We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here over President's Day weekend. Yes, it is expensive, but sometimes you pay a lot for a hotel and the room feels very ordinary-- at Tides, you actually get what you pay for! This property is the epitome of the boutique experience-- our room (the most basic category) had a gorgeous view and was huge (maybe 600 square feet?). The bed was very comfortable and the overall design has a ton of character which fits right into the destination itself. The building itself is a very historic Art Deco property and although right on Ocean Drive, it was remarkable how quiet it was for sleeping. Service was very smiley and unpretentious. Some great touches include the welcome drink (a sugary tropical alcoholic conconction- yum) and the morning cafe au laits and breads. The lobby/bar area was peaceful- we had dinner later at the W (see my review of Dutch-delicious!) and the W was a zoo so if you crave a major party scene this is not where you will get it. I am glad we stayed on Ocean Ave instead some of the bigger box hotels on Collins. It was a delightful experience and I'd happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
HI there, so nice to read your gracious feedback on your recent stay over President's Day weekend.

It is wonderful to hear of your wonderful experience and the comfort you had.

Looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    193
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
97
478
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights only but would have happily stayed longer, hotel is beautifully furnished and most notably the location is absolutely perfect. The toilet isn't private as the bathroom and bedroom are separated by only a glass wall, didn't bother us but can see why many people have mentioned this as a negative.
We would happily stay here again as decor,service and location all fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So nice to hear of your wonderful experience. Glad to hear of your enjoyment with the decor, service and location.

Thank you for your gracious feedback, hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here with my husband for a quick romantic getaway. Prices for Pres wknd are outrageous in SoBe and we knew this, but got a fairly decent rate through our Amex plat. We used the $100 food credit for dinner at La Marea. V good with great views Of Ocean Dr. We really enjoyed the drag show at the neighboring gay bar. A fun diversion and good mojito. The breakfast at hotel was also good and we liked sitting on the sunny patio. Great people watching.

The rooms- eh. They are certainly huge and apparently decorated by Kelly Wearstler, but they lacked intimacy. Almost too huge and not enough furniture to fill them up. Strange shower configuration. No pool scene here. Just a quiet second floor pool with a few chairs and no view. Staff were helpful and friendly (something you don't see everywhere in SoBe)

Overall, it was nice but not nice enough to bring me back for over $600 per night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your authentic feedback.

I am glad to hear about your engaging experience at dinner and breakfast, including the people watching, that is always fun. As well as, the helpful and friendly staff.

Your feedback on the vastness of the rooms and not enough furniture to fill them up, is worth noting and in the upcoming months we will be refreshing some of the items in the rooms.

Once again, thanks for your comments.

Hope to see you back here in the near future.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We decided on the Tides Hotel after a lot of research - we were coming to SoBe to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. The location & the fact that all rooms had a sea view sold it to us & the positive reviews sealed the deal. On arrival we drove up - no one attempted to greet us - we had to go inside to let them know we had arrived despite there being staff out front. On entering the reception area we were greeted by the sound of heavy drilling & construction, they were refurbishing the restaurant & bar - I found this most annoying, at no point during the booking process (we booked directly with them) were we advised that this would be happening during our stay, in fact I had e-mailed the hotel prior to our arrival & asked for restaurant suggestions for my husband's birthday & the top recommendation was their in house restaurant!! There was little in the way of an apology about the situation we were just told that they had put us on a higher floor so would not be disturbed by the construction noise. On entering the room we were initially happy - nice decor, spacious & fantastic views but then you get down to practicalities. I went to dry my hair (major operation) - but there is no dresser with a mirror above, no usable plug next to the desk, no stool or chair in the bathroom & a hair dryer with the shortest cord ever. I ended up having to sit on the floor next to the full length mirror, to top it off I went to turn on the floor lamp for extra light & found it to be in a dangerous state with the fitting hanging loose. I reported this to a receptionist on the way out but it remained this way until the following afternoon when my husband looked at it and managed to sort it out. Next annoyance were the bedside lights, whilst they are attractive & in keeping with the room decor they are utterly infuriating as they are so tall that you can't turn them off unless you get out of bed - even my husband who is 6'3" couldn't reach them from bed. On the second night, two out of three of our bathroom lights were not working, this was fixed by the next day however. Have to say though that the beds & bedding were amazingly comfy.
The coffee & pastries provided at breakfast were a nice touch - however the in room coffee machine advertised sounds great but they don't mention that you have to pay $2 per nespresso pod!! We had breakfast on the terrace one morning which was great for people watching - but we had to put up with hearing every passer by being being asked if they wanted to come in for breakfast, not very becoming for a hotel thats trying to be a bit classier than others in the area.
I agree with previous reviewer about the lack of pool service - again such an easily fixed problem, they seem to have plenty of staff out front - a regular patrol of the pool area just seems common sense.We would have definitely ordered a cocktail if someone had bothered to ask. Overall I found the service we received was indifferent.
We really enjoyed our stay in SoBe - we had a chance to have a good look at other hotels in the area & believe that the Tides was still the best choice for us but it didn't really live up to our high expectations & feel that they could do so much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice to know you can find an historic art deco hotel right on South Beach with large, pleasant rooms. Pool area nice. The staff was friendly and helpful- from check in staff, to bell staff, to waiter/waitresses. Great food too. The complimentary "Miami royale" upon check in really set the mood. Outside music, etc settled down plenty early to sleep (well, it was NOT the weekend). I'd stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
thank you for sharing your recent experience at Tides.

very nice to hear you enjoyed the room accommodations, the pool area, had tasty food and the staff was attentive, friendly and helpful.

looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week. It was a $32 cab ride (fixed fee) from MIA and it was especially nice to be greeted with a "hello, mr ...."as I exited the cab. The check-in was easy and I was escorted to the room. The room was great, 5th floor, 502 I think, seperate walk in wardrobe, nice bathroom ( although the toilet wasn't very private ), great size, very comfy bed and fab view over the beach. The pool is small and there is no pool "scene", but this isn't that type of hotel, but I liked the pool area. Ocean Drive is a great location, close to the action, Lincoln Road is about a 15minute walk. The free pastries and coffee are a nice touch, I was up early one day and had them nice and warm, don't think they last very long though. The Palace Bar next door is a lively gay bar but the music stops at about 11pm, so it really doesn't interfere with sleep. I thought the staff were very professional and helpful. We ate at lots of places, Yardbird and Fogo were the best of them, I would say comparable to London prices. All in, a really great stay, would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the gracious feedback on your recent stay at Tides.

Very nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the service, its location and its amenities.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Regards,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.