We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, you get what you pay for...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kent Hotel to your Saves list
The Kent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, you get what you pay for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were here for hitting up Ocean Drive, which it is the perfect hotel for since it is right around the block. The room was spartan, but clean and completely outfitted, with a tv, fridge, safe and even had amenities in the bathroom. It can get pretty noisy, depending on the drunkness of your neighbors...

The reception area looks better than the rest of the hotel, but all in all, I reckon it's a great place to stay if you're partying in Miami Beach. It's cheap and conveniently located...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Th0master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Thomas thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am currently in the middle of a 2 week tour up the east coast of the USA. This was my first stop. First let me say that the location is excellent, and the room not bad,clean but noisy, with a more than adequate bathroom. Here is where it stops. The reception area was dingy and unwelcoming with miserable reception staff. There was even a full blooded argument between some hotel staff in front of me. There are no onsite facilities to speak of, no restaurant or cafe, or even from what I coud see no vending machines. There was also a problem with my booking when I arrived,as I was told that my reservation had been cancelled the day before my arrival, which was news to me. I had to make an expensive call to my travel agent in the UK to establish that there was no problem from their end. It was all sorted out eventually, but if it hadn't been I was told I would have to pay for the accommodation again. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear about your experience, if you could reach out to me so that I can speak to you about your stay in detail it would be greatly appreciated (sales@thekenthotel.com or 305-604-5068 Ext. 3010) - our employees should never argue in front of guests, much less in the lobby - the hotel is currently trying to find a new operator for our restaurant space, the previous operator had to close down due to the lack of business, with that said we do have a vending machine on site and I'm surprised to hear you were not aware of it. I cannot comment much on the details of your reservation since I'm not privy to that infomration at this time but I can assure you that if the room was canceled the night before it was at the request of your travel agency or a 3rd party working in between which we find happens much too often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First let me say location was pretty much the only one thing that was great about the Kent Hotel. Not only was I not impressed with the overall experience but there were no "Hotel accommodations" there was no in house restaurant nor a "continental breakfast" offered. We paid $122.00 for a room that looked like it should have been in a murder mystery movie. If you think you may get a good night's sleep think again. The other guests you can hear as if they are in your room. My advice to the owners of this establishment, fix it up. Do right by your guests who pay good money to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikelisowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mike, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your statement about the lack of a restaurant is correct, hence the lack of a "continental breakfast" being available since there is no functioning restaurant on site. Unfortunately the restaurant owners had to close due to the lack of sales, we continue to work tirelessly to find a good fit for our restaurant space so that meals can once again be offered at the property. I would appreciate if you contacted me personally either by phone or email (sales@thekenthotel.com) to find out why, aside from the restaurant, you do not feel the hotel is up to par, the review lacked details and the opinions of our guests are ultimately what we need to know to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After 2 weeks of camping we were extremely happy to be welcomed by the Kent! A great hotel with good service. Very clean rooms and well equipped bathroom - towels, shower gel etc. Only little niggle was that it took just over a half hour to check in - this was apparently due to a new system that had been installed but it was getting ridiculous after a while!

The hotel its self is modern and there is free wifi which was very handy. Location was also great, walking distance to south beach, Lincoln Rd etc. Had great stay here however and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhanxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for the great review! We are so sorry that it took too long to check-in, we did experience a few hiccups with the conversion to our new property management system but I would like you to know those have been resolved for weeks and a standard check-in nowadyas would take less than 5 minutes! Once again thank you for your confidence in our property and for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Kent. The location is perfect (block from beach and surrounded by entertainment/dining).The 12:00 checkout was especially nice- most hotels in South Beach have an 11:00 checkout. That extra hour helps when you're out late the night before! If you are looking for clean and convenient accommodations, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CortneyY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you Cortney for the great review! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to anyone,go for it,its the best,sarvice and quality is %100 perfect,i would like to thank Mr.Eddie for his leader ship of making this hotel comfortable for every one and i would like to thank cynthia for being helpfull and specially i would like to thank francois for being friendy and very helpfull and we become friends,thank you for the best vecation i ever had,definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, it is always a pleasure reading that staff was one of the most memorable aspects of our establishment, we hope that you consider us in the future for all your hotel needs should you be back in Miami Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I arrived at the hotel early and proceeded to check-in and while awaiting my turn patiently the front desk attendant purposefully looked over me and started to wait on a gentleman who was after me and helped him gather appropriate paperwork for a tour (now what is more important helping the next customer in line who has not checked in yet or someone who is already checked in get tour information-nor did she apologize for placing someone before me). The front desk attendant told me that you are early and check in was later but "I'll see what I can do" as if she is doing me a major favor. I asked about a room with a view and she replied there is no room with a view its all the same- she done nothing to seize the opportunity to market the hotel or make me feel welcomed. In fact, the entire staff was anti-social the entire weekend. I sought out for the ice machine and the machine was broke (were in hot Miami and the ice machine is broke). When I called to ask about late check-outs the same front desk attendant stated no we have to many late checkouts already (i guess i wasn't important enough to receive that benefit). I proceeded to check-out the hotel and asked if I could store my bags until the shuttle bus arrived and the front attendant replied "how long do you need your bags to stay" as if it was a problem. Most hotels will ensure the safety of your bags until your transportation arrives as a courtesy for staying. This front desk attendant made my customer experience horrible and because of that I would not EVER stay at the Kent hotel again nor recommend it to anyone. Customer experience is everything.

Sincerely, Not Impressed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geminifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, I would like to apologize for the serivce you encountered, our staff is typically one of most complimented aspects of our property and I'm taken aback reading your review. Please reach out to me personaly at sales@thekenthotel.com should you wish to speak about your experience in detail, we will look into your concerns to make sure that this not occur again, please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#155 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Suites
Ocean Reef Suites
#145 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#92 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#70 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing