We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Daily Breakfast Credit
Ranked #34 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the location of this hotel right in amongst the lively South Beach. Ideal for beach, bars and restaurants.
The room was extremely large with a view over the beach and ocean.
The service from reception was excellent and there was a friendly feel to the hotel.
Not sure why the outside restaurant was so quiet, or indeed the bar area which was very attractive but often empty. I think they need to decide whether they are trying to compete with the many other 'offer' restaurants along the front, or provide a premium experience in keeping with the hotel.
The complimentary beach beds were also very welcome.
When we arrived (Sunday night) South Beach was buzzing and the noise from the local bars was loud, however, as we were promised this finished at a reasonable time and we were able to sleep well.
Was very good value, given we had been given a special rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your most positive and rewarding feedback.
My colleagues and I could not be more pleased and encouraged. I have shared your wonderful comments with them. Although the noise on Ocean Drive has been a challenge for us however we are always working diligently to reduce our guest inconvenience to a minimum by keeping a watch on the noise level late evening and contacting the appropriate authorities if needed. I do believe that other travelers will find your review helpful and we thank you for this.
We look forward to welcoming you home soon and remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    183
    58
    25
    27
See reviews for
86
454
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Tides Hotel on Ocean Drive, Miami Beach was the best located hotel I've ever stayed in.
My highlight was the signature Popsicle Martini poolside at sunset..........before partying on the terrace. My first experience of South Beach lifestyle was made by the amazingly friendly and helpful staff - I have to go back ! Beautiful rooms and in the 1930's art deco elegance.

Room Tip: Have a Ocean view room for the best people watching you can imagine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It is so nice to read your gracious feedback on your recent stay at The Tides.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay all round.
Looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had three rooms for a large bachelor party. Each room was very spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean. The hotel is pricey, but the rooms are very nice, with very nice bathrooms as well. The pool area is ok, but was mainly only used for relaxing after sitting at the beach. The beach is right across the street, and you get two or three free chairs per room. I would definitely recommend staying away from the restaurant though, the lunch we got one day was not very good.

Room Tip: I'm guessing the ocean view was more expensive, but it was worth it for the view and wake up cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for our authentic feedback regarding your stay. We are working on improving ourselves and your feedback is very important for this reason. Hope to see you in Miami Beach soon!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodditton Newmarket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in Feb 14. A good sized comfortable room with the best quiet air con we found in Florida. Reception staff were helpful and polite Not on the beach but on Ocean Drive. Room was on 2nd floor. Noise, noise, noise. Hotel's own 'entertainment' directly below our window until 11 pm and LOUD gay bar next door til 2 am. Restaurant and bar hardly used by anybody because of the expense. Room with see-through glass so that you had to work hard not to see your partner on the loo. Windows filthy - cleaned every two months whether they needed it or not....they needed it. $8.00 for a bottle of tap water and $2.00 for an in-room coffee a joke. Would definitely never stay here again, mainly because of the noise.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor! Bring some modesty sheets and hang them up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry that you had a difficult time with the noise. It is a very difficult challenge trying to provide a quiet environment for our guests while being located in the heart of action-packed Ocean Drive; however, we are constantly working to find solutions to make all guests happy and comfortable. We also encountered unfavorable weather recently in Miami Beach which resulted in windows not appearing clean from the outside due to the beach sand. However, such feedback is very important to us and we are diligently working on improving the appearance of The Tides in order to provide our guests with very enjoyable and comfortable accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

First time in south beach Miami Ocean Drive, stayed at The Tides hotel 12-15 feb join cruise from 15 and came back Miami 21-23 feb stayed again in The Tides . Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! No doubt you are comparable to Singapore Airlines standard.5 star. No complaint here just excellent service from all the staff there - bellman to front desk to room service to restaurant in front of hotel. well done guys!!!!! amazing experience....have read all the negative comments in tripadvisor before coming....it seems The Tides have taken all those feedback seriously. Great spectacular large spacious ocean view rooms. Stunning faboulous deco. Walking distance to everywhere, 20mins taxi drive to the cruise terminal, 30mins taxi drive to airport. Truly an amazing experience. We will for sure come back to The Tides hotel on our next trip to Miami next year. love Achim & Shawn

Room Tip: room on level 6 have amazing spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment and for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled you had an outstanding vacation! We will make sure the positive feedback is passed on to all of my colleagues. Please come back and stay with us very soon !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The first time I drove up Ocean Drive to The Tides Hotel, I was met by a courteous bellman who addressed me by name as he took me and my bags to the concierge. The concierge offered me a complementary welcome drink and took us to our suite where she carried out the check-in procedure. Our suite was large, lavishly furnished, had a large comfortable bed (just what you need after flying across the pond) and looked over the beach and out to the Atlantic Ocean. The establishment next door has its own brand of entertainment which attracts crowds of onlookers but has never disturbed our sleep. The pool is always warm and never crowded or noisy.

The last occasion we spent at The Tides, the concierge upgraded our room to a beautiful suite on one of the higher floors. This suite had its own large secluded balcony and a bathroom bigger than some other hotel rooms on Ocean Drive.

The Tides is the only place to stay on South Beach.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers. It gives us joy when our guests enjoy their time with us. Being a small boutique hotel, we work towards knowing our guests on a personal level so we can best anticipate and serve their needs. We are happy when you are happy !! Please come back to your Miami family soon !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Before I delve into my review, I need to mention, since most of the reviews here do, that if you are staying on Ocean Drive and are lucky enough to be facing east (the ocean) YOU WILL HEAR NOISE! Almost every room at The Tides faces the ocean, which is fantastic, but in the evenings, there is noise. It is important to note that all noise ends at 11 pm, so this is not an all night thing and we had no problem sleeping. We moved into The Tides after being disappointed in our original hotel choice. The Tides was everything we wanted: lovely, big rooms, fabulous view, quiet pool. We liked the fact that there was no eating and drinking by the pool, because I think that made it more peaceful. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. As mentioned in other reviews, the quality of the food is not great, but we didn't stay here for the restaurant. Only two other critiques: on the far side of the pool, the chairs are above the garbage. I am guessing this isn't always the case and depends on wind direction, but when we sat there, you could smell it. I would think, if brought to their attention, the hotel could easily fix this. My other critique is the fact that they charge $2 for the use of the coffee maker in the room. I don't know any hotel that does this, so was a bit put out about it. All in all, though, a wonderful experience. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Room Tip: Any room that ends in "06" (e.g. 306, 406, 506, etc.) is a corner room with two windows fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your authentic feedback. Although i am very happy that you have a great stay at The Tides and we were what you were looking for after a disappointing stay elsewhere, we are taking your feedback seriously and sharing with the teams in the hopes of improving upon our shortcomings. Hope to see you again soon at The Tides !!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
King And Grove Tides
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.