We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Boutique Hotel on Miami Beach. PERIOD.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Daily Breakfast Credit
Ranked #39 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best Boutique Hotel on Miami Beach. PERIOD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I just got back to Dallas but my heart and mind are still @ King & Grove.. The hotel service is impeccable as well as the finish, quality and design! Breakfast, coffee and Wi-fi are all free which is nice to see and should be standard in this price range. The VALET is one of the best in the country and his name is Alan! If you want a 5 STAR yet personal not big box experience right in the middle of the action, this is your getaway! It was pretty quiet on the 3rd floor overlooking the ocean! So dont think twice about booking at Delano, FB, Satai etc etc.. You found the right one @ King & Grove Tides!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us. Very nice to hear about the engaging service, especially, for mentioning Alain on his attentiveness and friendliness.

Looking forward to your next visit to the Tides.

Regards,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    181
    61
    26
    26
See reviews for
89
460
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We've stayed here several times, but it has been a few years since our last visit. We love the location--it's just at the north edge of the noisy part of South Beach. As others have pointed out, sometimes the noise spills over, but it's also fun to walk just south of the hotel past the Versace mansion and absorb the South Beach vibe, something some of the hotels further north miss out on.

We were in the second day of a planned 4 day stay when we found out we would have to leave early due to an emergency at home. The Tides was very nice about changing our plans at the last minute. Throughout our short stay we enjoyed great service, and it's nice that they don't surcharge you for everything--the bottle water, wifi, and beach chairs and umbrellas are all included.

We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So sorry that you had to leave us early, hope all has worked out at home.

It is very nice to have you return to Tides after being away for a couple of years, and wonderful to hear about the engaging service you received.

Hope to see you back at home with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My first reaction on walking into this hotel was 'thank god'. The hotel is exquisitely designed in a way that is posh and comfortable at the same time-- no stiff ambience or garish faux-designy stuff in the way that many hotels err. The first floor especially is just a treat to be in: lovely bar, tables, couches, even the bathrooms feel good. The bedroom is the same way: wonderfully comfortable and stylish at the same time. Excellent job with the design. I spent a lot of time in the restaurant and wasn't as impressed with the service there as I was with the decor: service was slow and sometimes nonexistent, and definitely not professional at the level the hotel suggests it might be. I was disappointed with the wine menu which served mainly California wines by the glass-- I imagine the heavily European clientele might get frustrated with that as I did. But service issues aside I would say that this is one of the better beachside hotels I've been to and I am a big fan of what they've done with the spaces and general vibe of the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your authentic and gracious feedback.

It was nice to read of your arrival impression and experience, but saddened to read on your restaurant experience. My apologies for lack of attentive and friendly restaurant service, and your disappointment with the wine menu.

We are in the midst of redoing our wine list and I agree with you, we will take be adding more European wines to the wine list do to our growing European clientele.

Thanks for the feedaack.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Far
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Hotel is exactly as it's pictured on it's website; the rooms are beatifully furnished and the common areas of the hotel are also tasteful and welcoming. We enjoyed many meals in the hotel restaurant, La Marea, all of which were wonderful. The staff were extremely accomodating, including going out of their way to permit early check in (at 11am) and complimentary late check out (2 pm), which was very helpful.

As many other reviews have noted, the neighboring bars are quite loud - day and night. I don't think you can really fault the hotel for that; if you choose to stay on Ocean Drive in South Beach you should know what you're getting into. It's a hard partying scene these days. The hotel staff said they literally call in a noise complaint every single night and that the police come in about a half hour later, and it usually tones down around 11:30 or midnight. Hard to pin-point any "quiet time" from the screaming DJ at the "Palace" next door. That being said, higher floors are preferable.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback.

Very nice to read of your wonderful experience and enjoyment with the decor of the rooms and common areas, the attentive and friendly restaurant service and the engaging staff.

Our sincere apologies for the excessive noise being generated by our neighbors.

Hope to see you back here soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here over President's Day weekend. Yes, it is expensive, but sometimes you pay a lot for a hotel and the room feels very ordinary-- at Tides, you actually get what you pay for! This property is the epitome of the boutique experience-- our room (the most basic category) had a gorgeous view and was huge (maybe 600 square feet?). The bed was very comfortable and the overall design has a ton of character which fits right into the destination itself. The building itself is a very historic Art Deco property and although right on Ocean Drive, it was remarkable how quiet it was for sleeping. Service was very smiley and unpretentious. Some great touches include the welcome drink (a sugary tropical alcoholic conconction- yum) and the morning cafe au laits and breads. The lobby/bar area was peaceful- we had dinner later at the W (see my review of Dutch-delicious!) and the W was a zoo so if you crave a major party scene this is not where you will get it. I am glad we stayed on Ocean Ave instead some of the bigger box hotels on Collins. It was a delightful experience and I'd happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
HI there, so nice to read your gracious feedback on your recent stay over President's Day weekend.

It is wonderful to hear of your wonderful experience and the comfort you had.

Looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights only but would have happily stayed longer, hotel is beautifully furnished and most notably the location is absolutely perfect. The toilet isn't private as the bathroom and bedroom are separated by only a glass wall, didn't bother us but can see why many people have mentioned this as a negative.
We would happily stay here again as decor,service and location all fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So nice to hear of your wonderful experience. Glad to hear of your enjoyment with the decor, service and location.

Thank you for your gracious feedback, hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.