We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~wonderful~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
marlboro,nj
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“~wonderful~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I read all these reviews prior to going. It was a "gift" so we were staying here regardless. To tell you the truth - we were scared....Well let me say - we could not have been happier! We had been to SouthBeach a few times and always passed this Hotel. I always wanted to stay at this PRIME location and I knew this is where the "action" was. Of course it may be "loud or noisy or hard to fall asleep" but you are above the bars and restaurants!! Silence after 11 or midnight and a TON of fun before that!! The room was on 8 and was amazing....spotless...huge...great shower pressure (my pet peeve!) The staff was very professional and responsive to all our need. IT WAS COLD AND RAINED all 3 days - and we still had a wonderful time. Ask for a higher floor if you want it a bit quieter - but this is MIAMI and not the Everglades! PS - RAIN? try machine gun shooting at Lock and Load in miami....it was a BLAST!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    193
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
97
478
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location, clean rooms and awesome customer service. Would stay here again. Quick tip: bring earplugs. Bar next door is hopping until midnite. You cannot sleep if on business. If vacation....awesome! I travel all the time and this hotel, although not part of a chain, really is exceptional. One and only complaint, and this is true for almost all in South Beach, your outdoor furniture is really needing a major cleaning. Sigh. Hated to say that as they are really awesome. Stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A once Iconic Hotel designed by the inimitable Kelly Wearstler.

One of her most sedate interiors done in quiet neutrals exude a lovely understated elegance in the hub of South Beach action. The Main Restaurant inside the hotel is beautiful but I do not know the food quality as we never ate there except for breakfast.

Breakfast was prompt & good enough by USA standards but not great by International standards. Beautifully presented by nice staff. The staff in this Hotel had very little attitude & were very nice unlike the SLS whose staff spoiled a great Hotel.

America, whose idea was it to serve roast potatoes for with breakfast? Disgusting!!!! American hotels need to add more fresh food to their meals & drop the ever present roast potatoes with every meal. I hated America's oily, over-processed & baked meals. Gawd give a guest a tomato etc. or a fruit or something that had life in it once instead. For this reason I would very seldom recommend eating in the hotels & I would find my own restaurants. Ironically if I wanted fresh food I would have to get fruit from a Convenience store!!!! And then very expensive. Seriously America????

HUGE HUGE OCEAN VIEW rooms with stunning sea views (from about the 2nd floor I would imagine, 1st floor nice but dune blocks beach view on lower floors) on the higher floors with a STUNNING bathroom!!!! Yay!!!! Huge closet. (See noise complaints on other reviews but to be expected when you are on the main action strip in Miami! Double Glazing maybe management?)

MANAGEMENT HAS 3 AREAS TO ADDRESS IN THIS HOTEL:

1. Kelly Wearstler has very expensive taste & most people cannot appreciate the price / value of her hotel finishes! Do not mess with the fantastic Kelly Wearstler design but keep paint & finishes etc. brand sparkling new to keep the luxe feeling that is fading as wear & tear kicks in with time. Ditto the beautiful pool area. It needs fresh paint. It felt unloved! Disgraceful to see when a pit of paint could wow this area to the league it should be. (see the comprehensive Review by lagunadallas – who confirms this)

2. The bar is beautiful but "dead". Add mirror to the existing wall design to reflect out & bring in life & customers. This is a cheap easy fix & works like a bomb!

3. The worst problem I had with this hotel is the patio area in front of the hotel & the pavement restaurant which had zero customers (reason - ZERO appeal!!!!) so the public area was completely dead whilst all the adjacent restaurants had LONG QUEUES. THE GENERIC BLAND YELLOW STRIPED CUSHIONS AND CRAPPY TABLES TOTALLY DESTROYED what should have been a key & vital money spinner for the Hotel & is the 1st impression of the hotel as you drive up to stay. The restaurants next door were so busy they could not handle the demand so there was plenty of business. In spite of this management never tried to fix this with new tables / candles / lighting etc and this was the case every night for our whole stay in Miami. Something is very wrong when people will rather wait in a 2 hour queue than support your business! (I suspect the pavement restaurant may be leased to an independent person but at the end of the day The Hotels suffers for it so it is still for the Hotel to address the issue! And very urgently too!)

