We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides South Beach to your Saves list
The Tides South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is great. My wife and I stayed here for the first two nights on our honeymoon while in-between connecting flights. We had an ocean front room on the 3rd floor. The unit was very spacious with two separate rooms with a huge closet and bathroom. On our first night, we arrived fairly late (9:30pm) to the hotel. The front desk agent was very helpful checking us in and making dinner reservations for us at a restaurant not too far from the hotel. Upon returning to the hotel, we had a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberry's awaiting us in our room!

The hotel is in a wonderful location. Plenty of places to walk to as well as easy access to the beach boardwalk. We dined at their restaurant the second night (which was also NYE). The food was wonderful and the restaurant was very accommodating to the windy conditions that were occurring outside (they initially sat us outside but the wind was blowing so hard, we asked to move in. They moved 6 or 7 tables into the restaurant area and accommodated other dining guest that were affected by the windy conditions - very helpful!). The fireworks that occurred from the beach also added excitement while we dined!

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Miami Beach. The hotel is decorated very nicely and is small enough that you don't feel trapped by people everywhere. We will return soon, for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So nice to read your comments on your recent visit, your Honeymoon, stay with us.

Glad that we can be a part of your special occasion.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    191
    65
    30
    26
See reviews for
97
477
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On recent stays in Miami, I have stayed at the Lowes, The Ritz-Carlton, and The Four Seasons (although the latter is downtown). Last weekend I stayed at the King & Grove Tides in celebration of my birthday. Each time I left the previous properties, I felt like I was paying way too much even though they were nice. (Upwards of $600-$700/nt) For nearly half the price, I felt like the King & Grove Tides was a great deal. The rooms were very large, clean, and luxurious. We had a wonderful view of the ocean which is only a few steps away.

The facilities of the hotel were very nice. They offer a free continental-breakfast from 7-9 and complimentary wifi in the rooms (surprisingly). Yes, the pool area was not large, but there were plenty of chairs open (and on a Saturday too!). Not to mention, the water in the pool was actually perfectly pleasant and not freezing.

I was also expecting, for the lower price, that this hotel would be a lot further out from Lincoln Road Mall. While it is a little farther, not nearly as much so as I was expecting -- a 10-15 minute walk in beautiful Miami weather? Certainly not an issue!

I also wanted to point out that there are no movies available on the television, although there is a DVD player in the room. There aren't any places within reasonable walking distance to get a movie (unless you're looking for a different kind of movie), so bring them from home if you like to watch a movie to relax in the evening!

Even though the hotel is right in the midst of the Ocean Drive craziness, I did not find it to be too loud at night, although I do sleep with a sound machine. Even without, I was surprised by how isolated the noise was from inside!

I will certainly come back on my next trip to Miami! My only complaint was that we accidentally got an 8 AM wake-up call (that we did not set) on the morning of my birthday. Bummer, but at least we had more time to walk around the beach before heading back to freezing Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
So nice to read your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed in a 1-King bedroom in the 5th floor in winter. The room is big, and is very good for a couple. The staffs were friendly. The breakfast was very impressed! The insulation is good... after close the door, you won't hear anything from the other rooms. However, noisy sound and music come into the room from the ocean-front window... until midnight, which is not good for those who need sleep early. Also the window is not easy to lock... takes efforts. Overall it was a very comfortable room and hotel. It makes me feel a real vacation. I would suggest to stay here for nights!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us.

Very nice to read that you enjoyed the hotel, its accommodations, the staff was attentive and friendly and the food was tasty.

Very sorry about the excessive noise generated from the outside and the lack of ease in locking the windows, sorry.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since the 90's. Never been disappointed! The room Ocean Drive area hotel. The views from all the rooms are fabulous! Gorgeous lobby and great people watching from the front terrace of the hotel.

Looking forward to my stay next month!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
So nice to hear about your wonderful stays with us. Thank you for your feedback.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just got back - stayed 2-7th Jan. Had a fantastic time. Service and staff were excellent from the minute we arrived. They immediately spotted us once our taxi pulled up and rushed over to open our car door, welcome us and take care of our luggage. The concierge was fantastically knowledgeable of what the cool bars and restaurants were (we had a book and lots of reccoms from friends but the "in" spot can change quickly - a place I had been recommended by a couple of friends is now "not cool at all anymore"). They were also really helpful in booking restaurants during our stay. I asked for some help getting a nice table for my husband in a restaurant and not only did the concierge sort this out but when we came back to the room later in the day there was a bottle of wine and birthday wishes from the staff in our room - thats 5 star service!
We stayed in a suite which was lovely with a fab view of the beach. Location wise I dont think you can find better. Beach area was lovely and I particularly liked the fact that the hotel has beds for every single member of the hotel - so you never have to worry about a early morning dash to get your towel on a bed. Also, I noticed that some other hotels also provided complimentary sunbeds for guests but sun umbrellas werent included and cost $15 a day - at Tides umbrellas are included, a small but nice touch.
We wanted to rest on our holiday after a hectic week in New York so requested a quiet room. As such they put us on a higher floor. In the evening its very noisy from the gay bar next door but that didnt bother us. In the morning we got woken up twice by sawing at 8am approx- never managed to see where noise was but think maybe they were trimming the grass or similar. The second day it happened we called reception to complain and it stopped soon after and didnt happen the following day.
All in all we hugely enjoyed our stay here and would reccommend to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us in January.

Very happy to read of the attentive service you received, that you enjoyed the location and the surrounding restaurants, sounds like a great vacation.

Hope to see you back here soon.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had never stayed in Sobe and were coming off a cruise ship. We researched and found this hotel and read reviews and by far the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. We got to the hotel early from the ship and they had a room we could check into. Having the chairs and umbrellas right across on the beach was a bonus. Staff could not have been nicer and the room with an outstanding view to the ocean was fabulous, spacious and very inviting. The amenities in the room were great, designer toiletries in the large bathroom and fantastic bar choices and a separate dressing area were icing on the cake. But our favorite part was the restaurant on the front terrace that was a little slice of heaven. Great people watching place plus the food was really good. It felt a little like being in your own backyard and in your own room and yet it was a hotel. Can not recommend this hotel highly enough. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So nice to read about your recent stay with us.

Glad to hear about the room availability early in the monring, that you enjoyed the beach chairs, our staff was engaging and that you enjoyed our terrace and fantastic people watching, sounds perfect.

Hope to see you back with us soon, thanks again for your gracious feedback.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the King & Groves in mid december and it proved to be an outstanding choice for hotels. The location cannot be beat, as all rooms overlook the park and beach beyond. Street noise is minimal if you are up a few floors. Rooms are bright and large, nicely furnished with an aesthetic appeal. The building itself is a classic Art Deco design (it is commonly mentioned in the guidebooks). Staff were quite helpful as well, recommending restaurants and providing travel tips. The pool is mid-size and pleasant enough for an hour or two of lounging around, while the hotel's beach area provides towels and recliners. If you want a truly memorable stay in South Beach, you can't go wrong with the King & Grove.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room on the south side, and higher up, the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on your recent visit to King & Grove Tides.

Very nice to read that you enjoyed the location, the acccommodations, and the staff was attentive.

Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.