We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit less than ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kent Hotel to your Saves list
Kent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit less than ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing special, but more affordable for the NYE period with respect.
Strange smell across the entire building, which was always terribly cold because of AC and fans.
Very poor rooms.
Small bathroom and low quality furniture.
Some people smoke in their rooms and you can smell it on the stairs and corridors.

We stayed for 2 nights and that was the most you can do there. After that, the experience can become annoying.
No breakfast.
No reserved parking.

Many gaps at this hotel, but given the price... I would like to say 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Manu, I'm disappointed we could not make a better impression on you while you stayed at the property - the Kent does serve basic hotel needs and is limited in the amenities it offers, our restaurant is not currently open so we do not have food and beverage services to offer at this time but that is only temporary, it should be open again within the next few months - unfortunately most of the hotels in South Beach do not have the real estate to provide their own free parking, but that is why we contract a Valet Parking service at a cost of $20.00 per day, which is an extremely competitive price in South Beach and one of the lowest costs you will find
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    195
    192
    83
    81
See reviews for
82
214
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The best thing about the Kent is the value. First, the location is great. Second, we had a nice-sized room with hardwood floors, a big flat-screen TV, a mini fridge, and an attentive cleaning staff. Third, the price is completely fair for the services it provides. I did not feel like I was being taken advantage of and my expectations and experience were consistent with the price. Fourth, the desk staff was fairly helpful whenever we had questions -- I asked for a non-smoking room and, although they do not have a separate bank of rooms designated as non-smoking, they gave us a room that had no smell of smoke whatsoever. No restaurant or gym, but for the price, the hotel was a good experience for a very fair price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you Eric for the positive review and an honest assessment of our property, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the property, please keep us in mind should you come back down to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you choose to stay at The Kent, go into it knowing that the front desk will be doing you a favor by taking time out of their Facebook surfing to check you in! Otherwise it's an average hotel with a convenient location in South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mina, I'm sorry to read that your encounter with the Front Desk was strained to say the least, please contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com or phone me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 I would like to get the details of your reservation so that I know which employee you dealt with during your check-in process
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice this year on two separate occasions. I had a great stay both times. Francois was the greatest desk attendant. He advised us of the best clubs and restaurants (thank you!) The room was very clean and well kept. The best thing is the hotel's location which is just a five minute walk from the beach, restaurants, clubs, the dash store, the gelatto shop where the Jersey shore cast worked, and some souvenir shops. I had a great time and I will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overall this is a fine, budget boutique oriented place to stay in a great SoBe location one block from beach and surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops all in walking distance. I had a room on the third floor front with good light and a decent view, it was pretty quiet despite looking over Collins Ave. There's a nice big flatscreen TV and a minifridge, however, no drawers are provided for clothes so you have to place them on the closet shelf, there's certainly enough room to have even a small dresser so the hotel should provide one. Also much needed is a comfortable chair to sit in, not the 2 aluminum desk chairs provided that are painful after a couple of minutes sitting in them. Again the room is big enough for a lounge or club style chair so the hotel should provide one (the deluxe king rooms/suites have them). The bathroom is decent and has a rain shower with slate-like tiles providing some style, with plenty of new towels. The queen size bed is comfy enough, but the base is very squeaky and should be replaced. All in all not bad for a budget boutique with few frills considering the price paid, so I'd stay again, It'd be very easy for the management to upgrade this hotel a bit as mentioned - with new chairs and dressers in rooms, so they should just do it. For anyone who appreciates architecture the building itself is an art deco gem with some great details from that era, just like much of SoBe.

Room Tip: Upper floor corners are the best and biggest facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for the positive review, some of your suggestions are actually already planned for 2013 and the others will definitely be taken into consideration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Really nice to stay in Miami, firstly we got upgraded to a king size room which was a nice touch, really nice room. The bathroom needs some refurbishment work but think the hotel is in the middle of it.
Want to say a big thank you to the front desk staff who held are camera we left behind for us and made sure UPS picked it up and delivered it to us.
Not cheap, but no place in south beach is, recomended!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you Rick for the great review, happy to hear your belongings were safely stored and you were able to get them back quickly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Kent for the last two days an have to spend my last night there, can't wait this to be over. The elevator safety certificate expired two months ago. Every time you take a ride on that elevator the door slams very violently and in a dangerous way. Both the halls and the room smell badly. We were welcomes by a receptionist playing guitar with his feet on the table; I'm not kidding!! The bathroom door in my room does not open because it bumps on the toilet. It's been two days I cannot sleep because the rooms are very noisy, both because of noise within the room (very noisy AC and refrigerator that I had to unplug to let me sleep) and because of the noise outside the room: I can hear the elevator door slamming all night long, my neighboring hotel guests screaming or having intimate times, and such. Bathroom is questionably cleaned. I asked to change my room because of the issues above and staff confirmed availability in the morning only to refuse it on the very next evening. Most times staff is rude at you and unhelpful. In summary, it is being an horrible experience and i hope I will be done with it very soon. Do not go to the Kent!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at Kent Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Alessandro, I'm very sorry to read your review and imagine the poor experience you must have had - please contact me at your earliest convenience to sales@thekenthotel.com or via phone to 305-604-5068 (Ext. 3001) - I would like to speak to you personally to find out the details about your stay, and to see if there is anything we could do to make it up to you and earn your trust once again. I can tell you though that the elevator certificate being expired is correct, but it does not mean that the elevator is not up to code, the City inspects it twice a year and for some reason they take quite a long time sending out the certificates, I can assure you with a 100% certainty it was inspected and approved even with the new certificate not on the property yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Hotel

Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.