We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest looking hotel on Ocean but be aware of the noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nicest looking hotel on Ocean but be aware of the noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and didn't have a good nights sleep a single night!

I know it's on Ocean so we should have expected it, but it is probably on the loudest section of the front due to the gay bar outside.

We initially stayed on the 3rd floor, corner room. Room was fine but I felt it needed a bit of an update, as well as having very long and big unusual layout. We complained about the noise and they very kindly moved us up to a lovely room on the 7th. This room was even bigger and seemed like it had been taken care of a bit more. I wouldn't have paid the $200 extra an night they said it would cost (they upgraded us for free) and the noise was almost the same. Great views of the ocean though.

Don't know why some reviewers are so bothered about the glass shower thing, if you do like privacy you can barely see through it anyway especially when it mists up, and there's another frosted glass panel between the bath and toilet, so you really aren't visible! Plus there's a DOOR you can shut people!

The hotel is lovely to look at and has a good private beach we used every day.

Room Tip: Email before you go and ask for a higher room - if you pay the lowest room rate the highest you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you are your feedback and I apologize for the noise issues you experienced. This is an on going issue for us and we try continuously to enforce the noise ordinance with our neighbors. We will continue to work on this in an effort to ensure a pleasant experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    181
    61
    29
    26
See reviews for
91
462
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the last few days of our US holiday. Overall the service and room was great! We were on level 4 and had a great view of the beach and the hotel pool was great. We also utilised the complimentary beach chairs and umbrella service at the beach which was fantastic. As many other reviews state it can be noisy on the left side of the building (as you look at it from the street) as the bar next door has performances that venture onto the footpath and can get quite noisy but finish up at a reasonable time.
As for the food - Dinner was GREAT! I had the lobster tail and my partner had the fish burger both very tasty and filling with a soft drink each and the generous 18% gratuity included (whether it was deserved or not) came to just over $100.
My caution about price is based on our breakfast the following morning – 2 scrambled eggs, a bowl of fruit with 2 orange juice and water $57 – of course this includes the 18% gratuity ‘added for your convenience’! I was appalled given the strawberries were basically rotten and definitely inedible. 2 doors up there are breakfasts for $6! Go for a wander – it’s worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. Constructive feedback is invaluable to us and we appreciate that you took time out of your day to share your thoughts and experience. We will look into the prices at the restaurant as we want to ensure that our guests are being charged fairly based on the area. Thank you again and we hope you will come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our first return to the Tides since it had been taken over by King & Grove. We had really enjoyed our first stay & therefore had high expectations for our return. We like the hotel due to its great location, rooms with views of the ocean and its upscale nature. We were also aware of the "noise" from the nearby bar & this did not bother us - this is Miami beach after all & arguably adds to the overall vibe!!

On our first full day, we had a very relaxing time by the hotel pool: mainly because it was empty & therefore we had the pool to ourselves. Unfortunately, the next day involved "fighting" for space as a group of "Stepford wives" had decided to reserve one side of the pool with their towels/magazines with one "guard" protecting the other x8 empty chairs!!

In room breakfast was where it all went wrong - to cut a long story short, the hotel managed to deliver an incomplete order which to be fair they did comp for free & provided a lovely in room gift later in the day. This highlights that they do try to keep guests happy but obviously if they had concentrated on the details in the first place, they wouldn't have had to make up for their errors! As an example (and this was the most trivial aspect of the breakfast saga), the pepper pot had no pepper in it just a cork rattling inside - guess what turned up with breakfast the next day: the same empty pepper pot. Obviously we didn't complain about the pepper pot but it highlights a lack of attention to the smaller details.

Having booked via Signature agent, we were given a $75 lunch credit. We enjoyed the outside dining & atmosphere of Ocean drive even with the loud DJ music. The food was good even though we had to wait 45 mins for it to arrive.

Overall, the hotel remains in the same great location but the standard of service has gone downhill. I'm not sure if this is down to complacency or something else??

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking time out to share your experience. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay with us and we will do whatever we can to address these issues (the accuracy and timeliness of restaurant orders and properly provided condiments) so they do not occur in the future. I do hope you will stay with us again to give us an opportunity to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

lovely huge rooms, super friendly staff, great situation, and the beach accommodations (beds, parasols, etc) included in the price of the room.
and a nice little pool.

that was a fantastic 1st experience in miami, we sure will try to come back next time!
be just aware that a (cool) bar is right 20 meter of the hotel with a lot of action, so don't expect to sleep quietly in the week end until 2-3 am. but who cares, you're in south beach for christ sake!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so very much for your feedback! We are thrilled you had a nice time and we hope you will come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights. The location was perfect and close to everything. It was convenient to get to the beach and it was nice having the beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella complementary for being a guest at the hotel. I agree with the other reviews that it was a little noisy at night, but that is what we expected staying on South Beach. We did not have any trouble sleeping since the bed is far away from the window and we were on the 6th floor. The room had a great view to the beach. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is a fairly nice hotel, but there are additional costs for everything. Maybe that is just what you get in Miami though. I also expect the bar to be open longer and we got a very rude no when we asked if we could get a drink. Nice location though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly address the issue you experienced at the bar and will also look into the hours of operation. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were originally staying at the Hilton Bently, but the Amex travel expert suggested we stay at the Tides because of the perks we get for being a platinum card holder. Well no matter what the perks were they were not worth it. We paid $800 a night for the two rooms. Not a cheap hotel. Not worth half the price.The food was terrible, no one at the door to greet or to help flag down a cab even. We stayed on the 7th floor thinking your high enough for the noise but the windows are the original ones from the 50's. Could not sleep at all. The rooms were dated. There is a gay bar beside the hotel which is fine but they are very loud and enthusiastic at there games and festivities. I wouldn't stay at the Tides ever agin not even for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience. I am truly sorry that you had such an unpleasant stay. We aim to exceed the expectations of every guest and we clearly did achieve with your stay. We take this feedback very seriously and we will address each of the issues you mentioned - the upkeep of the rooms, the quality of the food, and presence at the front door. The noise issue is an on-going concern of ours and we will continue to do our part in enforcing the noise ordinance with our neighbors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;