We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #53 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Privett, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Welcome to Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent the first 2 nights of our holiday here. Although we enjoyed our stay the hotel lacks atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms have a great view. Although we would stay here again I'm not sure it is worth the prices they charge. I only gave 4 stars for sleep quality due to the noise, but hey, your on Ocean Drive and the bed was divine.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    214
    72
    34
    26
See reviews for
108
505
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked an ocean front premier room, and it was amazing. The views were great, and the bathroom was large. Nory at the front desk was so accommodating, and she even escorted us to our room at check-in. (Of course this is not expected when the hotel is busy). I was skeptical about the hotel after reading some reviews about the drag shows next door, but it was not a problem. It was actually entertaining and we enjoyed ourself. It was a little noisy on the strip, but things calmed down between 11pm and 1pm. The hotel staff was very nice and breakfast was amazing. The french toast with bananas foster was to die for. Keep in mind that you are visiting South Beach. Meals are expensive and gratuity is included. If you have a special occasion, don't book through a 3rd party website and expect to get the best room at an extremely low rate. We knew what we wanted and didn't mind paying for it. This hotel is worth every penny, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights; we were given a very large room (5-600sq ft) with sea views. The room was spotless and was equipped with everything you'd expect, with the exception of free water (although this was available elsewhere in the hotel). The negative of the room would have to be the complete lack of privacy between the bedroom and bathroom; a glass window separates the two areas which we found unacceptable and had to hang dressing gowns to try and create some privacy - perhaps others wouldn't mind seeing their partner showering etc though...the pool area is on the 2nd floor and a very nice, albeit compact space. Most of the time we were there, there was barely anyone else around. There was quite a bit of noise from neighbouring hotels but that's to be expected from the popular location and didn't continue past midnight. The area is full of other hotels and restaurants so there's plenty of choice. The hotel bar is a bit pricey but is probably inline with others in the area. The hotel has a beach area for residents and they automatically reserve a spot for you each day if you choose to use it. All in all we had an enjoyable 3 night stay and would recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We selected this property because it was a preferred hotel by American Express. The service in getting checked in was efficient, even though our room was not ready. The rooms are large and nicely laid out. There was clearly what appeared to be mold around the A/C unit that has not been addressed. Management should be on top of these issues. The Mattress needed to be replaced. The shower is art deco and you can see into shower from the bedroom, but the soap scum covers the glass and needed to be cleaned. Again a management problem.

The restaurant was terrible. I asked for a medium rare hamburger that came out 3 days dead. I sent it back and the manager came over and said they would get another burger made. It came out just as over done. The manager apologized but did not take off the cost of the burger because she disappeared and no one could find her. My wife sent back the raw pizza. The overall service was D--. I had to get up and go to the bar to get a refill on a diet coke because the server was MIA. With no liquor the bill for 4 people was over $140.00 for lunch. It took over 45 Minutes to get our salads.

Bottom line- It was not worth nearly $400.00 per night. It could get there if management wants to maintain the hotel and bring it to a level of other quality properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the way back from the Caribbean. It was so much fun that we forgot that it was the end of our holiday.

The rooms are unique and in an industry where so many hotels can just blend into one, the room design at the King & Grove Tides is unforgettable. We were lucky enough to get a corner room too which had a great view of the drive and the beach.

We had lunch at the restaurant which was great - good service and good food. For dinner, the location is perfect to take a walk and choose from the multitude of restaurants on Ocean Drive.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just got back from 2 nights at the front end and 2 nights at back end of our trip to Florida Keys.
Friends from San Francisco met us there and we can't say enough about the Tides. Location was perfect and the staff could not do ENOUGH for us! We felt very special from the moment we made the reservations, to when we arrived, and all during our stay. At the desk, Gisele and Nory were extremely helpful. So much so, that when our friends arrived from their flight cross country on the redeye, Gisele made sure they got a room at 6:00 a.m. We all received welcoming drinks! The bar/restaurant were fabulous Gabriela runs a tight ship and ensures perfection in her staff! Cesar was a fabulous bartender and sweet Elena a perfect waitress.
The rooms here are amazing! The ocrean front views were outstanding and our short trip to the beach was perfect. We all know we will definitely return!!! Fabulous place with extremely professional staff!
Thank you everyone! Hope to see you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived at our hotel, King and Grove, by 1pm. Our check in time was 3pm so we planned to leave or bags at the front desk and to enjoy a late lunch but to our surprise they let us check in early. We were shown to our room which was amazing! From the moment we checked in we were treated like VIP and the room made me feel like a million dollars. We stayed in room 302 on the third floor. I know reviews warn to stay on a higher floor but I was so thankful a room was ready early that I didn’t say a word and I’m glad I didn’t. What makes room 302 special is that the window opens and it has a little ledge beneath. I read in other reviews that the windows on the higher floor don’t open so we enjoyed this and we enjoyed all the noises. The club next door is super noisy but it’s amazing (nightly drag queen show) and does quiet down around midnight. Pros and cons of this hotel/room?

Pros = The window opens, iPod charger in room, free beach setup with luxury loungers and beach towels. Noon checkout! Free water by the pool, free welcome drinks, and the friendliest staff. The room is beautiful, the bed is comfortable, walk in closet, right on the strip, gorgeous views, and the security! Not only do they have attentive staff in the front lobby but you can’t actually access the elevator without a hotel card. There are so many pros, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Cons= There are cons of course. They were not deal breakers for me but here they are so you can decide. No privacy in the bathroom as there is a glass window from the shower to the bedroom. South Beach is very segregated. We had some super hot gay men nearby but in our section of the beach we had a lot of bums and gangsters. The people watching is part of the fun but since we went with our 6 year old I would have preferred a different section of the beach. We walked down to the end and found a family atmosphere farther South near the beach that connects to the Hilton. The noise wasn’t that bad from outside but the noise from the hotel hall was unbearable at times. The hotel should provide a fan or a noise machine to drown this out.

**Tip** drink the in room coffee which has a modest $2 per packet charge. This is half the price you will pay for coffee in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Splendia, Orbitz, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
King And Grove Tides
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.