We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tides for 4 nights in late October including a weekend. We really enjoyed the stay and the room was exactly like the rooms on the Tides website. The room was very large, much larger than the average south beach hotel room, with a fantasic view of the park and beach opposite...and quiet.
What made the experience memorable was the friendliness of the staff. They always recognised us when we were coming and going and offered some good advice on tours etc. I would especially like to recognise Nory and Jozelle on the front desk and valets Alain and Carlos for their help and advice....and friendliness during our stay.
We always enjoyed walking out of the hotel, straight into the south beach action. Walking out through the restaurant always reminded us of the south of france.
While researching hotels in south beach I had read other reviews about loud music from the street and nightclub next door, it was not a problem. While this may have been due to our room being on the 9th floor, the music..and entertainment from the club next door was fun and the entertainment (think priscilla queen of the desert) with the entertainers going out in the street and stopping traffic was hilarious. The music stopped at around 10:30 on the weekend and earlier during the week and was not an issue at all. If you are going to bed earlier than 10:30 then maybe south beach isn't the venue for you.
We fell into a routine of going to the beach early, where they set up lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas for you, followed by a late breakfast ....and late night. One bonus was that it was very close to clubs so we could easily walk home each night.
We are still thinking about our trip and wish we were back at this wonderful hotel. If you want to stay at an art deco hotel that is quiet, well decorated and friendly that is in the thick of things in south beach then I would strongly recommend the Tides. I did a lot of research as Miami is a long way from Sydney and we are glad we chose the Tides.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    182
    61
    29
    26
See reviews for
92
463
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Loved The Tides from the moment we arrived in our enormous room and looked at the view of the beach and the ocean from our window. A member of staff arrived shortly after with a yummy signature hotel cocktail and everything was wonderful from there on in. We enjoyed the use of the hotels sumptuous beds on the beach and had a thoroughly relaxing stay at The Tides.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Tides promises a lot. Hip hotel with large rooms in a great SOBE location overlooking the beach with unbeatable service. On two of these is deliver on: Location and large rooms. On Service it does not. We started our Miami holiday at The Betsy just a little further up SOBE. While the rooms may not be very large, the service was exceptional. They could not do enough. By contrast at The Tides, you barely got a recognition in the morning and every request seemed too much effort. All the staff seemed very unhappy about being there. This is certainly not a cool place to be either. Contrast with The Delano further up SOBE and you get a cool crowd in a very cool setting with great music and vibe. The Tides in comparison is dead. Tired decor with no atmosphere at all. If you are looking for a large centrally located functional room this will do. Anything else I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 5th floor or higher and not overlooking The Palace bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Watch what they charge you! I paid my stay with a different credit card than the one I gave to them when I checked in and they charged both my credit cards. When I called back to inquire on the charges, they passed me from employ to employ and finally I spoke to one name Ficky who was the most unprofessional, rude, argumentative and belligerent employee I have eve seen in a hotel. Of course he did not help me out and tried to blame the bank. So now I have to deal with the banks and I should not have been put in this position. I usually stay at Eden Rocs, I gave this hotel a chance and look what happened. Besides the fact that the TV was not working, the bed was making noise every time I would turn, the food was way too expensive, the internet was not working, this room was not well maintained and now I have to deal with double charging! If you stay there, be very cautious with your credit cards

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stay in the tides for our last days of honeymoon and we loved it! The staff was very friendly and always worried for us! The best spot at south beach, huge rooms with ocean view and beautiful decoration

Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed ourselves so much that we were planning our return visit while we were there. This was the perfect spot on South Beach imo. The room was wonderfully spacious, the view was stunning and we could *almost* roll ourselves on to the beach from the hotel (the location was spot on). There was no need to hang out at the pool even though it was nicely decorated.

The front desk, although a small area, had provided us with all the information and help we needed. They were very accommodating, pleasantly friendly and always ready to help us. We had issues with the DVD player and they sent someone within 5 minutes. Before we knew it, the movie was playing. At another instance, we noticed the wireless phone handset was intermittently cutting off. This is what makes them a superb property because a phone repair man was already at our door while we were still on the phone with the front desk explaining this phone issue. Can you imagine the look on our faces when we realized this was being fixed at the moment we called them? Just amazing!

Room Tip: Hopefully you're an Amex Platinum member so they can offer you a complimentary room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed at this hotel instead of Ritz Carlton and was so glad we did. Service was excellent, hotel and room decor was very hip, and location superb in the heart of South Beach. Right across the street from beach and included free chaises and umbrella. Not for prudes since is next to gay bar with drag shows on sidewalk Friday and Saturday nights. We loved it though. Sat outside sipping enormous drinks and enjoyed people watching. Highly recommend this hotel and location for TRUE South Beach experience!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.