We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best Boutique Hotel in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Save Saved
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Daily Breakfast Credit
Ranked #34 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The very best Boutique Hotel in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just spent 8 nights at The Tides hotel and it has been an amazing experience. The staff led by Raj and supported by Jessica as well as every other member of staff were incredibly professional and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The bedroom was large and had a great view of the ocean. The facilities on the beach and the swimming pool were really good with comfortable sun loungers and plently of towels. I would come back to The Tides everytime I came to South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So nice to read about your recent stay with us for 8 days.

I will be sure to share your comments with Raj, Jessica and the team. Great to see that you enjoyed the facilities, the room, the service and the location.

Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    177
    59
    25
    25
See reviews for
86
456
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Attended a wedding function in a party of twenty eight in October.

The service throughout was fantastic and the food served for the wedding was exceptional, it felt like you had a waiter all to yourself despite the size of our group.

Concluded the wedding on the private rooftop terrace with our own bar and chilled out tunes.

Highly recommended if you fancy getting married somewhere different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So nice to read your review on your recent visit with us.

Thanks for your gracious comments on the food served and service you experienced.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is great. My wife and I stayed here for the first two nights on our honeymoon while in-between connecting flights. We had an ocean front room on the 3rd floor. The unit was very spacious with two separate rooms with a huge closet and bathroom. On our first night, we arrived fairly late (9:30pm) to the hotel. The front desk agent was very helpful checking us in and making dinner reservations for us at a restaurant not too far from the hotel. Upon returning to the hotel, we had a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberry's awaiting us in our room!

The hotel is in a wonderful location. Plenty of places to walk to as well as easy access to the beach boardwalk. We dined at their restaurant the second night (which was also NYE). The food was wonderful and the restaurant was very accommodating to the windy conditions that were occurring outside (they initially sat us outside but the wind was blowing so hard, we asked to move in. They moved 6 or 7 tables into the restaurant area and accommodated other dining guest that were affected by the windy conditions - very helpful!). The fireworks that occurred from the beach also added excitement while we dined!

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Miami Beach. The hotel is decorated very nicely and is small enough that you don't feel trapped by people everywhere. We will return soon, for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So nice to read your comments on your recent visit, your Honeymoon, stay with us.

Glad that we can be a part of your special occasion.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On recent stays in Miami, I have stayed at the Lowes, The Ritz-Carlton, and The Four Seasons (although the latter is downtown). Last weekend I stayed at the King & Grove Tides in celebration of my birthday. Each time I left the previous properties, I felt like I was paying way too much even though they were nice. (Upwards of $600-$700/nt) For nearly half the price, I felt like the King & Grove Tides was a great deal. The rooms were very large, clean, and luxurious. We had a wonderful view of the ocean which is only a few steps away.

The facilities of the hotel were very nice. They offer a free continental-breakfast from 7-9 and complimentary wifi in the rooms (surprisingly). Yes, the pool area was not large, but there were plenty of chairs open (and on a Saturday too!). Not to mention, the water in the pool was actually perfectly pleasant and not freezing.

I was also expecting, for the lower price, that this hotel would be a lot further out from Lincoln Road Mall. While it is a little farther, not nearly as much so as I was expecting -- a 10-15 minute walk in beautiful Miami weather? Certainly not an issue!

I also wanted to point out that there are no movies available on the television, although there is a DVD player in the room. There aren't any places within reasonable walking distance to get a movie (unless you're looking for a different kind of movie), so bring them from home if you like to watch a movie to relax in the evening!

Even though the hotel is right in the midst of the Ocean Drive craziness, I did not find it to be too loud at night, although I do sleep with a sound machine. Even without, I was surprised by how isolated the noise was from inside!

I will certainly come back on my next trip to Miami! My only complaint was that we accidentally got an 8 AM wake-up call (that we did not set) on the morning of my birthday. Bummer, but at least we had more time to walk around the beach before heading back to freezing Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
So nice to read your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed in a 1-King bedroom in the 5th floor in winter. The room is big, and is very good for a couple. The staffs were friendly. The breakfast was very impressed! The insulation is good... after close the door, you won't hear anything from the other rooms. However, noisy sound and music come into the room from the ocean-front window... until midnight, which is not good for those who need sleep early. Also the window is not easy to lock... takes efforts. Overall it was a very comfortable room and hotel. It makes me feel a real vacation. I would suggest to stay here for nights!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us.

Very nice to read that you enjoyed the hotel, its accommodations, the staff was attentive and friendly and the food was tasty.

Very sorry about the excessive noise generated from the outside and the lack of ease in locking the windows, sorry.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since the 90's. Never been disappointed! The room Ocean Drive area hotel. The views from all the rooms are fabulous! Gorgeous lobby and great people watching from the front terrace of the hotel.

Looking forward to my stay next month!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
So nice to hear about your wonderful stays with us. Thank you for your feedback.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just got back - stayed 2-7th Jan. Had a fantastic time. Service and staff were excellent from the minute we arrived. They immediately spotted us once our taxi pulled up and rushed over to open our car door, welcome us and take care of our luggage. The concierge was fantastically knowledgeable of what the cool bars and restaurants were (we had a book and lots of reccoms from friends but the "in" spot can change quickly - a place I had been recommended by a couple of friends is now "not cool at all anymore"). They were also really helpful in booking restaurants during our stay. I asked for some help getting a nice table for my husband in a restaurant and not only did the concierge sort this out but when we came back to the room later in the day there was a bottle of wine and birthday wishes from the staff in our room - thats 5 star service!
We stayed in a suite which was lovely with a fab view of the beach. Location wise I dont think you can find better. Beach area was lovely and I particularly liked the fact that the hotel has beds for every single member of the hotel - so you never have to worry about a early morning dash to get your towel on a bed. Also, I noticed that some other hotels also provided complimentary sunbeds for guests but sun umbrellas werent included and cost $15 a day - at Tides umbrellas are included, a small but nice touch.
We wanted to rest on our holiday after a hectic week in New York so requested a quiet room. As such they put us on a higher floor. In the evening its very noisy from the gay bar next door but that didnt bother us. In the morning we got woken up twice by sawing at 8am approx- never managed to see where noise was but think maybe they were trimming the grass or similar. The second day it happened we called reception to complain and it stopped soon after and didnt happen the following day.
All in all we hugely enjoyed our stay here and would reccommend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us in January.

Very happy to read of the attentive service you received, that you enjoyed the location and the surrounding restaurants, sounds like a great vacation.

Hope to see you back here soon.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
King And Grove Tides
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.