We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot beat the service in this hotel in Ocean Drive...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
newport coast
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cannot beat the service in this hotel in Ocean Drive...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Kelly Wearstler was the designer for this boutique South Beach hotel about 4 years ago. Feels like it needs a bit of updating and freshening, but because the service here is so earnest you almost forgive its shortcomings. The corner rooms (06 series) have a nice view of the ocean and down Ocean Drive, but closet space is compromised because of the stairwell. The oceanfront rooms have a much better layout and feel bigger...but make sure you have a higher level room, as the music and noise from the entertainment outside at night can keep you up til the wee hours. Fabiola, Giselle, Ficky and Nory win employees of the year in my book!

Room Tip: High floor, ocean front are best. Request to have the AC vent over the bed covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    193
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
97
478
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

And even noisier if you go Memorial Day weekend (which was a surprise to us that it was HipHop weekend in miami...should read forums more often!)
Agree with a recent reviewer, at these prices , they should offer more complimentary items (like the Ritz does and is cheaper). Reviews from few months ago said that there are complimentary pastries and coffee every morning in the lobby--- no such thing. No free water (except if you are going to the beach and they will give you 1 or 2 bottles at front desk).
We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and they did nothing special for us.
Our room began to have water drip down the wall into a bubble which finally burst on our last day there. (dont stay in 802 for awhile!).
I did find the front desk staff very friendly, and the Tides restaurant had nice staff (although have to agree with others,, the food was not very good and my husband actually got very sick the night before our flight by eating dinner there).

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went here with a friend last weekend and we had an amazing time. Our room overlooked 12th street beach and it was beautiful. The hotel is very clean and cozy. Everyone who works there is very accomadating and helpful. The "check-in" in cocktail was amazing...highly recommend it. The bathrooms were my favorite in our studio style suite as the shower had just glass on both sides so your significant other can see you taking a shower ;), very interesting with a nice touch (i personally liked this). I would def go back in the future!.
One drawback, next to a club/bar that gets very loud during the day. A lot of drag shows go on there and loud music during the day.

Room Tip: If just you and significant other get studio suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Miami Beach undoubtly has many good and expensive hotels. Among them is the King & Grove Tides a real revelation.
It isn't cheap, that's for sure but it has bright, spacious rooms of some 55 m² where other hotels call 40m² a suite.
The hotel is meticulously clean and the beds are super.
The staff is very helpful and makes your stay an unforgettable experience.
Cross Ocean Drive and you're on the beach - can't be closer!
Breakfast is till 09.00 only.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been to South Beach a number of times. This was the first time staying on Ocean Drive. I admit it is a bit noisy, though generally speaking things do calm down late at night, except for the random police siren at 3 in the morning.

The hotel:

Staff are terrific.
Room is nice.
Complaint: Nothing is complimentary. They want $2.00 for the nespresso pods in the room, which by the way, are impossible to work.
$8.00 for a bottle of water. Come on. We pay plenty for the room. No water?
No coffee in the lobby of any kind. No complimentary breakfast, which is okay, but then please have better breakfasts. No oatmeal?
Since I am a swimmer, I liked the pool, which is not crowded.
Complimentary beach chairs and umbrella, very nice. At least that is a lovely amenity.
Will I come back? Probably not. But I am not disappointed that I stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tides in May 2013. On our arrival we were not disappointed, check in service was swift and courteous. Our room was on the 6th floor and was a corner room. I would strongly recommend when booking you request a corner room. The reason being you get two windows, one facing the beach and the other on the corner. This just adds to the bright feeling of the room. I have seen some reviews stating the furnishing of the rooms is not upto standard. What utter rubbish. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and believe the Tides is furnished to a very comfortable standard and importantly with furnishings in keeping with its Art Deco era. The bathroom is large and also there is a separate dressing room. Also importantly there were no additional expenses, with a beach set up included in the price. My only problem was the bar next door that every evening has live drag queen shows. These are so popular that they erect barriers into the road to accommodate the customers. The volume of the music and acts are in my view excessive. To the extent that albeit we were on the 6th floor it caused me some irritation in my room. Furthermore we wanted to eat at the hotel restaurant on the outside terrace, but declined to do so as conversation would have been almost impossible. The Tides is great, but I strongly recommend the management do something about the shows next door which detract from the relaxed intimate atmosphere they try to create.

Room Tip: Book a corner room on as high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite hotel in south beach. The rooms are the best, service is great, and the remodel of the lobby is a step up. Only negative is the pool is in the back. The entertainment at the hotel is interesting but does take away from some of the ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.