We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review ONLY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review ONLY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

While strolling South Beach with some friends, we decided to the Tides hotel for Happy Hour and some live music. It was definitely a GREAT choice! The food, drinks, & service were AMAZING! The restaurant also had a saxophonists/live singer that performed and he was EXCELLENT. The night was absolutely perfect! So stop by if you're ever on SoBe!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    219
    74
    35
    27
See reviews for
115
515
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was looking forward to staying here as I heard it was improving. Boy, was I wrong. The rooms are sparse and need updating, the bathroom amenities below average, and overall the service was just average. But what really got me angry, was the fire alarm going off for almost 30 minutes early in the morning. Apparently there was a fight in the lobby and someone pulled the alarm. How does it take 30 minutes to shut off the alarm!?! What was equally worse was having the big fire truck come and idle loudly outside the hotel for another 30 minutes, making it impossible to get any sleep. On top of that, instead of putting this complaint out on social media, I sent a note to the hotel manager, giving her a chance to explain the situation. Guess who never took the time or courtesy to respond back to me? Social media #fail, a clear indication they must not care about their guests experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews about people complaining about noise and service. If you want quite, marine drive is not the place to stay on vacation - get a grip. We find the service to be excellent from the food staff to the front desk who has given us wonderful recommendations as to where to go out to eat. The rooms are more than spacious, clean and well equipped. A bit peeved with being charged for coffee that you make in the room. Given its location, wonderful hotel which I would recommend to others and go back if South Beach is my plans for the future. Nice touch going to beach and having chairs and umbrellas available to you
We are still here for 2 more days and look forward to it all

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Location is amazing! Across the street from the beach along Ocean Drive. I walked along Ocean Drive, Collins, Washington and Lincoln to shop, eat and people watch. The people working here were generous with their time in giving me information about the city and shopping. Everyday there was music...DJ, Live Singer...Music was awesome! Food was delicious and of course their drinks. I had a great time. I certainly would go again! Recommend you stay here too. Oh, down the street is the Versace Mansion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

me and my husband chose this hotel for our honeymoon (2nd week of sept)and the minute we walked in we knew we made the right decision. the location of the hotel is absolutely amazing. great for people watching and close to lincoln and collins avenues" where all the major shops, club/bars and restaurants
first of all I would like to thank to all staff who were so kind and attentive and did everything they could to fulfill your every wish.
especially the lady at the front desk (nora was her name I suppose) she is absolutely amazing.she helped us arrange rental cars, daily tours and everything we wanted. david and the breakfast lounge staff were so kind too.

rooms: we stayed at an oceanfront stuidio. (on the fifth floor) the view was amazing, the room was huge and nicely decorated and very clean.. the noise from the bar next door never disturbed us as they turned it down around 11 or so. the music from the hotel itself sometimes was louder but since you are on the ocean drive I think you should be prepared for that. weekdays were not loud anyway.

breakfast: we had the breakfast package included so we would choose from the breakfast menu though you should be aware that the choices are not too many but still the pancakes were to die for. and the food service was not slow during our time.
we never had dinner at the hotel but along the ocean drive all the hotels have restaurants including our hotel so the choice is basicalyy personal. you can have dinner at every price range.

location: is to die for. the view is amazing. people and car watchin is fun. beach is literally steps away and the hotel provides you sunbeds and umbrellas with towels which is amazing.
the next street is collins avenue where you can find great night clubs. and lincoln street is 5-10 mins walk away. also the espanola way is again 5-10 mins away.

overall we had an amazing time and this was a great choice for our honeymoon. I would like to thank each and everyone at the hotel for making our honeymoon unforgettable..

Room Tip: oceanfront studios are awsome. get a higher floor like 5th and 6th if you can. the view is breathtak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

wow! if this is a 5 star hotel then I'm Donald Trump! The pictures look nothing like the rooms. The furniture and decorations in the pictures are NOT in the room... maybe in 2010. This hotel is run down!! I don't know how they get away with it! Not to mention the LOUD music... Book this hotel and you will be sorry you did.... I guarantee you will get on your computer within the first hour and write a review exactly like mine!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tides at the end of august and had a wonderful time.
Spacious rooms with breathtaking views
Amazing lunch ( try the roasted chicken) with attentive waiter (isaias)

Will definetely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment. We are thrilled you had a nice stay and enjoyed the hotel. We will make sure to pass on the positive feedback to Isaias! Please come and stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#50 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Hotel Victor
#82 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#35 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Dream South Beach
#55 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.