We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, "noisiness" is relative.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, "noisiness" is relative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After reading a few of the other reviews, I feel as though the first thing to address is the noise. I stayed in a room on the 6th floor, and yes, I could hear music from the street below, and from the gay club next door at night. However, it wasn't (in my opinion) an unreasonable level of sound. My bed wasn't moving around, and I was able to sleep without trouble. The bed is set quite far back from the window, and I went into the experience knowing that I would be a) staying on South Beach's party street and b) staying there on a weekend. You don't go to New York and expect to hear birdsongs-- you hear traffic! To me, South Beach/Ocean Drive is much the same; if you want to be in the heart of the action, you're probably going to hear some of that action. There are hotels that are quieter, but they're a few blocks from the main drag.

So, noise aside, how was the rest of it? For the most part, great. The room is massive, and the view of the Ocean is gorgeous. There was plenty of space for luggage, lounging, and so on. At a glance the room and decor is quite beautiful, but up close I noticed that the rooms are getting a tiny bit worn. Nothing major, but might be time for a bit of a refresh.

The food was my least favorite aspect of the experience. We ordered a chicken sandwich and guacamole with chips as a snack to share among two. The guacamole was pretty good, as were the fries that came with the sandwich, but the sandwich itself was pretty greasy. I suppose I expected something a little better, given the beauty of the hotel and the higher star rating. Prices were decent, but when the food is only so-so, it makes the price seem less reasonable.

The bell staff and front desk agents were the highlight of the experience for me. They remembered my name after the first meeting, were always very friendly and warm without being over the top. They took care of requests seamlessly.

All in all, a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so very for your comment. We take the feedback of our guests very seriously and appreciated the time taken to share this feedback with us. We pleased that you had a nice experience at the Tides South Beach. We are taking steps to address the existing wear and tear in the guest rooms as well as the quality of food in the restaurant. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    225
    74
    35
    27
See reviews for
120
524
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fine if you want somewhere to clean up. Nice hotel and staff. Mykonos volume music from the hotel's own sound system from 12 till 12. Even louder music from the gay bar next door till 3. They get the noise enforcement teams round almost daily but the bar just pays the fine and carries on. Slept on the bathroom floor.

Great for stag / bachelorette weekends.

Room Tip: If you have no other choice but to stay here, stay no lower than 9th/ 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience and the disturbance from the music in our restaurant and next door. We are constantly doing everything we can to enforce the noise ordinance, as our goal is minimal to no disruption to our guests. This is a battle we will continue to fight with our local authorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights after ten nights in Disney.

Great location looking across beach and rooms large and clean.

Food expensive and service haphazard but this is a very bohemian area and you go with the flow. We just thought that with staff in the restaurant being a bit more attentive the place would be great.

For a couple of days in South Beach though tough to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and constructive feedback. We take the experience of each and every guest very seriously and want to ensure that everyone has a flawless and memorable experience. We take your feedback to heart and will look into each of your concerns - the restaurant prices and service. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and didn't have a good nights sleep a single night!

I know it's on Ocean so we should have expected it, but it is probably on the loudest section of the front due to the gay bar outside.

We initially stayed on the 3rd floor, corner room. Room was fine but I felt it needed a bit of an update, as well as having very long and big unusual layout. We complained about the noise and they very kindly moved us up to a lovely room on the 7th. This room was even bigger and seemed like it had been taken care of a bit more. I wouldn't have paid the $200 extra an night they said it would cost (they upgraded us for free) and the noise was almost the same. Great views of the ocean though.

Don't know why some reviewers are so bothered about the glass shower thing, if you do like privacy you can barely see through it anyway especially when it mists up, and there's another frosted glass panel between the bath and toilet, so you really aren't visible! Plus there's a DOOR you can shut people!

The hotel is lovely to look at and has a good private beach we used every day.

Room Tip: Email before you go and ask for a higher room - if you pay the lowest room rate the highest you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you are your feedback and I apologize for the noise issues you experienced. This is an on going issue for us and we try continuously to enforce the noise ordinance with our neighbors. We will continue to work on this in an effort to ensure a pleasant experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the last few days of our US holiday. Overall the service and room was great! We were on level 4 and had a great view of the beach and the hotel pool was great. We also utilised the complimentary beach chairs and umbrella service at the beach which was fantastic. As many other reviews state it can be noisy on the left side of the building (as you look at it from the street) as the bar next door has performances that venture onto the footpath and can get quite noisy but finish up at a reasonable time.
As for the food - Dinner was GREAT! I had the lobster tail and my partner had the fish burger both very tasty and filling with a soft drink each and the generous 18% gratuity included (whether it was deserved or not) came to just over $100.
My caution about price is based on our breakfast the following morning – 2 scrambled eggs, a bowl of fruit with 2 orange juice and water $57 – of course this includes the 18% gratuity ‘added for your convenience’! I was appalled given the strawberries were basically rotten and definitely inedible. 2 doors up there are breakfasts for $6! Go for a wander – it’s worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. Constructive feedback is invaluable to us and we appreciate that you took time out of your day to share your thoughts and experience. We will look into the prices at the restaurant as we want to ensure that our guests are being charged fairly based on the area. Thank you again and we hope you will come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first return to the Tides since it had been taken over by King & Grove. We had really enjoyed our first stay & therefore had high expectations for our return. We like the hotel due to its great location, rooms with views of the ocean and its upscale nature. We were also aware of the "noise" from the nearby bar & this did not bother us - this is Miami beach after all & arguably adds to the overall vibe!!

On our first full day, we had a very relaxing time by the hotel pool: mainly because it was empty & therefore we had the pool to ourselves. Unfortunately, the next day involved "fighting" for space as a group of "Stepford wives" had decided to reserve one side of the pool with their towels/magazines with one "guard" protecting the other x8 empty chairs!!

In room breakfast was where it all went wrong - to cut a long story short, the hotel managed to deliver an incomplete order which to be fair they did comp for free & provided a lovely in room gift later in the day. This highlights that they do try to keep guests happy but obviously if they had concentrated on the details in the first place, they wouldn't have had to make up for their errors! As an example (and this was the most trivial aspect of the breakfast saga), the pepper pot had no pepper in it just a cork rattling inside - guess what turned up with breakfast the next day: the same empty pepper pot. Obviously we didn't complain about the pepper pot but it highlights a lack of attention to the smaller details.

Having booked via Signature agent, we were given a $75 lunch credit. We enjoyed the outside dining & atmosphere of Ocean drive even with the loud DJ music. The food was good even though we had to wait 45 mins for it to arrive.

Overall, the hotel remains in the same great location but the standard of service has gone downhill. I'm not sure if this is down to complacency or something else??

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking time out to share your experience. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay with us and we will do whatever we can to address these issues (the accuracy and timeliness of restaurant orders and properly provided condiments) so they do not occur in the future. I do hope you will stay with us again to give us an opportunity to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

lovely huge rooms, super friendly staff, great situation, and the beach accommodations (beds, parasols, etc) included in the price of the room.
and a nice little pool.

that was a fantastic 1st experience in miami, we sure will try to come back next time!
be just aware that a (cool) bar is right 20 meter of the hotel with a lot of action, so don't expect to sleep quietly in the week end until 2-3 am. but who cares, you're in south beach for christ sake!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so very much for your feedback! We are thrilled you had a nice time and we hope you will come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#52 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Hotel Victor
#83 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#37 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,840 reviews
Dream South Beach
#57 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
King And Grove Tides
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.