We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Serene Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Set in a frenetic scene, the Tides is a more upscale and laid back alternative on Ocean Drive. True the restaurant and bar scene are not happening, but it seems like you would have to compromise on the chill effect if these were more bustling. The room and staff are great, there are a couple of over achievers here that will make your stay perfect, as in any organization, there are some that are treading water. The room was big, clean and has a great shower. The pool is behind the hotel on the mezzanine level and feels kind of isolated and really not happening. If you are looking for a pool scene on the beach, this may not be the place for you, if you want privacy and solitude, this may be the place for you. The bar here is really bad, the bartender while we were there is really not a people person, was at the bar by myself and was able to engage her in a pleasant conversation, came back with the wife and got a lot of one word answers, I can talk to my teenagers if I want that interchange.
If you are looking for chill in an active area, this is a great alternative. (BTW on noise level, it is loud but it usually calms down around 11 or 12 and we had no problems getting off to sleep)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    193
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
97
478
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Tides is ideally located and a little further north than the rest of Southbeach. It is located across a park and the beach. This hotel has been around a long time and they have preserved and maintained the original fittings. I understand that many famous people have stayed here in the past.
Everything in The Tides is very tastefully done: the exterior areas, the foyer, the pool at the rear and the rooms.
The staff were friendly and very helpful generally. Southbeach is pretty noisy but our room which was on the third floor helped isolate us from the noise.

Room Tip: Southbeach is noisy and if you don't like loud music, get a higher level room or stay somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Tides is set a little bit back from the tourist traps on the main strip in South Beach - it seems almost like they've built a moat to protect the designer cool inside from being brought down to the surrounding level. The lobby and restaurant design is awesome, as is the design of the room. Gotta love Kelly... For more, check out neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First, the good stuff. We stayed at the Tides back in January for the Notre Dame-Alabama football game weekend. We had been once before as a family, in 2005 or 2006 (the exact date escapes me), and it has been totally redone since then. The interiors had been completely redone, and the whole place looks fantastic. They've got a secluded pool that's really nice; the rooms are huge, and have stunning views of the beach - really ideal location. I should note that with all of the surrounding restaurants and bars, it can get pretty lively, so keep that in mind if you're not a night owl (in which case, why are you in Miami?!)

Now the bad stuff: specifically that the food wasn't great and the service was really, really bad. It was like they blew their entire operating budget on the (gorgeous) renovations, with nothing leftover for staff or food. Breakfast could take upwards of 90 minutes, even when no one else was dining indoors or out. Even with the long wait, there would be something wrong with the order. Housekeeping seemed a bit remiss too - we had to call every day we were there to get someone to come and make the bed or do a cursory cleaning of the room. There was one waitress that was good, and we literally would only stop for food or for a drink if we knew she was going to be around.

Food was also not great. By the pool I ordered a cobb salad, and when it came it came without the shrimp, eggs, dressing, or avocado. That is 4/6 of the ingredients. LOL.

So basically, unless they can take their staff through bootcamp, I'd recommend looking elsewhere. But if service gets better -- the rooms, location, and design are simply stunning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

While the hotel looks nice, the staff is nice, we were not informed that we were next to a very noisy bar with loud techno music up to 3 am when we booked for a family vacation. At 11 pm, we were told that it would stop and it did not. I wished the hotel had informed us this was not a place to stay as a family and because they did not say anything, we fe

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Tides with my daughter during her spring break and had a pleasant experience at The Tides. Although my room not quite ready when I arrived at 3, they comped me a lunch while I waited until about 4:30. Pleasant room on the 5th floor and just like everyone has said the rooms are large (we had a queen double) with a lovely view of the park and beach beyond. Everyone was very helpful and kind and the service was excellent. The beach setup could not be easier - give your name and room number and two chairs, umbrella and towels delivered by friendly attendants. The free coffee and danish is hardly worth it - better yet, walk down to the News Cafe and get a great cup of coffee and good food and people watching is fun! Ate at Le Sandwicherie (14th and Washington) for an early dinner - go, eat, sit at a stool and chat with the people hanging out! Joe's Stone Crab is great but if you go be prepared for a wait (no reservations). It is part of the fun and worth the wait. Save room for the key lime pie! It is noisy as everyone has said, but quiet after 11 or so and so no problem getting to sleep. Comfy beds, great shower, soft towels and clean rooms! They do like to come by early, so if you are sleeping in, just stick the privacy notice on the door and you will be golden! If you want to be right in the middle of the happening part of Miami Beach, it is a great choice!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view and the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay at Tides.

Our apologies for the lack of room availability upon your arrival, but happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious accommodations and the view of the beach and ocean. As well, happy to read you enjoyed the beach accessibility and that the staff was friendly and attentive.

Sorry to read about your displeasure with the morning complimentary coffee and pastries.

Hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and were kind of wowed by the place. The energy was great, the staff was superb. We loved our room.

This time, it was hard to put a finger on just what had changed, but there was a terrible lack of energy to the place when we walked in. The positives: the bellman and front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean and beautiful. The bed was comfortable, with good quality pillows. Great shower pressure.

In the public areas, they had renovated the dining room and put in a big bar, which would have been wonderful if it had been welcoming. It wasn't. There needed to be the right kind of music playing. Also, both nights we were there, the bar was staffed by a sullen bartender who acted like she was doing a favor getting you a drink, and who seemed more interested in talking to her friends hanging out on the stools.

The old bar, which is gorgeous and tucked away and special, seems an afterthought now. It sits empty.

The other thing that doesn't help is they've added outside tables and umbrellas to the sidewalk, and now it's hard to differentiate The Tides from all the other places hawking their menus on Ocean Ave.

Breakfast service was very slow, but friendly, and the breakfast was good. We did not eat any other meals there. (LOVED Khong River House, near Lincoln Rd).

The Tides is still nice, but we won't be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Very nice to read that you enjoyed the attentive and friendly service from the front office and bell staff and the accommodations were pleasant.

Our sincere apologies for the lack of attentiveness and graciousness exuded by the bartender, and the lack of timeliness with the breakfast service. I am truly sorry.

I am saddened to read you won't be coming back in the future, but if you do change your mind, we would love to see you.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.