March is a busy month due to music conference in Miami however it is not this noisy all year round. We hope that you will return and stay with us and have a different/ improved experience. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the location of this hotel right in amongst the lively South Beach. Ideal for beach, bars and restaurants.
The room was extremely large with a view over the beach and ocean.
The service from reception was excellent and there was a friendly feel to the hotel.
Not sure why the outside restaurant was so quiet, or indeed the bar area which was very attractive but often empty. I think they need to decide whether they are trying to compete with the many other 'offer' restaurants along the front, or provide a premium experience in keeping with the hotel.
The complimentary beach beds were also very welcome.
When we arrived (Sunday night) South Beach was buzzing and the noise from the local bars was loud, however, as we were promised this finished at a reasonable time and we were able to sleep well.
Was very good value, given we had been given a special rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your most positive and rewarding feedback.
My colleagues and I could not be more pleased and encouraged. I have shared your wonderful comments with them. Although the noise on Ocean Drive has been a challenge for us however we are always working diligently to reduce our guest inconvenience to a minimum by keeping a watch on the noise level late evening and contacting the appropriate authorities if needed. I do believe that other travelers will find your review helpful and we thank you for this.
We look forward to welcoming you home soon and remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Tides Hotel on Ocean Drive, Miami Beach was the best located hotel I've ever stayed in.
My highlight was the signature Popsicle Martini poolside at sunset..........before partying on the terrace. My first experience of South Beach lifestyle was made by the amazingly friendly and helpful staff - I have to go back ! Beautiful rooms and in the 1930's art deco elegance.

Room Tip: Have a Ocean view room for the best people watching you can imagine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It is so nice to read your gracious feedback on your recent stay at The Tides.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay all round.
Looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had three rooms for a large bachelor party. Each room was very spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean. The hotel is pricey, but the rooms are very nice, with very nice bathrooms as well. The pool area is ok, but was mainly only used for relaxing after sitting at the beach. The beach is right across the street, and you get two or three free chairs per room. I would definitely recommend staying away from the restaurant though, the lunch we got one day was not very good.

Room Tip: I'm guessing the ocean view was more expensive, but it was worth it for the view and wake up cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for our authentic feedback regarding your stay. We are working on improving ourselves and your feedback is very important for this reason. Hope to see you in Miami Beach soon!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodditton Newmarket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in Feb 14. A good sized comfortable room with the best quiet air con we found in Florida. Reception staff were helpful and polite Not on the beach but on Ocean Drive. Room was on 2nd floor. Noise, noise, noise. Hotel's own 'entertainment' directly below our window until 11 pm and LOUD gay bar next door til 2 am. Restaurant and bar hardly used by anybody because of the expense. Room with see-through glass so that you had to work hard not to see your partner on the loo. Windows filthy - cleaned every two months whether they needed it or not....they needed it. $8.00 for a bottle of tap water and $2.00 for an in-room coffee a joke. Would definitely never stay here again, mainly because of the noise.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor! Bring some modesty sheets and hang them up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry that you had a difficult time with the noise. It is a very difficult challenge trying to provide a quiet environment for our guests while being located in the heart of action-packed Ocean Drive; however, we are constantly working to find solutions to make all guests happy and comfortable. We also encountered unfavorable weather recently in Miami Beach which resulted in windows not appearing clean from the outside due to the beach sand. However, such feedback is very important to us and we are diligently working on improving the appearance of The Tides in order to provide our guests with very enjoyable and comfortable accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

First time in south beach Miami Ocean Drive, stayed at The Tides hotel 12-15 feb join cruise from 15 and came back Miami 21-23 feb stayed again in The Tides . Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! No doubt you are comparable to Singapore Airlines standard.5 star. No complaint here just excellent service from all the staff there - bellman to front desk to room service to restaurant in front of hotel. well done guys!!!!! amazing experience....have read all the negative comments in tripadvisor before coming....it seems The Tides have taken all those feedback seriously. Great spectacular large spacious ocean view rooms. Stunning faboulous deco. Walking distance to everywhere, 20mins taxi drive to the cruise terminal, 30mins taxi drive to airport. Truly an amazing experience. We will for sure come back to The Tides hotel on our next trip to Miami next year. love Achim & Shawn

Room Tip: room on level 6 have amazing spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment and for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled you had an outstanding vacation! We will make sure the positive feedback is passed on to all of my colleagues. Please come back and stay with us very soon !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.