So yet again it is management that spoils what should be a great hotel!

Room Tip: HUGE HUGE OCEAN VIEW rooms with stunning sea views (from about the 2nd floor I would imagine, 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is the noisiest I have ever stayed at. The windows have not been updated and the room was like being in the bar downstairs. Simply awful . Room service food was expensive and disgusting. Old crab and frozen fish which arrived cold and without proper utensils. Way overpriced for the poor quality. The room was spacious but the decor worn. The worst was the noise. After a 12 hour flight from Europe to pass a sleepless night was really terrible. This hotel is not cheap. I have stayed all over the world and I would never ever stay here again. I wish I had read the other bad reviews on here before booking via Expedia. What a dump.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I frequent this hotel, and I was there again in early January. This is still my favorite hotel in Sobe, b/c the rooms are wonderful (all with ocean view) and spacious. The location is also ideally situated across the street from the beach and centrally located between south-end shops and restaurants and Lincoln road (and that general area).

With that said, the quality is dropping. The staff is still friendlier and more helpful than most in South Beach (service on the beach is generally awful), but it's not as good as it used to be. My biggest complaint is the peddling that goes on in front of the hotel. This is supposed to be a 4 or 5-star hotel, for God's sake. They have people out front trying to woo passers-by to eat at their restaurant (just like every other dive restaurant on the beach). They have a whiteboard with "specials" and fake entrees sitting out front in an attempt to entice people to dine there. It has the opposite effect on me, as it makes me cringe every time I walk in and out of the hotel. PLEASE STOP, YOU'RE KILLING YOUR BRAND!

Other small things have slipped. When I ordered room service, the jams were SMUCKERS. WHAT? You charge me $50 for an omelette and coffee and you send me smuckers jam in plastic packets?

This hotel used to get all of the little details right. They no longer do, and I hope that the recover. Still a great hotel and the stay is still enjoyable, but they need to recover their lost glory.

Room Tip: Can't really go wrong. All are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We debated among various choices in South Beach, and went with the Tides based on location. We were greeted by Alan, who was a fantastic ambassador for the hotel and very helpful. Overall we were very pleased by the location, the staff, the quiet pool (thankfully without an obnoxious SoBe 'scene'), the size of the room, and the fact that all of the rooms have pretty incredible ocean views. I read a lot of reviews about the noise from the adjacent bar, which was pretty loud in the evening when we were getting ready for dinner, but it was completely quiet before 11pm...which was unexpected for a Saturday night. It sounds like they have that situation worked out, and hopefully so for the hotel's sake.

Downsides within the hotel were minor --- just some room maintenance issues (burned out light bulbs, saggy mattress, door that would it the tub edge and make a loud noise) and we wished there had been cocktail service at the pool considering it was a Saturday afternoon during a rather busy time. The big disappointment was with the restaurant in front of the hotel. I had breakfast here a few years ago and remember it being one of the very few (along with the Betsy) calm, classy, oasis-type spots along a busy and often tacky strip. This time around the restaurant had this huge menu board and the same aggressive sales tactic as other cheesy nearby restaurants --- just try to rope in as many people walking by as possible. There were even a couple of massive margarita glasses with a couple of upside-down Bud Lights sitting out on display as an 'example' of the amazing cocktail offerings on the patio (yikes). It's very downscale and tacky, and not befitting a $400+ per night hotel. We heard that the hotel does not operate the restaurant, which is really a shame because it gives the hotel a low class impression from the street.

Overall the positives here significantly outweighed any very minor negatives, but the problem the Tides has is the competition. There are a number of really fantastic options within a short walk, and I honestly think we'll likely try one of the others the next time we're in South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

the Tides is well located right on the strip. Room are large and well equipped, beautifully decorated. I knew to expect some noise because of the location, so I wasnt upset when true to form, there was music playing at night. But this is South Beach, and you ave to compromise if you want to be well situated. I found everyone at the hotel to be frendly and service oriented. The restaurant was just ok ....we just had breakfast and my husband's eggs were terribly and obviously overcooked, mine were ok...but it was a lovely atmosphere in hotel lobby and we made the best. Don't know if i'd be back though...so many places to try in South Beach.

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the eighth floor...but during heavy rains it leaked. though management moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.